Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Multicam Fabrics and NIR Compliance

:

Gear Discussion

Old September 3rd, 2017, 19:21   #1
AnthonyG
LUser Title

Question Multicam Fabrics and NIR Compliance

Can someone in the know set me straight.

I've come across a few threads on the internet that suggest only certain blends of multicam are NIR compliant ie) 50/50 vs 65/35

Since this sort of thing matters to me now... are all variants of multicam fabric NIR-compliant, or is it only specific blends/manufacturers? I'm just getting into purchasing multicam so I want to make sure I'm making an informed decision.

*Busy signing for his packages*
AnthonyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2017, 23:39   #2
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe, Pretty Boy Maximus on the field take his picture!

It's really difficult to tell a $200+ plate carrier of any color (ranger green, coyote, multicam, etc) from a real crye, LBT, or whatever PC. But it's really easy to tell a good plate carrier from a $90 "with pouches" kit: Those are the ones that look like safety vests under NV.

That being said, their "main" fabric is the 50/50 nyco ripstop and it's NIR compliant since it's military spec, as is the FR stuff.
65/35 and 60/40 are not, BUT they're also slightly off color. It's really obvious when you have them all side by side; there's a picture of a bunch of us at claybank, all wearing genuine crye fabric multicam, but there's obvious difference in shade between 65/35, 60/40, and 50/50.

I don't believe anyone makes combat pants in anything but 50/50. The UR-tac pants are 50/50 NIR material.
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2017, 00:37   #3
AnthonyG
LUser Title

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderCactus View Post

I don't believe anyone makes combat pants in anything but 50/50.