Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Mosfet, motor and battery question

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Old July 2nd, 2014, 22:32   #1
SawBone

Mosfet, motor and battery question

Hi, it's my first time upgrading an AEG's electrical system and I have a question for you AEG gurus.

So I got a Gate NanoAB mosfet hooked to a lipo 7.4v 1600mah 20c, and a SHS high torque motor. I changed all the wiring and got deans connectors. This particular setup seems to be working fine after some testing. However, if I try using the stock battery, a 8.4v 1100mah, it fails to spin the motor (even when it's out of the gearbox). If I remove the mosfet, the 8.4v spins the motor just fine. Also, the stock JG motor will work normally with the mosfet and the 8.4 battery.

So either the mosfet or the high torque motor on their own pose no problem, but both together will cause the stock battery to stop working.

Is this behaviour normal? Does the mosfet impedes the stock battery's initial amp peak to the point it cant even overcome the neodymium magnets? I'm not too worried as my lipo works fine with the high torque motor + mosfet combo, but it would have been nice to have the 8.4v as a backup battery.

Thanks
SawBone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2014, 22:36   #2
lurkingknight
"bb bukakke" KING!

does that mosfet unit have voltage cutoff/monitoring? what gearbox as well?

the shs motor is a very power hungry beast. Though with no load it should still function unless there's a voltage cutoff issue. A low charged 8.4 can read pretty low voltage, probably even below what a 7.4v lipo's safety cutoff would be set at.

Last edited by lurkingknight; July 2nd, 2014 at 22:38..
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2014, 22:45   #3
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe, Pretty Boy Maximus on the field take his picture!

Keep in mind voltage drop as well.