Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

How do I upgrade my ICS M4

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 14th, 2009, 19:53   #16
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
Just to give you idea how it look like, here is my setup on my gun even though, I have another wire to rear and can use the stick lipo battery in my buffer tube but i still like to use the battery in my PEQ II. My gun has 2 wire to rear and front. You can use battery anywhere you want. It's not limit to use except you use both at the same.

KND

__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:00   #17
blackcaddi
 
blackcaddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Quote:
Originally Posted by KND View Post
Just to give you idea how it look like, here is my setup on my gun even though, I have another wire to rear and can use the stick lipo battery in my buffer tube but i still like to use the battery in my PEQ II. My gun has 2 wire to rear and front. You can use battery anywhere you want. It's not limit to use except you use both at the same.

KND

Looks good. I have those nunchuks style battery, would that fit in the box? Or is there any other style of foregrip I can use where I can still install a flashlight maybe below or on the side of the foregrip and at the same time remove the front sight and have a suppressor?
__________________

BLACKCADDI~TEAM SPARROW
blackcaddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:12   #18
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackcaddi View Post
Looks good. I have those nunchuks style battery, would that fit in the box? Or is there any other style of foregrip I can use where I can still install a flashlight maybe below or on the side of the foregrip and at the same time remove the front sight and have a suppressor?
Yes, those battery might fit on but I'm not sure since I never have one. There are a lots of space on the box so maybe fit. Don't quote me on that.

For the flash light, I use on the right side of rail rail and using a pressure pad tape to one of my fore grip.

I'm not sure why you need to remove front sight, you still can have the front sight and suppressor at the same time. No need to remove front sight.

KND
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:15   #19
yoda1015
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: portsmouth, england / burnaby, b.c., canada
the PEQ box can b placed in any side of the RIS foregrip and the front sight replaced w/ a folding one...i think the best foregrip for you is the one suggested by yuhaoyang...it will hide the exposed part of the barrel and a few cms. of the suppressor u want to use...
yoda1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:27   #20
blackcaddi
 
blackcaddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Quote:
Originally Posted by KND View Post
Yes, those battery might fit on but I'm not sure since I never have one. There are a lots of space on the box so maybe fit. Don't quote me on that.

For the flash light, I use on the right side of rail rail and using a pressure pad tape to one of my fore grip.

I'm not sure why you need to remove front sight, you still can have the front sight and suppressor at the same time. No need to remove front sight.

KND

Because I removed the rear sight to install my scope, now the scope sits low and the front sight gets in the way. Maybe the foldable front sight would work best.
__________________

BLACKCADDI~TEAM SPARROW
blackcaddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:28   #21
yoda1015
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: portsmouth, england / burnaby, b.c., canada
by d way...this might be your cheapest solution to d problem...

http://www.airsoftgames.com/king-arm...unt-p-825.html

no need to buy a new foregrip, PEQ box etc...all u need to do is stick this to d carry handle and then ur scope...problem solved...lolz
yoda1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 20:31   #22
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
Actually the easy way is to get a higher scope since there are at least 3 type different of scope ring. Low, Medium and high. You might want to get a high one then and replace your old one. That would do the job.

KND
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 21:06   #23
T-Hell
 
T-Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba
What I did

Remove the Iron Sight in the front
put on a full metal RIS unit
Wired Mech box to the back
Put on Deans
Get rid of old 6 position stock
put on full crane stock
Put on RIS handle (doubles as a place to store extra mag - Will be switching that out for a spring loaded RIS handle with Bipod in it.
Kept M4 Cary handle but put a rail on it
Mounted Scope
awaiting Firefly medium hop up rubber
oh yes had a madbull tight boar barrel put in
Put on a 3Pt sling this bitch is a heavy hump all day long.


now shoots (330 fps with .28) (so probably close to 400 with .2)

that is it - for now
__________________
Tim

Rhino Living


http://www.nordicbattlegroup.ca
T-Hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 21:14   #24
blackcaddi
 
blackcaddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Holy crap I didn't think it would be this complicated. I have a lot of things to think about here.
__________________

