Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

What version of gearbox

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2009, 09:40   #1
BrokenBird
pɹıq spɹɐʍʞɔɐq
 
BrokenBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Repentigny
What version of gearbox

I hear talk about gear box v2, v3, etc... Now how can I find out what gear box version my m4 has?

The model is ICS-23 C-15

Thanks
__________________
*



http://ca.linkedin.com/in/yannickdesjardins/ N'hésitez pas à m'ajouter, laissez moi juste savoir qui vous êtes sur ASC...
BrokenBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 09:42   #2
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
I'm 99.99% sure it's a standard ICS M4 mechbox.

The last 0.01% is that I've never handled that specific model.

The ICS M4 mechbox is a "split mechbox" design. The lower part (gears, motor, switch, trigger) are held in the lower receiver...the upper part has the cylinder & related parts, spring, etc.

Put the two together and you end up with a standard "Version 2" mechbox. The split design allows you to take just the upper mechbox out (takes about 15 sec) and drop in a different one (typically at a different power level....or to replace a stripped piston quickly at a game). With a "traditional" version 2...you've got to take the whole rifle apart, take the mechbox apart, swap the parts and reassemble the whole thing just to test (takes a lot of time in comparison).

Aside from one or two specific ICS parts...the mechbox can use standard V2 parts. Several version 3 parts are compatible with version 2. (Lots more info elsewhere on that...search around on here and other forums)

Last edited by m102404; July 17th, 2009 at 09:47..
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 09:49   #3
Blackthorne
A Total Bastard
 
Blackthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Consecon, Ontario
Send a message via Skype™ to Blackthorne
Hard to tell without taking it apart.

One indicator is that there isn't a motor depth adjustment screw on V3 mechboxes.
__________________
VINCITE OMNIMODO
Blackthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 09:58   #4
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Sure there is dude...perhaps you meant that it's not plainly visible?

On the AK it's under the screw that holds the grip on...there should be a tiny 1.5mm (might be 2mm?) allen key buried deep in there. Take out the grip screw and stick an allen key in to adjust. Same on the G36.

On the MP5K/FAL/(others where there's no motor cage), there's a set screw similar to the M4 grip
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 10:16   #5
Blackthorne
A Total Bastard
 
Blackthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Consecon, Ontario
Send a message via Skype™ to Blackthorne
Really? Kewl.

See? Even old timers can learn something new in the Newb Tank!
__________________
VINCITE OMNIMODO
Blackthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.