Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

About V3 Gearbox.

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2010, 02:50   #1
highny
 
highny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
About V3 Gearbox.

Hello everyone. Another noobie questions...

I've notice that my JG Sig 552's handle was a bit lose(wobbly) so I took it the bottom of the pistol grip off and removed the motor. Looking at the bottom of the handle I've not there were two screw, so I simply got my screw driver and tighten it. One went on nicely tight, but the other wouldn't stop turning. The threads were gone on the gearbox(screw looked fine).

That being said, the pistol grip is still lose and would one screw holding the hand grip I'm afraid in future game the thing would just break off...

What can I do other than tossing a ton of super glue(my friend suggested that...).

Also, would something like a m4 pistol grip fit? If not, is there any other types of pistol grip I can get? If so, where?

Thanks!.
highny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 02:57   #2
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
The Sig grip is it's own type (V3 Sig). Other grips like M4/M16 will not fit (V2).
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 03:02   #3
Schlyder
IronOverlord
 
Schlyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Broadview,Saskatchewan
is there 4 holes in the grip? There should be.. there should be 4 on the mechbox. Sounds like one of the mechbox holes is stripped. swap holes diagonally with the screws (if there are 4 holes) and try that, and maybe put a third screw in. If not try and find a slighlty larger screw and try it.

Do not glue it. that is completely stupid, and give your friend a slap in the back of the head.
__________________

Last edited by Schlyder; February 22nd, 2010 at 03:04..
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 03:16   #4
highny
 
highny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Here's a picture of it:



Only two screws..
highny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 03:17   #5
Thenooblord
Can't fix my own guns. Willing to fix yours.
 
Thenooblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sherwood Forest
Send a message via MSN to Thenooblord
blue locktite, it works wonders, I used it on a bunch of stuff, from stripped screws to a loose barrel bushing
__________________

Words to live by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid View Post
The apartment I am in right now costs $100 a month.
My average spending on food per day is less than $4.
My airsoft spending in the last month and a half has totaled over $1400.
They're called priorities. Get yourself some.
Thenooblord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 11:07   #6
diamond_SEA
 
diamond_SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakbank, MB
Send a message via MSN to diamond_SEA
I did the same thing when i owned my Sig 552. The screws are stripped.

Solution: The mechbox has 4 threaded holes in the bottom, but the grip only uses two. I drilled 2 additional holes in the grip, and used the old screws in the new holes, and tapped the stripped holes and used slightly larger screws. So by the end, I had 4 rock solid screws holding on my grip. Needless to say, i never had problems with it again.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_knight View Post
your right,when it rains the burger joint across the street does have cats for 4.99$ but that doesnt mean that i can just go get all the grape jelly i want
diamond_SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 11:55   #7
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
What diamond_SEA said to do is the best alternative. If you're not comfortable doing that yourself (measure a dozen times...drill once), have someone else do it for you.
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 14:06   #8
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
Or you could re-drill and tap the holes to the next size up and use stronger M4 screws lol
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.