Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Max fps & hop up

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:21   #1
Mladen
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Max fps & hop up

Can you please explain "Hop-up", and when a gun says that it fires at 360 FPS with adjustable hop up does this mean i can adjust the fps?

thx
Mladen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:24   #2
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
No, it means you can adjust something that puts back-spin on the BB to increase it's range while it flies through the air.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:25   #3
pusangani
Official ASC "Dumb Ass"
 
pusangani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarbrah, Ontario
what does an airsoft hopup do - Google Search

no it just means that the gun shoots at 360 fps and that the hopup is adjustable
__________________
pusangani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 01:45   #4
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
Hop up does decrease FPS from what I understand, but not by a significant amount. ie. on full hop, you might lose a few FPS but not enough to bring an outdoor gun shooting 395 FPS to CQB levels of play.

Hop up's main use though is to give the BB backspin so that it can stay on a straighter path for longer (thereby giving you a longer maximum effective range).
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 15:02   #5
Mladen
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
ok, the majority of the guns that i've looked that should be for CQB (G&G MP5 and G&G AK74) all shot at 360 fps; but they only allow max 350 fps to play indoors in toronto, what guns (other than pistols) are under 350?
Mladen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 15:11   #6
pusangani
Official ASC "Dumb Ass"
 
pusangani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarbrah, Ontario
try looking at other brands maybe? most ics guns are 330 stock
__________________
pusangani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 15:27   #7
gmds44
 
gmds44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Send a message via MSN to gmds44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mladen View Post
ok, the majority of the guns that i've looked that should be for CQB (G&G MP5 and G&G AK74) all shot at 360 fps; but they only allow max 350 fps to play indoors in toronto, what guns (other than pistols) are under 350?
G&G's claim to be 360FPS
However, I Chrono'd both my M4 and MP5 and they were both giving me ~350fps readings.
gmds44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 16:08   #8
Dart
 
Dart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mladen View Post
ok, the majority of the guns that i've looked that should be for CQB (G&G MP5 and G&G AK74) all shot at 360 fps; but they only allow max 350 fps to play indoors in toronto, what guns (other than pistols) are under 350?
anything Made by TM that is still stock should be shooting roughly 280-310. If you get a gun thats shooting hot its not a huge headach to swap out the spring to something like an m90. www.mechbox.com and www.google.com are both your bibles. If you really want an easy gun to change FPS look at ones like the Ares Tavor Tar21 and the l85 *I beleive the latter has it correct me if I am wrong*.
Dart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 16:32   #9
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
So...this thread makes a bit more sense now....

The bottom line is: You won't know until you chrony the rifle with 0.20g BBs.

But...

1. Manufactures often report the highest FPS that they read off a test model...and the hopup may or may not be on. (without it on, you'll get the highest number...good for the marketing guys). They may also chrony with lighter than 0.20g BBs...so that 490fps rifle might not really be what's printed on the box so far as the local fields are concerned.

2. Springs/setups...IMHO...settle in a bit most times. Dropping a couple of FPS (unknown how many) is not uncommon. Who knows how long that mechbox has been assembled for and what state (piston forward vs. other) it's in.

3. As a general rule guys chrony their guns with their hopups set to where they're going to use it. And...turning on the hopup a bit does drop the FPS of the BB a bit...sometimes dramatically.

So...again see above...you won't know until it's chronied. Get out to a game field...set the hopup. Then chrony it. If it's hot...at least you'll know by how much (it'll give you a hint as to which spring to buy, etc...).

Aim lower than the maximum...if it's 350 aim for 300-330. If it's 400 aim for 360-390. The last 10fps doesn't matter at all...and not every setup is absolutely predictable. I.e. swapping a M100 from a M120 in my rifle might end up dropping the FPS from 420 to 340...but doing the same in yours might yield very different results. Go back to the chrony to be sure.

Being new, not knowing your way around a mechbox and having to swap out a spring is a pain in the ass. Get someone else to do it for you

Best of luck,

Tys
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 18:54   #10
Dart
 
Dart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
I typed my post a little bit on the tired side. Basicly what I am trying to say with the spring swap is its not as scary as people make it sound. I waited roughly a year before cracking my mechbox open but when I finaly got the nerve to do it I went "this is what people are scared of? its just some springs and gears and moving parts....* mind you I do have a mechanical and IT background....

