Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Fixing a Broken cyma Zink body

:

General

Old November 30th, 2016, 18:48   #1
Nateman332

Cool Fixing a Broken cyma Zink body

Hey! It's Nate here, I recently received a CYMA AK-104 with a few parts shattered on the cheep zinc body including the hinge (shudder) and part of the front. As a welder I wanted a challenge so I traded it for a working display gun and last night was the first night of fixing the body.

If you're asking yourself why the hell I'm posting this it's because I was asked by the person on the other end of the trade.

Now to get into it:

So I've decided to fix the front with JB weld because on non stress parts it's easier and safer then soldering (and a lot cheeper... stupid expensive silver solder rods...). So because the part keeps falling off I've opted to use some reverse tweezers (you press them in to open them, great for holding things) and I've put some cloth in between them and the JB weld so they don't get welded to the piece.

Now because the hinge is broken not even solder will fix it... so I'm going to rip it off and replace it with a solid stock piece (which is pictured) off a plastic spare body I have (If this doesn't work, I'm going to just throw it in there).

So, yeah, that's day one, oh and this happened also (while trying to sand it no less):
[IMG]www.airsoftcanada.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=53716&stc=1&d=14805485 65[/IMG]
I hate zinc...

Anyway, that's day...er..night one. I'll post night 2 tomorrow. If this is in the wrong thread then by all means move it for me! please! Oh, and feel free to ask any questions or comment.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg resized_IMG_20161130_004942.jpg (39.1 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg resized_IMG_20161130_005011.jpg (46.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg resized_IMG_20161130_005003.jpg (52.8 KB, 93 views)
File Type: jpg resized_IMG_20161130_004930.jpg (44.4 KB, 94 views)

Quote: