Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Airsoft Guns Discussion
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

AK or AR

:

Airsoft Guns Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 10th, 2018, 18:27   #16
Einstein
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Quebec City
Jolly_Green Thanks for sharing your experience. Datawraith Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 19:28   #17
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
Ignoring the real world pros and cons of both platforms, in airsoft:

ARs are more versatile because there are more aftermarket accessories available, and in general there are much higher quality AR15 style parts available than AK style parts. This includes gun accessories, but something else that should be considered is kit. There is generally higher quality soft kit designed for AR users than AK users. ARs are also more lightweight and much more functionally ergonomic than the AK.

AKs are generally more durable externally because higher end manufacturers tend to use stamped steel over cast aluminum, but AKs are generally heavier. Performance potential between the two platforms as far as gearboxes and barrel groups go is pretty much the same, however there is no BTC Spectre available for the V3 mechbox. With V3 you are stuck with either the BTC Chimera or a shitty ass Gate TITAN. Most rail and optic mounts for AK platforms do not hold zero anywhere near as well as an AR, though I guess that doesn't make a difference with airsoft.
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2018, 20:40   #18
Drakker
Official ASC Geomorphologist
 
Drakker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montréal south shore, Qc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einstein View Post
sorry if I'm slow, but when you say stock reliability do you mean the actual stock of the gun or the reliability of the gun when its out of the box?

Do you happen to know why the V3 gearbox is more reliable and durable? and does this statement only apply to stock gearboxes?
You seem to state that AK's are easier/cheaper to make increase the performance, why?
When comparing the absolute best V2 and V3, does one version still have an edge on the other?
Yeah, I should have written out of the box instead of stock. The V3 gearbox is more durable thanks to a better build. The two halves are held at the top by a continuous metal clamp, whereas V2s are screws only. Also, the V3 has the motor cage mounted to the gearbox, where the V2 has the motor floating inside the pistol grip. The V3 gearbox also is better is the cold, V2s tend to snap at the front near the 90° angle. A high quality V2 shell will still be reliable in the cold, but chances are the stock gearbox shell you get with your gun won't be that high quality. Its one more part to change if you want top durability.

To make most AKs shoot well, all you need is good compression and a good hop-up rubber/r-hop/flat-hop/flavor-of-the-month-hop/etc-hop. You can also change the barrel to a top quality barrel if you feel that its still not good enough for you with the stock barrel.

With ARs, unless you get a top quality brand like VFC, you'll have to get rid of the wobble first, then fix your compression and work on or change your hop-up chamber. Then you can work on reliability (gearbox shell if needed, etc.) and maybe change the barrel to a top quality one if needed.
__________________
Keep quiet. Sound travels faster than BBs.

Québec province's master age verification representative.
Drakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2018, 11:02   #19
Einstein
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Quebec City
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestobanana View Post
however there is no BTC Spectre available for the V3 mechbox. With V3 you are stuck with either the BTC Chimera or a shitty ass Gate TITAN.
For people who don't know what BTC Spectre, BTC Chimera and Gate TITAN are, they are MOSFET's. I will post all 3 links so people can look at them and read it for themselves.

https://www.btcairsoft.com/spectre_v2gb
https://www.btcairsoft.com/chimera_v3gb
https://www.gatee.eu/titan

pestobanana, in broad terms: how much does a MOSFET change performance? is the Spectre really that much better? You mentioned accessories/gear related to AR's are of better quality and more available; would you say the same for AR MOSFET's and does new tech always arrive first for the AR platform?

Thanks for the great post btw
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2018, 11:08   #20
Einstein
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Quebec City
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakker View Post
With ARs, unless you get a top quality brand like VFC, you'll have to get rid of the wobble first, then fix your compression and work on or change your hop-up chamber. Then you can work on reliability (gearbox shell if needed, etc.) and maybe change the barrel to a top quality one if needed.
Can you specify which wobble we need to get rid of? I'm try to be very thorough, sorry.
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2018, 12:48   #21
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einstein View Post
For people who don't know what BTC Spectre, BTC Chimera and Gate TITAN are, they are MOSFET's. I will post all 3 links so people can look at them and read it for themselves.

https://www.btcairsoft.com/spectre_v2gb
https://www.btcairsoft.com/chimera_v3gb
https://www.gatee.eu/titan

pestobanana, in broad terms: how much does a MOSFET change performance? is the Spectre really that much better? You mentioned accessories/gear related to AR's are of better quality and more available; would you say the same for AR MOSFET's and does new tech always arrive first for the AR platform?

