Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Problem with new AEG.

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:31   #1
rokor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Problem with new AEG.

Last weekend I finally picked myself up a real airsoft gun, and after playing a small number of skirmishes, I started noticing that the time it took the gears to start moving was not in sync with when I was pulling the trigger. I assumed the battery was not connected correctly(fully charged) so I reconnected it and still, no difference. I left the gun untouched for the last 2 days and now when I try to shoot, nothing happens, as if the abttery was dead. I tried a new battery, no difference. I checked if the problem was in the motor, it's not. I assume it is somewhere in between the two, but I'm not sure how I would go about making sure/fixing it.

What should I do?

By the way, this gun is an ICS M4A1.
rokor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:34   #2
Steven
 
Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Langley, B.C
Did you check that the contacts were making, well contact?
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:36   #3
rokor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
As far as I could tell, all the wires were hooked up correctly.
rokor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:39   #4
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
You sure you're using fully charged batteries?
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:40   #5
Steven
 
Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Langley, B.C
Did you notice the Rate of fire slow down, up to the point of you stopping its use? If you did, it's your battery
Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:45   #6
Mitchell12
vision impaired
 
Mitchell12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St.John's, NL
Perhaps your charger is a piece of crap? Hence why the new battery isn't working. Or you held the trigger for a long time when the batt was just about dead and cooked something inside the gun.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAngrySniper View Post
Simultaneous climax makes me warm and fuzzy all over
Mitchell12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:46   #7
rokor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Batteries are definetly fully charged. To make sure I tried the stock abttery with another airsoft gun, works fine. And the ROF was no different the last few minutes I used it than the first, except that there was a delay after I pull the trigger.
rokor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 23:46   #8
pawscal
Guest
did you check the fuse?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 01:53   #9
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw
 
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON -- The Brotherhood Of Eternal Sleep
If you fill in your profile better (such as location and such) we can help direct you to your closest gun doc.
__________________
My trust is in whiskey, in weed and in Slayer, its GODDAMN ELECTRIC - Pantera

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pliskin View Post
This is the equivalent to knocking on deaths door and blowing his head off with a shotgun.
Rock 'N' Roll Outlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 02:57   #10
BETA7
 
BETA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saskatoon SK
Send a message via MSN to BETA7 Send a message via Skype™ to BETA7
i know this is going to sound stupid but is the signal from ur trigger going to where it should? as in did something get skrewed up in there. If you can also use a cheap tool from canadian tire and test the wires to make sure its going from one end to the other correctly.
BETA7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 03:22   #11
Dart
 
Dart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grande Prairie Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by BETA7 View Post
i know this is going to sound stupid but is the signal from ur trigger going to where it should? as in did something get skrewed up in there. If you can also use a cheap tool from canadian tire and test the wires to make sure its going from one end to the other correctly.

I dunno if I would recommend that to someone that just bought there first gun, taking out the mechbox and checking for continuity for a newbie may not be the best idea......
Dart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:11   #12
rokor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
I have taken the mechbox apart before to familiarize myself with the mechanics of the gun, but I am certain everything was put back together correctly.

I do not have a lot of knowledge with electronics though, how would I test the fuse?

And I am from Mississauga, Ontario. How much would it cost to be fixed professionally?
rokor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 13:23   #13
CowboyUp
 
CowboyUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NW of Calgary
I'd say, find a gun doc. I'm very electrically and mechanically inclined, and my first AEG is at the doc right now, even though I swear I could have fixed it. I just want to make sure it's done RIGHT the first time. Plus, at least then, if it's not, you have someone to blame
CowboyUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 08:58   #14
rokor
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Thanks for all the help so far, but I would like to do all I can to fix it myself. If all else fails, I will take it to a gun Doc.

Yesterday I got a new fuse, still not working. I assume that brings it down to either a connection in the gearbox, or the wiring itself.
rokor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 18:01   #15
notec
 
notec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saint John NB
Check the contacts on your trigger switch.....it almost sounds like they were making spuratic contact from your description. Also check to make sure the wire insulation wasnt in contact with any moving parts.......if it was you might have a faulty wire.

The best thing about a broken gun, you will learn fairly quickly how to troubleshoot it next time.
notec is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 15:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.