Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

LiPo Ready - Is My Rifle LiPo Ready? How can I tell?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2012, 23:53   #61
PrIeSt
takagari
 
PrIeSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Anola(ish) MB
Send a message via MSN to PrIeSt Send a message via Skype™ to PrIeSt
You will essentially find you get less and less rounds from a charge.
I tested this one out one summer just to see. when starting on the 7.4 I could run 3000 rounds. After a season of letting it over discharge, I could run 500 rounds off a charge.

You may not notice a instant decline. but every little bit hurts.
PrIeSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012, 16:45   #62
SMD
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
alright i did some work on my own

G&p have 14 gauge wiring which is the same wiring that comes with all lipos
soo i can say ALL g&p are lipo ready
cuz if your going from bigger gauge wires to smaller that is cunna cost alot of resistance.

for example
im running a vfc sr15e3 IWS amazing rifle i love i dont baby it AT ALL
with an 11.1 lipo before i was shooting 23 bbs a second with my classic army x series motor. thats with 12guage wiring. then i switched to 14 gauge wiring then it pumped my guns fire rate to 27. and then when i decided to go to ALL modify parts besides gearbox shell i decided to switch my wiring to the modify silver wiring! my gun shoots 32bbs a second with an 11.1 lipo 15c at 370 fps.

if your looking for a stupid rate of fire sure use the 11.1 but make sure your piston tappet plate gears can take the strain of full auto at that rate.
11.1 i use IMO is just for trigger respawns if i go full auto barely when i have the 11.1 in even tho my gun can take it.
but if you use 7.4 lipo you should be fine.
SMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012, 17:26   #63
PrIeSt
takagari
 
PrIeSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Anola(ish) MB
Send a message via MSN to PrIeSt Send a message via Skype™ to PrIeSt
The wiring is only a small part of the requirement. So just because you have 14awg does not mean your ready for an 11.1
PrIeSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012, 17:38   #64
slntdth93
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMD View Post
alright i did some work on my own

G&p have 14 gauge wiring which is the same wiring that comes with all lipos
soo i can say ALL g&p are lipo ready
cuz if your going from bigger gauge wires to smaller that is cunna cost alot of resistance.

for example
im running a vfc sr15e3 IWS amazing rifle i love i dont baby it AT ALL
with an 11.1 lipo before i was shooting 23 bbs a second with my classic army x series motor. thats with 12guage wiring. then i switched to 14 gauge wiring then it pumped my guns fire rate to 27. and then when i decided to go to ALL modify parts besides gearbox shell i decided to switch my wiring to the modify silver wiring! my gun shoots 32bbs a second with an 11.1 lipo 15c at 370 fps.

if your looking for a stupid rate of fire sure use the 11.1 but make sure your piston tappet plate gears can take the strain of full auto at that rate.
11.1 i use IMO is just for trigger respawns if i go full auto barely when i have the 11.1 in even tho my gun can take it.
but if you use 7.4 lipo you should be fine.
Some G&P use 16 gauge (my Magpul MOE M4). And my trigger contacts have worn out quite a bit with around ~2000 plinking rounds. (edit - 7.4v lipo)

Shouldnt thicker (smaller gauge number) have less resistance?

Last edited by slntdth93; July 2nd, 2012 at 17:39.. Reason: details
slntdth93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012, 18:30   #65
THe_Silencer
 
THe_Silencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hamilton,ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by slntdth93 View Post
Some G&P use 16 gauge (my Magpul MOE M4). And my trigger contacts have worn out quite a bit with around ~2000 plinking rounds. (edit - 7.4v lipo)

Shouldnt thicker (smaller gauge number) have less resistance?
Just get a MOSFET and you'll see a bigger drop in resitance than most wire upgrades. You'll also not have to worry about burnt out contacts.
__________________

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it - Aristotle
-Founder of Steel City Hamilton Infantry and Tactics
-Certified level 43 Autosniper by Commander Amos
THe_Silencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2012, 23:46   #66
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
You guys a leaving out a critical factor, WIRE QUALITY

My G&P249 was wired with 16 gauge, I upgraded to silver plated copper 18 gauge, and it reduced resistance by a significant amount.
There's more to wiring than just it's diameter.

