Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Opinions on NVG

:

Gear Discussion

Old October 23rd, 2013, 02:45   #1
flamingtank

Opinions on NVG

Looking to get into the world of NVG. I'm on a little bit of a budget and want to see what my options are here. I'm new to all of this but was looking into a D300M Gen 2HP monocular, any opinions on this? Also wanting to know what options I have for decent quality mounting sets. Thanks!
flamingtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 03:13   #2
Derpystronk

Some quick answers to your questions (as I'm on a cellphone and want to keep my thumbs)

The D300HP is a good monocular, if only a tad heavy and fairly bulky. You should have a fairly good image with the tube inside of it. Good price value.

For a cheap mounting system a typical rhino arm, j arm, and ratchet strap will run you 100-200 bucks. Anything else you end up spending 500 on a Wilcox mount, plus 200 on the Wilcox Arm or Norotos dovetail, and then you still need a shroud to attach it to the helmet.
Old October 23rd, 2013, 03:18   #3
flamingtank

Thanks a lot, I appreciate the advice!
flamingtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 11:22   #4
akko

This might be of help to you.
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_6_18/329958_.html

AKMS
TYPE 56-1
akko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 13:14   #5
Gato
ASC's Whiny Bitch

More and more of these NV threads are popping up, based simply on what you've asked and a rather cursory use of google, I've been able to find everything you're after. Perhaps you should try the same in the future.

This information is not hard to find.
Certified Level 3.1415926 Sniper Certified
Certified Level 3.1415926 Orbital Weapons platform Certified
Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2013, 13:56   #6
kullwarrior

Quote:
Originally Posted by akko View Post