Airsoft Canada

Airsoft Canada (https://airsoftcanada.com/forums.php)
-   Accessories Discussion (https://airsoftcanada.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Laser Danger (Won't risk my own eyes, willing to risk yours) (̶T̶L̶:̶D̶R̶=̶t̶h̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶n̶o̶n̶e̶)̶ (https://airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=163219)

Black Jack March 14th, 2014 11:16

Laser Danger (Won't risk my own eyes, willing to risk yours) (̶T̶L̶:̶D̶R̶=̶t̶h̶e̶r̶e̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶n̶o̶n̶e̶)̶

I’ve played airsoft for a number of years now, and I work as a health and safety person in my workplace. I’m a certified in Health and Safety through Conestoga college, and have consulted some highly accredited Industrial Hygienists and Safety professionals on the topic of lasers in military games. The answer has always been the same: "They pose no reasonable risk.". Yet over and over I see them being decried in ASC forums and banned on milsim and skirmish game rules. I’m going to try and dispel the myth that these items pose any quantifiable risk to airsofters, and I hope this is informative. I encourage anyone to look the topic up further from creditable health and safety websites to help form their own opinions. We will begin with what exactly were dealing with.

(from FDA website)

A laser pointer, Laser sight or laser pen is a small handheld device with a power source (usually a battery) and a laser diode emitting a very narrow coherent low-powered laser beam of visible light, intended to be used to highlight something of interest by illuminating it with a small bright spot of colored light. Power is restricted in most jurisdictions not to exceed 5 mW…
FDA regulates all laser products, even handheld, battery-powered lasers that are available for purchase from manufacturers, importers, assemblers, dealers or distributors in the United States and its territories. This includes lasers manufactured or obtained on a continuing basis for the purpose of sale or resale.