And upgrading even from the worst 20 gauge classic army wiring to 14 gauge silver plated copper doesn't hold a candle to the improvement you get from installing a MOSFET.
Don't even talk to us about reducing resistance until you've got a MOSFET in there, because the analog trigger is the single biggest source of resistance in any AEG.
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 09:08   #67
Pesky
 
Pesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland & Nova Scotia
Send a message via AIM to Pesky Send a message via Skype™ to Pesky
Hey guys, so i've been using a NiHM and i love it, but after a game i played the battery died half way through the game, so now i got a lipo siting here next to me that came with my XCR and now i just plugged it in to try it and i love it. But for using the lipo i know i've been told by a few people that it is a very good idea to get a MOSFET and i've been a little research and this MOSFET came up and i did watch the video and it does seem like a very good FET to use, so i just want to get someone else point of view on it, especially people who have used lipo's before, so any help would be great.

and also if there is anything else i should get with this please let me know! thank you!
__________________
VFC SR15, VFC MK18 MOD1, CA SLR105, G&G M16A2 ( SPR ), G&G SR25, Echo1 XCR (00741), CA M249, TM G17 & TM SAI G17, TM 1911 NW, TM P226
Pesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 10:12   #68
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
You don't need an SW-COMP, just a regular $15 mosfet switch will do. And the less expensive switch will also cause less problems.
SW-COMPs are typically very sensitive to motor problems, switches are not.
But if you're dead set on an SW-COMP for the neat features, then that's a good one to buy
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 10:54   #69
Pesky
 
Pesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland & Nova Scotia
Send a message via AIM to Pesky Send a message via Skype™ to Pesky
Okay perfect! well that saves me a lot of money, i do like the features about that MOSFET but really that isn't very important to me now, i just want a switch that will aid me to use my lipo without damaging everything,

so would there be any links to where i can find one of these $15 MOSFET ?
__________________
VFC SR15, VFC MK18 MOD1, CA SLR105, G&G M16A2 ( SPR ), G&G SR25, Echo1 XCR (00741), CA M249, TM G17 & TM SAI G17, TM 1911 NW, TM P226
Pesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 11:14   #70
horto
 
horto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderCactus View Post
You don't need an SW-COMP, just a regular $15 mosfet switch will do. And the less expensive switch will also cause less problems.
SW-COMPs are typically very sensitive to motor problems, switches are not.
But if you're dead set on an SW-COMP for the neat features, then that's a good one to buy
where do I get simple $15 mosfets?
__________________
H-61 "Acta non verba"
They see us rollin, they hatin...
horto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 11:21   #71
Stealth
Mr. Silencer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by horto View Post
where do I get simple $15 mosfets?
Following the discussion in this thread: http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=143350 we're bringing something in. ETA 2 weeks.

Key points:
* Easy to install
* Well-packaged (not home-brew)
* Easy to understand documentation
* Small
* Basic
* Cheap (~$15)
Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 11:25   #72
horto
 
horto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
I've been eyeing that thread. In which case, sign me up for 4 of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth View Post
Following the discussion in this thread: http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=143350 we're bringing something in. ETA 2 weeks.

Key points:
* Easy to install
* Well-packaged (not home-brew)
* Easy to understand documentation
* Small
* Basic
* Cheap (~$15)
__________________
H-61 "Acta non verba"
They see us rollin, they hatin...
horto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 11:30   #73
Pesky
 
Pesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland & Nova Scotia
Send a message via AIM to Pesky Send a message via Skype™ to Pesky
Stealth i love you! i also have been following that tread and i think i will be following it more! thanks a lot guys!
__________________
VFC SR15, VFC MK18 MOD1, CA SLR105, G&G M16A2 ( SPR ), G&G SR25, Echo1 XCR (00741), CA M249, TM G17 & TM SAI G17, TM 1911 NW, TM P226
Pesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2012, 11:59   #74
PrIeSt
takagari
 
PrIeSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Anola(ish) MB
Send a message via MSN to PrIeSt Send a message via Skype™ to PrIeSt
I'll take 6 haha. But if you were to offer a sprayed water proof/resistant version you'd sell lots.
PrIeSt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2012, 09:46   #75
Stealth
Mr. Silencer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
They'll have water-resistant heatshrink tubing on them.
Honestly I'd rather do that than have them ALL coated and have to pass that cost onto 80% of the users who don't need that feature.
Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.