Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

How to use lipo charger?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2009, 23:58   #1
Ayashifx55
 
Ayashifx55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec, Montreal
How to use lipo charger?

Hi guys,

i ordered one of these chargers : http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...EOIBSA:CA:1123

And read the B6 works fine for airsoft use for the price. I'm pretty for few of you owns one of these...how do you charge a lipo? Do you simply put it into the 2cell balance socket, then choose balance charge mode for lipo?? and the two outputs (red & black) are for the others right?

I had a blue B6 but it broke after one charge(mis-handled charging). Though, these chargers are really good and fast for the price.

Thank you very much for your time. And no , china chargers does not suck !!!
Ayashifx55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 00:14   #2
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
well, it should come with Manual so read the Manual then you should know how to charge it. I read mine at least 10 time before I started to charge my battery. My charger is different but basically the same, just those B6 or B5 is clone of mine.

KND
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 08:17   #3
xelamander
 
xelamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
first set the right charging current (amps) preferably not exceeding 1s ( if you have 3s 1800mah 15c best to set charge rate to around 0.7 amps ) then hook up your balancing lead to the appropriate balance socket ( 3 cell socket for 3s lipos ), next hook up your lipo charging lead to the charger.

set to lipo balance charge and wait for it to finish charging. DO NOT leave lipos unattended while charging them NO MATTER WHAT.

hope that helps. also b6 chargers have lipo storage function so you can store your lipo at the ideal 80% charge capacity.
__________________
just because i don't... doesn't mean i can't.

xelamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 10:44   #4
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
I got the b6 xcharger from Airsoftparts.ca...and from the perspective of a "battery-noob", it was less than precise (i.e. you need to know a bit about batteries first). Some plain examples would have gone a long, long way in explaining it.

For the B6 charger (mine is black...don't know if that makes a difference), to charge a LiPo:
- set charger to LiPo mode
- ensure setting is correct for the number of cells (i.e. a 7.4v LiPo has 2 cells, 2S,...and a 11.1v LiPo has 3 cells, 3S)
- ensure your charging amperage is appropriate...you should never charge at more than the 1C rating of the pack.
** take the pack mAh rating and divide by 1000. This is the 1C rating. So a 11.1v 1200mAh LiPo has a 1C rating of (1200/1000)=1.2A
** you can charge at a Amp rating lower than the packs 1C rating...but it'll take longer. In the example above...if that pack took 1 hour to charge at 1.2A...it would have taken 2 hours to charge at 0.6A.
- INSPECT your pack...make sure it's not torn, bloated, damaged, etc...
- plug in the balancing tap of the battery to the side of the charger...it'll only fit one of them one way
- plug the battery connection to the charger plugs (if yours didn't come with the adapter that you need, you'll need to find/make one).
- confirm your cell (2s/3s) and charging Amp (A) settings...then press and hold the far right button to start the cycle.
- the charger will check that it detects the right number of cells (i.e. one isn't dead) and you need to push the button again to confirm that it's correct.

The charger will then start to charge. You should be charging it on something non-flammable in a non-enclosed space (i.e. the floor of the garage is good)...just in case. Check in on it every 5 min.

I forget what button to press (it's one of the +/- ones I think) while it's charging to see what the individual cell charge is. They should be close to each other and they shouldn't exceed 4.2v per cell (although it'll read 4.2v for a while before the charging is finish).

Sounds a lot more complicated than it actually is...but read over that carefully and you should be ok.

Best of luck,

Tys
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:19   #5
Ayashifx55
 
Ayashifx55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec, Montreal
Hi, thanks for the reply guys. I searched on the newbie forum about "How to use Lipo charger" first but nothing came so i'm asking this....

The B6 has also 2 cables hanging (red and black) which are not remove-able , they are beside the temperature sensor, what are they used for?

So basically ,a lipo requires two connections to be charged in balance mode - The balance socket (depending on the # of Cell) and the Output with the right type of connector (which you can remove or exchange cables, i did my own male to male so i could charge a large battery)

After the connections are made , select appropriate settings and program for the balance LiPo.
My lipo is an 7.4V 5000mAh 15C 2Cell , so i would have to select - 5AMPS , Cell = 2 , 7.4V(?)

Last edited by Ayashifx55; September 18th, 2009 at 17:22..
Ayashifx55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:31   #6
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
You won't be able to charge at 5 amps through a regular wall socket.
I could be wrong if the power supply in your charger is somehow different though.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:34   #7
Ayashifx55
 
Ayashifx55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec, Montreal
My powersupply / power adapter is 11.0V~18.0V/5A

Max charge is 5A ... but i can go lower to not stress anything.
Ayashifx55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:34   #8
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayashifx55 View Post
Hi, thanks for the reply guys. I searched on the newbie forum about "How to use Lipo charger" first but nothing came so i'm asking this....
The B6 has also 2 cables hanging (red and black) which are not remove-able , they are beside the temperature sensor, what are they used for?

So basically ,a lipo requires two connections to be charged in balance mode - The balance socket (depending on the # of Cell) and the Output with the right type of connector (which you can remove or exchange cables, i did my own male to male so i could charge a large battery)

After the connections are made , select appropriate settings and program for the balance LiPo.
My lipo is an 7.4V 5000mAh 15C 2Cell , so i would have to select - 5AMPS , Cell = 2 , 7.4V(?)
Don't know about what specific charger you're refering to...for my B6 Xcharger (and all the google pictures I can find) all the plugs come out. The power plug goes in one side (and it's close to the USB temp sensor socket)...on the other side it has the plugs for the red/black charging wires and LiPo balancing plugs.

Yes...you've got the settings right. Also...read/check the mAh cutoff setting under user input (I think). That setting determines the max amount of energy it'll put into a pack...and I think that it applies to all packs/types. So if for example you set it to 1400mAh for a little pack and then tried to charge up your 5000mAh pack...it might max out at 1400mAh and stop charging. I'm kind of guessing at that, I just change the setting before I charge batteries.

You're batt is going to be able to put out A LOT of Amps...good luck!

Tys
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:39   #9
Ayashifx55
 
Ayashifx55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec, Montreal
I was refering to this B6 http://www.rcsmart.com/ebay/imaxb6charger03.jpg
This was my first B6 charger. It had those two cables shown in the picture ( mine was actually alligator clips) , and then two more socket (black & red) for output. I don't think they are sensors because theres a sensor socket right beside the cables..... I'm just wondering what is it? Anyways, i'm getting the black one as shown in my first post. It's kind of different than this one. Hope everything will work well Thanks for the help guys !!
Ayashifx55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 17:43   #10
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayashifx55 View Post
My powersupply / power adapter is 11.0V~18.0V/5A

Max charge is 5A ... but i can go lower to not stress anything.
Well then, nevermind!
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 22:49   #11
xelamander
 
xelamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayashifx55 View Post
I was refering to this B6 http://www.rcsmart.com/ebay/imaxb6charger03.jpg
This was my first B6 charger. It had those two cables shown in the picture ( mine was actually alligator clips) , and then two more socket (black & red) for output. I don't think they are sensors because theres a sensor socket right beside the cables..... I'm just wondering what is it? Anyways, i'm getting the black one as shown in my first post. It's kind of different than this one. Hope everything will work well Thanks for the help guys !!
those are charger inputs so you can hook it up to car batteries, hence the alligator clips.
__________________
just because i don't... doesn't mean i can't.

xelamander is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.