Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Cobra MicroTALK radio

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24th, 2009, 21:07   #1
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Cobra MicroTALK radio

First of all, if this should be in a more tech related area, i appologize, but i think its a pretty nooby question, so its here to be safe.

I was cleaning out my closet, and i found a pair of radios that i recieved as a gift a few years ago

These radios.

http://www.newworldtelnet.com/2-way-...-Way-radio.htm

I know nothing about airsoft radios, but will they be compatible with most mainstream radios? Also, Does anyone know what kind of headsets they would use? It says its a "UHF" radio, Is that the norm? i hear some people use GMS, are they cross-compatible?

It has 2 plugs on the top, 1 labled "Speaker" and the other labled "mic"

The speaker one is the same size as a headphone jack, and the mic plug is the size of a phone headset.

Would that mean its a 2-pin?

Again, sorry if this are stupidly noobish questions, but i know nothing at all about radios.

Thanks in advance,

-Ben
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb

Last edited by theguy; May 24th, 2009 at 21:15..
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 21:39   #2
guysullavin
 
guysullavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Niagara on the Lake, ON
have you tried plugging a headset into the mic slot to see if it would be 2 way?
guysullavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 21:45   #3
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Moslty im worried about compatiblity with mainstream mics,

I can always rig something up for a headset.
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 22:12   #4
TokyoSeven
Red Wine & Adderall
 
TokyoSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saskatoon, SK
As long as they turn on, Im sure you will have no issues using them.
Im not a huge into the radio knowledge but I know lots of people use bubble radios like that without any problems.
__________________


"Its only a little bit on fire"
TokyoSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 22:17   #5
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Yea, i just tested them with eachother, They work fine.

Now i just need to check that they will be compatible with everyone elses radios
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 22:38   #6
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
They should be compatible with other radios, only you have fewer channels. Most radios have 20 channels, so you'll only get 14 instead.

As for the headset, 2-pin usually means it's a Kenwood-style plug, but I can't say for sure. It could be a proprietary jack for all I know.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:16   #7
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Hmm, you use a 2-pin kenwood right? i read your thread about the linton 6288, and i know that it uses a 2-pin kenwood.

Is one of the pins slightly smaller then the other?

are they about 1cm (from center to center) apart?

Thanks,
-Ben
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:21   #8
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
The big jack is for mic, small for speaker and I measured with a ruler and they're ~ 11 mm from centre to centre. If that's what you have, then it should be a Kenwood plug.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:24   #9
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Hmm, Mine are 11mm apart (measured a little more carefully)

But my big jack is the speaker and my small jack is the mic

Thanks anyways, crunch.

The search contines..
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:25   #10
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
Shitty man. Good luck in your search.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:28   #11
ledor473
 
ledor473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lévis, Québec
Sorry crunchmeister, but with those CB (i have them but a older version) the big plug is for speaker and the smaller one is for mic.
Mine come with those earbud: http://www.cobra.com/images/productI...ndheld%202.gif
They work pretty well Also I have test them with some other canadian tire's radio, they work fine. Also a guy have a more military style radio and I can ear him and talk with him but I don't know what radio he was using

EDIT: GRILLED....
__________________
ledor473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:41   #12
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Hmm, so i just tested it with the crappy head-bud style headset that came with my cell phone. When i plug it into the smaller "mic" socket, the mic on the headset works fine, but i dont hear the bud. Although if i then plug my iPod earbuds into the "speaker" plug, i can hear through that.

Also, When i have the mic that came with my phone pluged into it, its like constantly on, continuasly brodcasting. Is there some way i can buy/build a Push To Talk switch?

Thanks in advance,

-Ben
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 23:57   #13
theguy
 
theguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON.
Hmm, Does anyone know anything about ICOM plugs?

They are apperently 2-pin plugs. I wonder if they might work.

http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/combat-ge...version-1.html
__________________
Quote:
It's better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness

Chinese proverb
theguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 00:50   #14
ledor473
 
ledor473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lévis, Québec
About the icom: Yea I find it out me too one hour ago (for this thread) but I can't find any documentation about which pin is what...

For the push-to-talk switch, you only need a little switch, you cut the positive wire, you plug the switch where you cut (one side of the wire on each pin of the switch) and it's done. But if you get a little switch that you need to press, get one that let the power go through it when you push it
__________________
ledor473 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.