Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

What does/is a bore up kit do??

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2009, 00:44   #1
ginnz
 
ginnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Small Town! Manitoba
What does/is a bore up kit do??

ok, now here's a noob question... i see bore up piston/cylinder kits for sale... ie: im looking at a Systema Mp5 bore up kit, it has the cylinder,piston, piston head,cylinder head, nozzel, and cylinder.

so what is the difference between a bore up kit, and regular parts?

thanks for any help!

ginnz.
ginnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 00:51   #2
AngelusNex
formerly Sepulcrum
 
AngelusNex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kingston,ON, aka Funkasia
Send a message via MSN to AngelusNex
increases air volume inside of cylinder, I'm fairly certain it provides a slight fps increase.
AngelusNex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 00:52   #3
Mitchell12
vision impaired
 
Mitchell12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St.John's, NL
It's only really nessecary if you've got some absurdly long barrel.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAngrySniper View Post
Simultaneous climax makes me warm and fuzzy all over
Mitchell12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 01:23   #4
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
I read about it once somewhere, had to google for like 5-10 mins for the answer though but from what I remember it's to counteract/reduce "barrel suck" (although I think ported cylinders or something also do the same thing). From what I remember you only really need it for barrels longer than 580mm or something.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 02:02   #5
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
What's with all the hearsay? "I think it does this", "I think I read about somewhere"

It's if you have a retarded long barrel (600mm+) you need a boreup kit to push enough air to fill up that long barrel and be efficient.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 02:11   #6
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
I never understood the point of ported bore-up kits..
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 02:23   #7
ginnz
 
ginnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Small Town! Manitoba
thanks guys.... thats kinda what i thought. although its seems like its not so cut and dried, or definitive, right off the bat. youd almost think there would be a certain gain in power, as the physical size is increased, its gotta push more air, certainly being more powerful?

is anyone here running one in, say an M4, or mp5? if so, what are your findings?

just curious.

ginnz.
ginnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 03:24   #8
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amos View Post
I never understood the point of ported bore-up kits..
Those exist?

That's completely retarded.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 03:26   #9
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginnz View Post
youd almost think there would be a certain gain in power, as the physical size is increased, its gotta push more air, certainly being more powerful?
No, it's for filling longer barrels with enough air. Power has nothing to do with it. You'll actually lose FPS if you put a boreup kit in a short barreled gun, because the BB will leave the barrel before the piston has finished it's cycle, and it won't have all the power behind it that it would have had normally.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 03:32   #10
Thenooblord
Can't fix my own guns. Willing to fix yours.
 
Thenooblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sherwood Forest
Send a message via MSN to Thenooblord
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Those exist?

That's completely retarded.
yea, i bought an M16 with a ported bore up kit, and i was like wtf? i dont get it either...but hey it didnt NOT work...
__________________

Words to live by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid View Post
The apartment I am in right now costs $100 a month.
My average spending on food per day is less than $4.
My airsoft spending in the last month and a half has totaled over $1400.
They're called priorities. Get yourself some.
Thenooblord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 04:47   #11
ginnz
 
ginnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Small Town! Manitoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
No, it's for filling longer barrels with enough air. Power has nothing to do with it. You'll actually lose FPS if you put a boreup kit in a short barreled gun, because the BB will leave the barrel before the piston has finished it's cycle, and it won't have all the power behind it that it would have had normally.
ahh, yeas. makes 100% sense.... thanks for the info!
ginnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 04:51   #12
Bissa
 
Bissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Send a message via MSN to Bissa
wouldent having a bore up kit mean that the walls of the cylender are thinner and as such more fragile?
Bissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 04:52   #13
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Cylinders aren't fragile.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 11:33   #14
Skruface
 
Skruface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Bore-up kits are generally designed to be used with M130 or higher springs. So unless you are building a >400 fps semi-only DMR kit with a PSG1 inner barrel (or alternately, a 50 rps bb hose with a short-stroked piston, m190 and Cyclone Dual Sector gear) you'll never need one.

Ever.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TokyoSeven View Post
That was a very bad move on your behalf. Sort of like cutting off your foot for money, but not getting the money first and then letting the person with the money run away.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMorbius View Post
Liberals rely on emotion. Conservatives rely on evidence, and the Socialists rely on everyone else.
Skruface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2009, 17:43   #15
moaner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
can you put a psg1 barrel in an AK?
moaner is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.