Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Trade it away, or upgrade all the way?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2009, 19:23   #16
yuhaoyang
asexual lumbricus terrestris
 
yuhaoyang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton west
Send a message via MSN to yuhaoyang
speaking in terms of airsoft; yeah that's pretty much it...
Anyways, what you can do is buy a flash hider+clip on silencer set, and get seperate hop-up kit and inner barrel.
yuhaoyang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 19:39   #17
highny
 
highny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
OOoo!!! Must be my lucky day!!!

What do you guys think of this?

http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=88642

Like you guys said, m4 and m16 in airsoft is like the same so I'm guessing this would work for my ICS M4?

The only concern I have is the piston body... Can I use the one I have or do I need to order another one?


Also, which hop up do you guys recommend with the 6.04 systema inner barrel?

http://www.airsoftparts.ca/store2/in...roducts_id=304

or

http://www.airsoftparts.ca/store2/in...roducts_id=514

Thanks again for help.

Last edited by highny; September 7th, 2009 at 19:47..
highny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 20:23   #18
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
A Madbull 6.03 inner barrel and a Prometheus NEO Hop Up unit is what I'd go with.

Since you have an ICS why not buy two seperate uppers and the gear for them and change them up whenever you need?

Sure it may cost you more but you already have a setup that's pretty good right now as it is so building a separate upper for your ICS to swap out would make sense (changing from M4 to M16 length depending on game).
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 21:01   #19
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
A Madbull 6.03 inner barrel and a Prometheus NEO Hop Up unit is what I'd go with.

Since you have an ICS why not buy two seperate uppers and the gear for them and change them up whenever you need?
x2

agree fully on the second upper and front end.

this much easier solution since you have the ICS. when you want to play outdoors, swap in a 375fps spring and full cylinder combo and 500mm+ tight bore inner with a suitable outer and handguard. when your team wants you to play indoors, swap it back to you stock M4 setup.

just because your team plays all indoors, doesn't mean you can't show up at one of the posted outdoor games with out them.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 21:36   #20
highny
 
highny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
A Madbull 6.03 inner barrel and a Prometheus NEO Hop Up unit is what I'd go with.

Since you have an ICS why not buy two seperate uppers and the gear for them and change them up whenever you need?
Thats not a bad idea.

I'm looking at a:
http://www.mach1airsoft.com/web/cata...w_custom&id=74

I'm not sure if it's good or not, any idea?...

I'm planning to get some bushings too to support the spring's fps...

Any ideas?

Last edited by highny; September 7th, 2009 at 21:50..
highny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 21:49   #21
Skladfin
 
Skladfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by highny View Post
You see, the thing is, I can't find another gearbox shell!... Everywhere I looked, none...

So if you know where I could find one, let me know!.
here yo go

http://www.mach1airsoft.com/web/cata...om&id=74&cat=4
Skladfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 21:52   #22
swatt13
Captain Awesome
 
swatt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greater Grande Prairie (greater than vancouver)
your golden with an armalight. granted the indoor fps is lower than youd like with a sniper weapon, but you hav ethe ability to swap out upper recievers (your m4 or sr16 upper) or if your super cheap, inner barrel/ hopups and throw a silencer on the end. these are easy 5 min changes that grant you a varying degree of options. now if you wanted easy power mods, you should look at a star armalight as they have the quick change spring. ics ics is anther choice, but you need a specific upper reciever i believe as well as upper mechbox.
__________________
Age verifier southern Alberta

