Airsoft Canada

Airsoft Canada (https://airsoftcanada.com/forums.php)
-   Newbie Tank (https://airsoftcanada.com/forumdisplay.php?f=203)
-   -   Overcharging Lipo? (https://airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=145159)

ljohns35 September 8th, 2012 00:44

Overcharging Lipo?

I'm new to Lipo batteries so this may seem like a silly question. I have an Ares G36C and I use a 11.1 V Lipo battery. Within the past 4 months I've been through two of them. I'll charge them and then they just seem to die out on me :| Any advice anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I do have a Lipo balance charger.

R.I.T.Z September 8th, 2012 00:50

are you pluging the ends in correctly?
is your charger/balancer made for the amount of cells your lipo has?

SuperHog September 8th, 2012 00:58

Your charger is probably giving you a full charge, but your gun is probably overdischarging them during use. If you discharge below 3V you will damage them.

Are you running a Lipo monitor?

I set mine to go off at 3.3V and stop at that point. Because of the extreme current drains your gun can pull with each shot, at 3.1V, a shot can cause the voltage to dip well below 3V.

MaciekA September 8th, 2012 08:31

You may be suffering from crappy batteries, crappy charger, or simply overworking your batteries (or all three). In my opinion LiPos below 2000mAh are rarely adequate for the velocity and trigger response demands that we're subjecting them to in this country, especially if you're attending games and not just plinking.

As SuperHog says, if you overdischarge these things (i.e. keep shooting once your battery is past the "voltage cliff") you'll perma-damage the battery. This is usually super obvious and easy to avoid even without a monitor, though if you're using a particularly weak LiPo you can sag into the dangerzone pretty easily. If you are actually running out of juice mid-game or sagging that badly, it's a strong sign you should seek a battery with a lot more mAh.