Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Mechbox?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:37   #1
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Mechbox?

Im thinking about getting this Mechbox,http://www.wgcshop.com/pcart/shopper...3_cat_Gearboxs

Im low on cash, so this is what I want, so I got some questions:

Has anyone tried Cyma Mechboxes?
How long do they last?
What's is the average FPS?
How long does WGC take to restock items?
Will it work with an SD6?
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:47   #2
HaloSix4
aka Halo64
 
HaloSix4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Send a message via ICQ to HaloSix4 Send a message via MSN to HaloSix4
I have had many CYMA guns, only good ones were the AK's, so that means they are shit

They don't last long, but you may get lucky and get a good one

FPS is about 330 to 370 some were in between there

It can be along time before WGC restocks

And it should work in a SD6

And Just a heads up, from what I have heard and seen lately Mechboxes have been getting seized, so if you can buy one in Canada.
__________________
Code:
Medgear Development Inc™ :: Custom design and manufacturing
For your Custom Gear
Saving Time By Design 
Medgear@powergate.ca
HaloSix4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:48   #3
ujiro
 
ujiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, ON
Send a message via MSN to ujiro
You get what you pay for. That will not be good, most likely, and it will most likely not last.
__________________
I love freedom and consequently America
ujiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:55   #4
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Hmm..I just want to get a Mechbox into my SD6, know any sites where there better ones preferably under $50?
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:55   #5
ujiro
 
ujiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, ON
Send a message via MSN to ujiro
No. As I stated, you get what you pay for. If that is your strict strict budget, then sure go for it. You can replace parts later as they fail. Or, you can make due with what you have right now, and save up for something quality. You won't regret it.
__________________
I love freedom and consequently America
ujiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 22:58   #6
lemegacool
 
lemegacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: notre dame des prairies /quebec
if you get a cyma/dboy one , just be sure to reshim it PROPERLY, clean the grease and regrease with good grease and you'll have a nice mechbox for the price. maybe metal bushings if you have the monney but it's not absolutely required...
__________________

member of fire team NOM. my other regular forum: www.toyotanation.com / gen3,gen4 camry
lemegacool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:05   #7
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Okay, thanks I got one more question, I may need a new lower receiver because since i'm not familiar with the MP5 series (it's a cheap clone btw but TM compatible) I think the lower receiver is missing a few things:

If i'm correct there should be something on the motor plate (plastic piece in the right) and there should be something in the lower receiver but im not sure.
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:16   #8
Darklen
Administrator
 
Darklen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Red Deer, AB
Send a message via MSN to Darklen
The motor plater should have an adjustment screw for proper motor tension. You'd have to get a replacement for that as well or your new gearbox will chew the crap out to the bevel gear and the pinion gear.
__________________
ASC & RAAT Age Verifier for Red Deer & Area Alberta
Darklen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:18   #9
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
What do you mean "there should be something" ?
Be more specific.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:18   #10
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Hmm, so the only thing i need to get is a new motorplate? cause I just finished watching the MP5j video on the Mechbox website, and it shows there are two screws you need to screw on inside the receiver.
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:22   #11
lemegacool
 
lemegacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: notre dame des prairies /quebec
omg , you have a REALLY cheap well mp5... the mechbox you had must be this one... http://www.import-action.com/ab-5847t-gb.html

if you wish to install a "normal" v.2 in it you will need a new lower for sure but i cant guarantee that it will fit it properly...
__________________

member of fire team NOM. my other regular forum: www.toyotanation.com / gen3,gen4 camry
lemegacool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:26   #12
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Yeah I do have a cheap MP5, and no, the Mechbox was even shittier, Wal-Mart ones.
What Canadian sites sell lowers?
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:32   #13
lemegacool
 
lemegacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: notre dame des prairies /quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaisinBran View Post
Yeah I do have a cheap MP5, and no, the Mechbox was even shittier, Wal-Mart ones.
What Canadian sites sell lowers?
never saw any... other than in the asc's classifieds
__________________

member of fire team NOM. my other regular forum: www.toyotanation.com / gen3,gen4 camry
lemegacool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:35   #14
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
Damn, so my MP5 is just going to be collecting dust I guess...

Too bad they don't cell G&G clear lower receivers for spares.

Last edited by RaisinBran; July 27th, 2009 at 23:41..
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 23:57   #15
Amos
 
Amos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tokushima, Japan
Send a message via MSN to Amos
That gun isn't even worth trying to upgrade... You'd end up putting 4X it's value in it in parts, aswell as replacing everything.
__________________
Custom Builds:
FA3674U
Krinkov
G3SD6
Amos is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.