Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Aimpoint ml2

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:03   #16
Erennert
A minor, using dad's ID
 
Erennert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You dont need any iron sight to zero your scope. You just shoot at a target, at say 70ft. Then adjust your red dot until you hit it when aiming.

The reason i said just aim below, is if your too picky to get a new mount, your stuck with that. Make it work for you.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozen Tex View Post
Is there a Cansoft Banhammer with a clear plastic shaft? And will it be compatible with full metal/wood Banhammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquamarine View Post
I'm a sniper.

Because I'm fat and can't run fast.
Erennert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:08   #17
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erennert View Post
You dont need any iron sight to zero your scope. You just shoot at a target, at say 70ft. Then adjust your red dot until you hit it when aiming.

The reason i said just aim below, is if your too picky to get a new mount, your stuck with that. Make it work for you.
You dont need any iron sights to sight your scope, but u need to align the reticle of your scope to the sights.

I can just purely use my red dot all the time. Fire my gun, and adjust the dot accordingly without using my sights at all. Yes i know this. But what i want to do is to be able to switch between my sights and my red dot whenever i want without zeroing my gun in between.
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:08   #18
Skladfin
 
Skladfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
Well obviously you zero your gun at farther distances and not FIVE meters. Come on, its an insult you would even say that to me. And there is no point is zeroing my aimpoint on the field if i cant even see the damn front sight!
don't you realize that your mount is too high?

Buddy, if your rear sight is physically too low to see the sight picture of the red dot fully, then you can't co-witness the front sight.

It's like putting a wall between the rear sight and the front sight.

Last edited by Skladfin; September 27th, 2009 at 02:11..
Skladfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:17   #19
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skladfin View Post
don't you realize that your mount is too high?

Buddy, if your rear sight is physically too low to see the sight picture of the red dot fully, then you can't co-witness the front sight.

It's like putting a wall between the rear sight and the front sight.
Yes, of course i know that. But I find it hard to believe that Larue Tactical cantilever and "L" mounts from both brands Bomber and Element are all the same height and all too high to mount an aimpoint on an M4 (i own both brands and i tried them all). So are you saying that all of these mounts, from both brands, are too high and cant be used for an aimpoint? why would both brands make the mounts so high and unuseable then? Does this make sense to you?

Last edited by turok_t; September 27th, 2009 at 02:19..
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:19   #20
Erennert
A minor, using dad's ID
 
Erennert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I may be just your Iron sights.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozen Tex View Post
Is there a Cansoft Banhammer with a clear plastic shaft? And will it be compatible with full metal/wood Banhammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquamarine View Post
I'm a sniper.

Because I'm fat and can't run fast.
Erennert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:21   #21
Skladfin
 
Skladfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
Yes, of course i know that. But I find it hard to believe that Larue Tactical cantilever and "L" mounts from both brands Bomber and Element are all the same height and all too high to mount an aimpoint on an M4 (i own both brands and i tried them all). So are you saying that all of these mounts, from both brands, are too high and cant be used for an aimpoint? why would both brands make the mounts so high?
Yes, all of those mounts are too high. They are not designed to be co-witnessed with the kind of iron sights you have.

The cantilever design pushes your Aimpoint out over the D-ring. Leaving more room behind to mount your NV stuff or even the 3X Magnifier. The base has a built-in watertight storage compartment for an extra battery. That's why it's so high.

If you want to co-witness properly, then get an regular L-Mount.
Skladfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2009, 02:34   #22
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I'll be damned...

Okay, so which irons sights are meant to cowitness with the Larue mounts?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2009, 20:09   #23
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hey, so ive seen alot of pics of the MK18 MOD 0 and many have an aimpoint on a straight mount with a BUIS. Do ppl actually aim their gun by looking through the BUIS and red dot or is the BUIS only used incase the aimpoint runs out of battery as you guys mentioned? Thanks
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2009, 21:11   #24
tunabreath
 
tunabreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
You know BUIS stands for back-up iron sights, right?

Yeah, the co-witness method is just a convenient way to zero your sights. They should naturally be co-witnessed anyways after both are zeroed correctly, but it is possible to zero and use the red dot sight with no form of irons on whatsoever.

I'd say the vast majority of people that have BUIS on their rifle have them for looks only, and don't bother with them at all unless there's a critical failure of their electronic optics.
__________________
Vita, Passione e Pistole
tunabreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2009, 21:35   #25
Frozen Tex
 
Frozen Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Yellowknife, NT, Great White North
I use my Aimpoint only, and even replaced the front sight post with a flip-up to get a clear field of vision through the red dot; the flip up is always down, never used.
__________________

Delenda Est Carthago
Frozen Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2009, 00:27   #26
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
So in all the MK18 MOD 0 pics i see, no one really uses the BUIS right since everyone uses their aimpoint? Its just there for looks?
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2009, 01:23   #27
Shirley
A-56 aka Mr.Hitman
 
Shirley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
So in all the MK18 MOD 0 pics i see, no one really uses the BUIS right since everyone uses their aimpoint? Its just there for looks?
It's on personal preference.
BUIS is there when your optics fail.

You either focus your eyes or you don't.
BUIS also help on really sunny weathers, and when it gets too bright, your optics are not bright enough to show.

You get for what you paid for.
If you wanted high quality optics, buy a real one, or try even getting one into Canada.

If you want your sights and optics zero-d, go to a field.
Go to TTAC this week on Friday.
The range is open to shoot, and free, bring beers and food for the fun of it.
__________________

CANADIAN AIRSOFT PRACTICAL SHOOTING (CAPS)
CAPS DIRECTOR # 0047

Last edited by Shirley; September 29th, 2009 at 01:25..
Shirley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2009, 04:19   #28
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Hitman View Post
It's on personal preference.
BUIS is there when your optics fail.

You either focus your eyes or you don't.
BUIS also help on really sunny weathers, and when it gets too bright, your optics are not bright enough to show.

You get for what you paid for.
If you wanted high quality optics, buy a real one, or try even getting one into Canada.

If you want your sights and optics zero-d, go to a field.
Go to TTAC this week on Friday.
The range is open to shoot, and free, bring beers and food for the fun of it.
Will you be there? It will be my greatest honor to finally meet the HITMAN aka Shirley
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2009, 06:05   #29
Bonjour43ma
 
Bonjour43ma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver
yip it's your mount - it's just too high to allow your BUIS to be within the scope diameter.

I had to buy a higher mount for my SCAR to be able to co-witness the RDS and the BUIS...

Bonjour43ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2009, 11:35   #30
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
Will you be there? It will be my greatest honor to finally meet the HITMAN aka Shirley
Dude....you're going to be sooooo disappointed.... (kidding )
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.