BLACKCADDI~TEAM SPARROW
blackcaddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 00:32   #25
lyncher
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
If you get a box and mount it like the posted pic, you're going to have a problem with it interferring with your scope, unless you get the rings, or mount the box somewhere other than on top of the RIS.
lyncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 00:37   #26
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyncher View Post
If you get a box and mount it like the posted pic, you're going to have a problem with it interferring with your scope, unless you get the rings, or mount the box somewhere other than on top of the RIS.
It called a PEQ-2 actually. I already mention that simple way is get PEQ-2 dummy and a high scope mount ring. That would solve the problem easily, moreover; you can either mount PEQ-2 on the side of the rail. It's just personal preference. I like to mount on the top is because it just look cool plus I put my flash light on the right and keep the left empty. I like to keep my gun close to me as possible.

KND
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 02:00   #27
lyncher
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by KND View Post
It called a PEQ-2 actually. I already mention that simple way is get PEQ-2 dummy and a high scope mount ring. That would solve the problem easily, moreover; you can either mount PEQ-2 on the side of the rail. It's just personal preference. I like to mount on the top is because it just look cool plus I put my flash light on the right and keep the left empty. I like to keep my gun close to me as possible.

KND

First off, I know its called a PEQ, I figured it was obvious what I was talking about, but from now on I guess proper teminology is REQUIRED.

Secondly, I was simply reiterating your point about the scope rings.

Lastly, I already mentioned that where the box (PEQ, sorry) is mounted is strictly personal preference.

If I had a PEQ, mine would go ontop as you have yours, because I too like the look...

Last edited by lyncher; June 15th, 2009 at 02:03..
lyncher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 13:58   #28
blackcaddi
 
blackcaddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Quote:
Originally Posted by KND View Post
It called a PEQ-2 actually. I already mention that simple way is get PEQ-2 dummy and a high scope mount ring. That would solve the problem easily, moreover; you can either mount PEQ-2 on the side of the rail. It's just personal preference. I like to mount on the top is because it just look cool plus I put my flash light on the right and keep the left empty. I like to keep my gun close to me as possible.

KND
But what if I dont want to add a mount for the scope because I dont want it to get into a higher position. Then I get I can mount the peq sideways, right. I'm actually going to huang's outdoor store on wednesday to get my m4 done up. Does anyone know anything about them. His store is in scarborough.
__________________

BLACKCADDI~TEAM SPARROW
blackcaddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 14:26   #29
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
I'm sure some of these points have been covered somewhere in the last two pages of posts...so bear with me if I repeat any of them.

As you can well guess...M4's are the "Honda Civic" of the AEG world. There's a mind boggling array of upgrades/options/just-plain-silly-things to swap/attach/etc...to your M4.

Some guys are really particular about replicating a certain authentic look (i.e. they'll look at a photograph of a Navy SEAL and aim to setup their rifle just like that)...others go down the more practical route (i.e. if your mount isn't the specific Wilcox mount, or ARMS #20 base...that's ok, as long as you can shoot straight with it).

If you're starting off with a "stock" appearing M4...one of the most important things to sort out first is the battery. What size, what shape, where are you going to put it. It'll affect a lot of configuration options.

Aside from in the front handguard...the two most popular options are to stick it in a PEQ box (mounted left/right/on-top of the RIS)...or in the stock (Crane, MOD, Clubfoot, etc...)

Taking off the front sight and all that jaz isn't too hard...take your time, use the right tools, go easy. Or take it to someone who'll show you what's what. If you have someone do it for you, it'll take them about two hours to swap them out and ensure everything's working nicely.

There's so many different rails and setups that it's pretty tough to recommend one particular setup. Having said that, I've had great success with free-floating handguards/RAS setups that I've partial to them (i.e. Noveske, Daniel Defence, JP Rifles, VLTOR CASV, etc....). No matter how much torque/stress you put on the handguard, your barrel doesn't get pulled out of line.

I also prefer either a plain gas block (and mount flip up sights on the top rail)...or flip up front sights that are integrated with the gas block (i.e. VLTOR, ARMS, etc...). If you're running exclusively optics (i.e. RDS, magnified, etc..) you can usually skip iron sights. Where I've had both a red dot sight and flip up iron sights....I've only used the flip up sights once, and that was when I forgot to change the batteries (which is the point of having both I suppose....but if you remember to change your batteries, then it's hardly ever an issue).

