Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Comms Setup: MSA Sordins

:

Gear Discussion

Old September 2nd, 2018, 10:17   #1
Ourindar

Comms Setup: MSA Sordins

Hi folks,

Total comms noob here. My only experience with radio communications is with the dinky little earpiece that comes with a Baofeng.

What will I need, other than the headset and radio themselves, to use MSA Sordin Pro-X in a setup with a Baofeng UV-5R? I'd like to not have to use the built-in mic on the radio, of course.

Is it possible to use the built-in mics on the Sordins as the comms mic? If it is, how? And is it a good idea at all?

I know I need a Kenwood 2-pin connector for the radio, and that the Sordins have an AUX port. I don't know anything else; what I need, what plugs into what, etc. Ideally anything outside of the radio and headset would cost sub-$200.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Ourindar; September 2nd, 2018 at 10:20..
Ourindar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2018, 14:34   #2
riley_A

Do you have the comms version of the MSA sordins or the non-comms version? If you have the non-comms version which I assume you do based on the aux port on your ear cups, you'll need a microphone/downlead kit made for the non-comms sordins which SRS tactical sells for around $300 or so. You'll also need an amplified PTT which will run around $200. I'll link the products below:
https://srstactical.ca/all-products/...-headsets.html
https://srstactical.ca/all-products/...t-adaptor.html

The other option would be to get a code red signal 21 speaker mic and an aux cable and use the speaker mic as your mic, and have incoming audio routed to your headset via the aux cable. This option will be much cheaper but I'm not sure if its what you're going for exactly.