Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

G&P dust cover

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 28th, 2009, 23:34   #1
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
G&P dust cover

Hey guys, Im interested in getting a steel dust/bolt cover for my M4 and i came across one by G&P from ehobbyasia. It says that it can't be closed? Does anyone have a G&P dust/bolt cover set that can verify? I would hate to buy it and realize that my dust cover is stuck opened.

Heres the link: http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/gandp-ste...etal-body.html
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 23:39   #2
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
I have a G&P body on my M4 if that counts.

The way it was put together (previous owner) the little spring thing actually keeps it shut so I have to hold it open when tuning my hop up.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 23:39   #3
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
Doesn't close unless you reverse the spring like on a Systema...also only fits G&P receivers.... it is shorter and does not fully cover the ejection port.
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 23:45   #4
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I know that this will not fully cover the ejection port leaving the hop up exposed. But will i be able to install this on a CA gun? Will the dust cover remain opened all the time?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2009, 23:50   #5
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
you aren't getting what I mean...the height of the cover is NOT tall enough so when it is closed...there is a gap between the top of the cover and the opening of the ejection port. So..it does not fit......and yes it remains open all the time unless you reverse the spring in which it will remain closed all of the time. It does not have a charging handle released catch.
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 00:21   #6
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
okay, i get it now.. thanks for all your help guys.. much appreciated once again for your help
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 01:02   #7
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
glad to help...good luck...try an SRC or echo one or something...they are readily available...
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 14:38   #8
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Oh I just thought of some questions actually:

1. Is it possible to make the charging handle functional (ie. open the dust cover) when pulled back on my CA M4? What would I need to get?

2. Ive noticed that many people have bolt covers that are steel color. Where do they get it from? Thanks
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 16:58   #9
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
http://www.airsoftpost.com/product_i...ducts_id=27312
http://www.airsoftpost.com/product_i...ducts_id=27309
This is an example og what you need to make the charging handle open a dust cover to expose the bolt (hop up)
Hope you get the picture
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 17:04   #10
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustysniper View Post
http://www.airsoftpost.com/product_i...ducts_id=27312
http://www.airsoftpost.com/product_i...ducts_id=27309
This is an example og what you need to make the charging handle open a dust cover to expose the bolt (hop up)
Hope you get the picture
What about the bolt plate? Would I need a new one? The stock CA bolt plate doesnt completely cover the ejection port leaving the hop up exposed. Should I get one that fully covers the ejection port?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 17:11   #11
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
ooops...yeah...you will need that too...but I have to ask...in the CA upper receiver is there a track which the bolt cover slides? I have not worked on CA m4s so I can't tell you...
If that part is not on the receiver then you are hooped because there will be nothing to guide the faux bolt when the charging handle is pulled back.
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 17:21   #12
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustysniper View Post
ooops...yeah...you will need that too...but I have to ask...in the CA upper receiver is there a track which the bolt cover slides? I have not worked on CA m4s so I can't tell you...
If that part is not on the receiver then you are hooped because there will be nothing to guide the faux bolt when the charging handle is pulled back.
Hmm, im not sure if there is a track. If I just use a metal bolt plate, will that still work? It shouldnt affect the opening of the dust cover right?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 17:39   #13
StrikeFreedom
 
StrikeFreedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Markham
What can I do to make the dust cover more secure? I don't like how a minor tap can cause it to open. BTW charging handle is functional.
StrikeFreedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 17:40   #14
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
if there is no guide for the fake bolt (sliding ejection port cover) then it will not work as that plate will just flop around insde the upper receiver....
__________________
Semper Primus: Always First
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 18:30   #15
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hey rustysniper, i took some pics for u. Can you tell me if mine has the tracks for the faux bolt? Do u have a link or where I can get one if my receiver is compatible?




Last edited by turok_t; November 29th, 2009 at 21:26..
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.