Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Doctor's Corner
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Why your KA M4 doesn't assemble properly.

:

Doctor's Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 18th, 2013, 22:02   #1
Spike
Privateer Airsoft
 
Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Beaverbank, NS
Why your KA M4 doesn't assemble properly.

After seeing this issue for the millionth time, I decided to go over every millimeter of a king arms M4 that wouldn't close. I found the culprit.

As you probably know already, the lower receiver pins/screws have to go in a stupidly specific order. The part that actually catches and prevents the receivers from mating is the hop up unit. The gearbox sits angled slightly downwards, so the top of the hop up unit hits the top of the gearbox shell and misses the hole ever so slightly, so the receiver can't go any farther forward.

Also, if you find yourself with a surprisingly low FPS after reassembly, take out the buffer tube main screw and the pistol grip screws and replace them with just enough torque to stay put. This will hopefully fix the gearbox's angle and will fix the FPS issue.

Just thought I'd share this, I know it's given me a headache in the past. I'd take a picture, but I'm not taking this damn thing apart again.
__________________
I change primaries like other people change socks.
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 22:29   #2
OM3GA
 
OM3GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Wow, this would explain a few things. Thank you so much for posting this as I am actually just reassembling my KA based M4, and I have ran into this exact problem in the past. It was a pain to say the least and it is good to finally see a fix.
__________________

Durate et vosmet rebus servate secundis.
OM3GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:03   #3
Kos-Mos
 
Kos-Mos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lévis (QC)
To fix this permanently, you can add layers of aluminum tape (for heating system insulation) inside the receiver, just front of the trigger hole.

It will position the mechbox at the right place to fix theses issues.
It's long to get the perfect results, but once it's done, no more headaches!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Damnit, don't make me add "no discussing temporal paradoxes" to the rules or I'll go back in time and ban you last week.
Kos-Mos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:09   #4
ccyg8774
 
ccyg8774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brampton, ON
I had a different issue when assembling my KA M4.
To put the upper receiver back you need to pull the bolt handle to the back at some point, but that can easily pull the dummy bolt out of its "rail" that allows it to slide back and forth, then the dummy bolt will be out of place, and stays on the back, preventing the upper from going into the place for few milimeters.
__________________

Last edited by ccyg8774; March 18th, 2013 at 23:12..
ccyg8774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:17   #5
OM3GA
 
OM3GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccyg8774 View Post
I had a different issue when assembling my KA M4.
To put the upper receiver back you need to pull the bolt handle to the back at some point, but that can easily pull the dummy bolt out of its "rail" that allows it to slide back and forth, and the dummy bolt will be out of place, and stays on the back, preventing the upper from going into the place for few milimeters.
I almost always have that happen when I take my upper off. It is a pain but I don't think there is much that can be done. It just seems to be the way the spring pulls the ornament plate that makes it pop out of the guide.

It just takes some messing with to get everything back together.
__________________

Durate et vosmet rebus servate secundis.
OM3GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:31   #6
Kos-Mos
 
Kos-Mos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lévis (QC)
Just get GBBRs you guys!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Damnit, don't make me add "no discussing temporal paradoxes" to the rules or I'll go back in time and ban you last week.
Kos-Mos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:50   #7
ccyg8774
 
ccyg8774's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brampton, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by OM3GA View Post
I almost always have that happen when I take my upper off. It is a pain but I don't think there is much that can be done. It just seems to be the way the spring pulls the ornament plate that makes it pop out of the guide.
My "solution" was to pull the bolt handle as little as possible when I put the upper back. If I do it carefull enough it won't pop out most of the time.
__________________
ccyg8774 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2013, 23:50   #8
OM3GA
 
OM3GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kos-Mos View Post
Just get GBBRs you guys!
Don't tempt me, that is what I want next.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccyg8774 View Post
My "solution" was to pull the bolt handle as little as possible when I put the upper back. If I do it carefull enough it won't pop out most of the time.
I usually try and do the same. In addition to that I usually told the entire rifle upside down and try to keep a finger on the plate. Once you are over the gearbox it doesn't have nearly as much room to move and usually by that point the charging handle has cleared all it needs to.
__________________

Durate et vosmet rebus servate secundis.

Last edited by OM3GA; March 18th, 2013 at 23:55..
OM3GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 00:13   #9
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
The other issue is that you have to remove the bolt release before you can get the mechbox out. Everything else is standard AR.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 00:54   #10
Wrath144
formerly steyr
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Damn, I thought this was just me. I also solved the problem by installing the upper before the buffer tube and grip screws.
__________________
BROFORCE
Admin - Winnipeg Airsoft
Wrath144 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 07:45   #11
AngelusNex
formerly Sepulcrum
 
AngelusNex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kingston,ON, aka Funkasia
Send a message via MSN to AngelusNex
never had issues getting it assembled, guess I just happen too assemble it right. but the low fps thing might explains mine, I just though it was the cheap China spring I put in it giving out.
AngelusNex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 09:25   #12
Stealth
Mr. Silencer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Didn't really have an issue re-assembling mine either...hmm. Air seal is okay, I checked.

So is it a KA body issue or mechbox issue?
Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 09:40   #13
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
It's not brand specific...what's been described has been in effect for ages.

When the stock screw is over-tightened it'll pull the mechbox back and potentially cause an airleak. You can't really torque things out of whack too much with the grip...but if it's an ill fitting grip that binds with the contact points of the receiver then it can.

If you want to see how much it can pull it out of whack don't put on the grip or the flora pin and tighten up the stock screw. Odds are that you won't be able to put the flora pin in but the grip will still go on.

Flora pin in first...stock pipe/screw next (just snug)...grip next (just snug)...tighten things up. In reverse for disassembly...then you don't need to pound on your flora pin.
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 09:49   #14
Eeyore
Suburban Gun Runner
 
Eeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St Lambert, Quebec
This is super helpful. I have a KA M4 that has has stupid low fps no matter what I've tried. Gonna have go try this tonight.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinard View Post
eeyore, the more I look at your avatar, the more I find it looks like a vagina...
Eeyore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2013, 11:54   #15
venture
 
venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
It's not brand specific...what's been described has been in effect for ages.

When the stock screw is over-tightened it'll pull the mechbox back and potentially cause an airleak. You can't really torque things out of whack too much with the grip...but if it's an ill fitting grip that binds with the contact points of the receiver then it can.

If you want to see how much it can pull it out of whack don't put on the grip or the flora pin and tighten up the stock screw. Odds are that you won't be able to put the flora pin in but the grip will still go on.

Flora pin in first...stock pipe/screw next (just snug)...grip next (just snug)...tighten things up. In reverse for disassembly...then you don't need to pound on your flora pin.

+1 - almost exactly what I was going to post.

Biggest problem witht he KA M4A1 is the faux bolt coming out of its track - as stated above
__________________

Visit us at :www.ventureairsoft.ca
venture is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Doctor's Corner

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.