Thanks for the great post btw
A MOSFET improves electrical efficiency, but a computerized MOSFET gets rid of the mechanical trigger contacts and allows for computerized cycle completion. This allows for a shorter, more reliable trigger pull without the need for a mechanical switch reset.

Spectre is better because all of its components are housed inside the gearbox. Chimera requires external signal wires that go from the internal triggerboard to an external control unit. Having an external control unit takes up space, is less efficient, and is prone to wiring issues over periods of use due to the crimp connector terminals.

ARs use V2 gearboxes which are the standard, so most gearbox tech is released for V2 first.
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2018, 08:57   #22
Zfurlong
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's
if you prefer the mags of the m4, but would rather have an ak, then there is an adapter out there allowing you to use m4 mags on the ak. you get all the benefits of the ak, with most of the ergonomics of the m4 from a reloading, gear, and mag size standpoint.
__________________
current armament:
mk43, ump.45, p90, barret, m14, g33, k98, m4 tac, m4 swat, mp5 navy, vsr10, p226, m9.
Zfurlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2018, 09:27   #23
BioRage
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ - Professional Complainer who wants to do nothing to help out. QQer maximus, will QQ for Free. Snowflake exemplified.
 
BioRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Send a message via Skype™ to BioRage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zfurlong View Post
if you prefer the mags of the m4, but would rather have an ak, then there is an adapter out there allowing you to use m4 mags on the ak. you get all the benefits of the ak, with most of the ergonomics of the m4 from a reloading, gear, and mag size standpoint.
BioRage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2018, 09:46   #24
Desmodus
Mexifaggot
 
Desmodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Meadowvale, Mississauga, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zfurlong View Post
if you prefer the mags of the m4, but would rather have an ak, then there is an adapter out there allowing you to use m4 mags on the ak. you get all the benefits of the ak, with most of the ergonomics of the m4 from a reloading, gear, and mag size standpoint.
Absolutely heretical.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF25 -

Primaries: LCT AKS74UN, VFC M4 CQB Mk2
Secondary: Latino heat, TM Glock 17
Desmodus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 10:59   #25
Einstein
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Quebec City
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zfurlong View Post
if you prefer the mags of the m4, but would rather have an ak, then there is an adapter out there allowing you to use m4 mags on the ak.
AHAHAHAHAHA your idea seems to have sparked opposition, but indeed I find that if MILSIM is secondary for someone it could be a valid solution.

Do you know if a real steel adapter exists to allow AK's to receive STANMAG? If it does, do some military units use it?
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 11:01   #26
Einstein
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Quebec City
I talked to people who started out with the AK and switched to AR, the main reason they switched was for weight and to grab their hands on the latest tech in the airsoft world.

edit: They argued that in extremum games, either full skirmish or full milsim, the weight advantage of the M4 shines.

Last edited by Einstein; October 24th, 2018 at 11:03.. Reason: added info
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 11:08   #27
Desmodus
Mexifaggot
 
Desmodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Meadowvale, Mississauga, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Einstein View Post
I talked to people who started out with the AK and switched to AR, the main reason they switched was for weight and to grab their hands on the latest tech in the airsoft world.

edit: They argued that in extremum games, either full skirmish or full milsim, the weight advantage of the M4 shines.

These people need to lift more. Ak's really aren't that heavy lmao.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF25 -

Primaries: LCT AKS74UN, VFC M4 CQB Mk2
Secondary: Latino heat, TM Glock 17
Desmodus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2018, 22:14   #28
06jorkee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zfurlong View Post
there is an adapter out there allowing you to use m4 mags on the ak
06jorkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2018, 14:35   #29
Zfurlong
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's
lmfao, I have both m4 and ak platform, however I only use the regular mags for each. only threw out the idea as it is something I have seen a few guys use over the years. I personally prefer the regular mag styles for each platform.
__________________
current armament:
mk43, ump.45, p90, barret, m14, g33, k98, m4 tac, m4 swat, mp5 navy, vsr10, p226, m9.
Zfurlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2018, 14:55   #30
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
You can get the SR47 and have the cons of both platforms.
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Airsoft Guns Discussion

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.