Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

LCT AS VAL upgrade and battery questions

:

Upgrades & Modifications

Old October 14th, 2014, 17:01   #1
Nimble
airsoftsoldier250

LCT AS VAL upgrade and battery questions

So as of a few months ago Im the proud owner of the new LCT as val. Awesome gun so far, accurate, solid, etc etc.
My main question today is using LiPo batteries. Im new to the world of lipos and have heard everything ranging from good reviews to stories of peoples guns exploding and lighting on fire.
Right now Im using a firefox 7.4v "butterfly" lipo and was told to just not let the battery run dry and I should be ok as far as preserving battery life and electrical system integrity. I was wondering if anyone who has been using lipos for longer has any suggestions on failsafes I could be installing? I heard you can install cutoff switches etc but have no clue where to even begin.
Old October 14th, 2014, 17:20   #2
waylander

You have a few choices. You can get a good mosfet which has a built in alarm or a separate voltage alarm or cut off. You can find them on ebay, or hobbyking... etc. You can also check your local RC hobby shop for them. They'll be at least twice the price though. An alarm will just buzz/beep but a cut off will actually cut off so your gun will stop working.
waylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2014, 21:07   #3
ViR

Voltage alarm is probably the easiest solution.. but Ive never actually seen anyone light up a lipo from "excessive use".
I've seen Lipos burn after being banged/cracked, but thats it...

I usually run them until rate of fire slows down. Even had them drop below 3.7V.. Years later still no issues..
ViR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2014, 22:08   #4
waylander