My last three M4's barely had any rails on the handguard. Aside from a vert grip I didn't bolt anything onto them. Handguards that are "modular" (where bits of rails can be bolted on or off for a clean look) are nice that way. Some examples are CASV, JP Rifles, Gemtech TALON. My latest M4 has a lot of rails on it...but I just haven't decided on the setup...I'll take the unused rails off when I sort that out.

If you end up with a standard Aimpoint...you will need a mount to attach it to the top rail. A high mount gives you a bit more comfort with a more heads up positioning. A low mount can be tough to see through with big paintball goggles (as especially with a paintball mask). A high mount isn't too bad (still awkward though) will a PB mask.

Best of luck...don't be shell shocked by Huangs place! LOL Call ahead to make sure he'll be there.

PS. If you're nice...ask him to setup a handguard with all the bits in place...then you'll see what's blocking (or not) what.

Tys
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 19:41   #30
blackcaddi
 
blackcaddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
I'm sure some of these points have been covered somewhere in the last two pages of posts...so bear with me if I repeat any of them.

As you can well guess...M4's are the "Honda Civic" of the AEG world. There's a mind boggling array of upgrades/options/just-plain-silly-things to swap/attach/etc...to your M4.

Some guys are really particular about replicating a certain authentic look (i.e. they'll look at a photograph of a Navy SEAL and aim to setup their rifle just like that)...others go down the more practical route (i.e. if your mount isn't the specific Wilcox mount, or ARMS #20 base...that's ok, as long as you can shoot straight with it).

If you're starting off with a "stock" appearing M4...one of the most important things to sort out first is the battery. What size, what shape, where are you going to put it. It'll affect a lot of configuration options.

Aside from in the front handguard...the two most popular options are to stick it in a PEQ box (mounted left/right/on-top of the RIS)...or in the stock (Crane, MOD, Clubfoot, etc...)

Taking off the front sight and all that jaz isn't too hard...take your time, use the right tools, go easy. Or take it to someone who'll show you what's what. If you have someone do it for you, it'll take them about two hours to swap them out and ensure everything's working nicely.

There's so many different rails and setups that it's pretty tough to recommend one particular setup. Having said that, I've had great success with free-floating handguards/RAS setups that I've partial to them (i.e. Noveske, Daniel Defence, JP Rifles, VLTOR CASV, etc....). No matter how much torque/stress you put on the handguard, your barrel doesn't get pulled out of line.

I also prefer either a plain gas block (and mount flip up sights on the top rail)...or flip up front sights that are integrated with the gas block (i.e. VLTOR, ARMS, etc...). If you're running exclusively optics (i.e. RDS, magnified, etc..) you can usually skip iron sights. Where I've had both a red dot sight and flip up iron sights....I've only used the flip up sights once, and that was when I forgot to change the batteries (which is the point of having both I suppose....but if you remember to change your batteries, then it's hardly ever an issue).

My last three M4's barely had any rails on the handguard. Aside from a vert grip I didn't bolt anything onto them. Handguards that are "modular" (where bits of rails can be bolted on or off for a clean look) are nice that way. Some examples are CASV, JP Rifles, Gemtech TALON. My latest M4 has a lot of rails on it...but I just haven't decided on the setup...I'll take the unused rails off when I sort that out.

If you end up with a standard Aimpoint...you will need a mount to attach it to the top rail. A high mount gives you a bit more comfort with a more heads up positioning. A low mount can be tough to see through with big paintball goggles (as especially with a paintball mask). A high mount isn't too bad (still awkward though) will a PB mask.

Best of luck...don't be shell shocked by Huangs place! LOL Call ahead to make sure he'll be there.

PS. If you're nice...ask him to setup a handguard with all the bits in place...then you'll see what's blocking (or not) what.

Tys
Thanks for the info I wil definitely see huang next week. Cheers!!!
__________________

BLACKCADDI~TEAM SPARROW
blackcaddi is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.