Quote:
Originally Posted by TokyoSeven
a Systema PTW is like KD, where the noodles are plated in gold and the cheese sauce is actually a pool of hot naked women.
swatt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 22:20   #23
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
I'm still trying to figure out WHY he needs to upgrade his ICS M4, in another thread he was told to leave it as it is and just get a better hop up rubber and a tightbore, yet highny is feeling likehe'll be outgunned on the field unless he goes for fullbore top notch upgrades that really won't improve his playing ability. Old saying around here, Poncho I think, "Upgrade the player, not the gun" still stands out immensely. First I'd do if I got a new gun, whatever type, is use heavier ammo which is a proven way to increase range and accuracy. Second, metal bushings, a decent spring (such as a Modify t90 or 100),a better hop up rubber, maybe a tightbore and bearing spring guide................... massive improvements there, I wouldn't go much past that because it's largely more of headache to deal with. Over all my years of fixing, troubleshooting and pgrading guns, the most reliable and accurate have been those with very minor upgrades. The largest pain in the ass guns and most unreliable have been with huge upgrades, such as full tune up kits by the top manufacturers, and tose clients that decided to buy a bunch of parts from different brandnames because it looked cool, only to give a gun tech 3 to 20 hours worth of work to get shooting right. KISS VERY much applies to airsoft upgrades, upgrade what is needed and replace the parts that are known to be faulty stock (such as the G&P tappet plate, usually goes within the first 1000rds).

Keep this in mind, it's the BBs that hit the players that makes them call hit. Start with quality ammo that will be stable in flight for longer ranges, and penetrate brush easily. Minimum is 0.25g BBs. You will get the best performance out of 0.28g BBs (recommend Bastards) Unless ICS has changed their stock fps, used to be 330fps with 0.20g BBs........... there really isn't a lot you need to do to upgrade the performance. Remember the guy that replied to your hread that said the more you try to upgrade your ICS M4, the more problems you'll have with it. You ask, we reply, up to you to sort out the best course of action from the responses. There are a lot of people on here with little experience that will tell you one thing, there are a lot of others with a lot of experience that will tell you the truth. Up to you to decide what you want to buy.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 22:48   #24
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDN_Stalker View Post
I'm still trying to figure out WHY he needs to upgrade his ICS M4,
I only assumed that since he plays only indoor, he might be a little out ranged outside. although I suggest to upgrade a few things, I do agree that a bone stock ICS is more than adequate for playing outdoors. I mean if I can keep up with a 250fps on .25's TM AK and 229mm tightbore then there's no real need to upgrade just yet.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 00:53   #25
highny
 
highny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Well, here's the thing.

My gun shoot 177FPS(checked last night) with .25 bbs. Indoor limit is 320FPS.

When I bought the gun, it says it'll shot 360FPS with .2 bbs. Outdoor limit is 420FPS.

I'm not the type that could sneak around as easily as some of you, so I rely on range, which I love.

I'm fine shooting 177fps indoor, but shooting outdoor with .2 bbs +wind, I never manage to shoot anything I want! So solution is, heavier bbs = less wind will effect the flight path. With heavier bb and my stock m4 = less distance which means out ranged by most player with some upgrades.

It's a pain to see someone about 25mm away from me and not being able to hit with my bbs. I think my gun shoots .25 about 15-20 meter and it drops. Even with hop up adjust as much as I can. It shots way further with .2, but wind will affect it more.

So tell me what I should do then, without buying a new gun for outdoor and having the ability to play both in/outdoor. This is just how I feel about my gun...

Last edited by highny; September 8th, 2009 at 00:58..
highny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 00:55   #26
Skladfin
 
Skladfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C
sounds like you have an airseal problem
Skladfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 00:59   #27
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skladfin View Post
sounds like you have an airseal problem
That, or he left his spring compressed for a while
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 01:08   #28
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
Quote:
Originally Posted by theguy View Post
That, or he left his spring compressed for a while
... you'd have to leave a stock spring compressed for like.. a year to get that bad of airseal.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 01:13   #29
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amos View Post
... you'd have to leave a stock spring compressed for like.. a year to get that bad of airseal.
Ahh, sorry, my bad, i though it happened faster then that.
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 01:22   #30
Conker
 
Conker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada / Ireland
Well, for an unknown reason my own JG HK416 spring kinda lost all its power between november and june. It was shooting ~400, and ended up at ~180fps....
Conker is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.