If you do end up getting a TM with a stock gear box, if you want to bump the FPS up just be warned that you do have to change the bushings out from nylon. Heavier spring causes more friction... friction causes heat.... plastic VS heat, heat wins.

*btw some fields do require the hop up to be off for crony.*
Dart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 19:34   #11
Mladen
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
You guys are really helpful, i really appreciate it.

So what i gather from this is if i get the gun i really want (G&G Ak74 Spets) which is advertised at 360 fps,

- it is a safe assumption that it fires less than 360 with hop-up actived
- even if it does fire more than 350 with hop up, changing the spring will bring it down

Do these make any sense?

I'm a engineering studtent i my last year of study so i'm going to assume than changing the spring is something i'll be able to do, cause i saw a your tube video about the field striping of this gun and the spring is very accessible.




Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
So...this thread makes a bit more sense now....

The bottom line is: You won't know until you chrony the rifle with 0.20g BBs.

But...

1. Manufactures often report the highest FPS that they read off a test model...and the hopup may or may not be on. (without it on, you'll get the highest number...good for the marketing guys). They may also chrony with lighter than 0.20g BBs...so that 490fps rifle might not really be what's printed on the box so far as the local fields are concerned.

2. Springs/setups...IMHO...settle in a bit most times. Dropping a couple of FPS (unknown how many) is not uncommon. Who knows how long that mechbox has been assembled for and what state (piston forward vs. other) it's in.

3. As a general rule guys chrony their guns with their hopups set to where they're going to use it. And...turning on the hopup a bit does drop the FPS of the BB a bit...sometimes dramatically.

So...again see above...you won't know until it's chronied. Get out to a game field...set the hopup. Then chrony it. If it's hot...at least you'll know by how much (it'll give you a hint as to which spring to buy, etc...).

Aim lower than the maximum...if it's 350 aim for 300-330. If it's 400 aim for 360-390. The last 10fps doesn't matter at all...and not every setup is absolutely predictable. I.e. swapping a M100 from a M120 in my rifle might end up dropping the FPS from 420 to 340...but doing the same in yours might yield very different results. Go back to the chrony to be sure.

Being new, not knowing your way around a mechbox and having to swap out a spring is a pain in the ass. Get someone else to do it for you

Best of luck,

Tys
Mladen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 19:42   #12
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw
 
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON -- The Brotherhood Of Eternal Sleep
When you chrono a gun you should always take the hop-up all the way off. Otherwise your not getting proper results and your gun would be illegal for an event that has a 350 limit. If you want to reduce your fps the only way to do that is change the spring. Become friends with someone who knows their way around a mechbox and can show you first hand the procedure, then once you feel comfortable enough to do it on your own you will be able to do this very easy. Also don't rely on "velocity reducers" as they rarely work and wear down very quickly. Waste of money and you risk injuring players with a hot gun.
__________________
My trust is in whiskey, in weed and in Slayer, its GODDAMN ELECTRIC - Pantera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliskin View Post
This is the equivalent to knocking on deaths door and blowing his head off with a shotgun.
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 20:17   #13
pusangani
Official ASC "Dumb Ass"
 
pusangani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarbrah, Ontario
The g&g beta spetz shoots like 330-340 not 360, I used one at splatter's last week I'll have it there tomorrow as well if you want to check it out.
__________________
pusangani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 20:45   #14
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mladen View Post
I'm a engineering studtent i my last year of study so i'm going to assume than changing the spring is something i'll be able to do, cause i saw a your tube video about the field striping of this gun and the spring is very accessible.
If you're in Mech Eng, IGEN, Civil, or anything really it should be a piece of cake.

This is coming from a CS student (AKA the Elec Eng applicants who didn't make it). I've opened up springers and GBB's before to clean, and lube. It's not a big deal, and I've seen my gundoc work on my gun before and it looks simple enough for anyone with aptitude in mechanical systems.

PS: http://www.mechbox.com is your friend.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 21:21   #15
Mladen
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
lol

i think i'm going to make my life a bit easier by just buying a gun that's rated at 350 fps, like maybe the G&G M4 CQD.

Once i get the handle of airsoft then i'll start playing around with custom work maybe for an outdoor rifle...

thanks for the help guys.
Mladen is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.