Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

New Guy Needs Input

:

Accessories Discussion

Old February 12th, 2018, 01:31   #1
sparky660

New Guy Needs Input

Hello all, I'm new to this whole airsoft thing and need some input. My son and I picked up a couple of G&G 16 raiders to see how much we enjoy it. Besides the safety gear which we bought what are the must have accessories to make it enjoyable for us?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sparky660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2018, 03:41   #2
Drakker
Official ASC Geomorphologist

Your question is a bit vague, since you don' state where you are going to play, which type of game you want to play, in what environment, etc. So for now I'll answer with my very generic list of must haves to play Airsoft, and its really only three things:

1. Good eye protection, ANSI rated and preferably military grade
2. A good pair of boots so you don't sprain an ankle in tangled a root or a rabbit hole
3. A radio, so you can coordinate with your team and call out enemy positions and movements

That's it really... from there, having a gun is nice, but not required to be useful to your team. The radio is actually more important.

Québec province's master age verification representative.
Drakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2018, 11:43   #3
Kozure

Hi Sparky! Welcome to the sport!

Drakker has his list and it's pretty good. I personally disagree that a radio is a "basic" necessity, but everyone has different priorities. I own and use a radio, but I don't think of it as a "basic". I'll give my take:

Absolute basics (assuming you're running AEG (airsoft electric gun) as you've indicated):
  • Gun + magazine
  • Spare magazine(s)
  • Barrel cover (also called a barrel "condom")
  • Full seal eye protection (typically goggles, but can also include masks) with ANSI Z87.1 rating.
  • BBs
  • BB loader
  • Battery charger