Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Need help deciding on a primary weapon

:

Airsoft Guns Discussion

Old September 15th, 2012, 21:38   #1
WingsEdge

Question Need help deciding on a primary weapon

Hey guys, as the title says, I am a beginner airsofter, I have been following the sport for a a few years and have done some research so i know most of the basics, but due to financial reasons i was never able to actually get in and play
Since I am starting, I would like a reliable platform that will last me a long time. And no doubt i will be upgrading it whenever i can in the future (starting with tightbore and hop-up to make those China-clones super accurate).

These are the options I am considering (in no particular order):
G36:
JG MK36K - http://www.airsoftgi.com/product_inf...oducts_id=4219
I know the TSD/SRC G36K has vastly superior externals (with fibreglass-reinforced nylon, as opposed to the molded ABS on the JG), but I have seen some owner responses, including one here on ASC, that have stated there can be serious quality control issues that affect the basic function of the gun. also, its internals are proprietary and not compatible with aftermarket standard parts, which is unacceptable by me, as I will need to upgrade.

AK74M:
CYMA CM047C - http://www.airsoftgi.com/product_inf...oducts_id=4006
OR
CYMA CM040C - http://www.airsoftgi.com/product_inf...oducts_id=4737
Both these guns are full metal. From what i understand, the first one, the CM047C is the OLDER version, with all metal parts being pot metal/alloy, and uses Ver. 3 Tokyo Marui compatible internals. Whereas the CM040C is newer, has a STEEL receiver and dust cover, with all other metal parts being pot alloy, and uses Ver. 3 VFC compatible internals.
CYMA's naming scheme is messed up.