Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Help, Tokyo Marui P90 cant fire

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 23rd, 2009, 13:55   #1
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Smile Help, Tokyo Marui P90 cant fire

I'm new to airsoft and have purchashed a TM P90. I personally like this model alot and every chance I get I'll fire a few rounds., of coure I do the occasional cleaning now then after. I've had it for about 2.5 months now and all of a sudden it cant fire. I mean the electrical portion works so it cant be the fuse, but I checked it anyway and its ok. The barrel is clear with nothing blocking. It just when I pull the trigger the mechanics sounds normal from what I'm used to, but no BB's eject. Can someone help me to solve this? Is this common issue wit TM P90's.
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:02   #2
Muffin
 
Muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manitoba
If your using hicaps then yes, they have a history of jamming. Have you done anything mechanincally to the gearbox?

FYI, this should've been posted in the 'doctors corner'
Muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:13   #3
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Thanks for your reply that was quick. No, I haven't yet pulled it out. Its basically right out of the box and just getting info on upgrading, but that'll be for next time. So I have not Right now I just want it to be ok. What should I do? Doctors corner? Will more help?
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:14   #4
Muffin
 
Muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manitoba
A mod will move your thread if need be, so don't double post. Are you using hicaps?
Muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:24   #5
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
LOL and I was about to copy and paste there. Hicaps? Im not sure what that is? Sorry I'm not good with the airsoft jargon yet. I'm learning though.

Last edited by WANDERER671; May 23rd, 2009 at 14:27..
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:37   #6
Thenooblord
Can't fix my own guns. Willing to fix yours.
 
Thenooblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sherwood Forest
Send a message via MSN to Thenooblord
hicap is the type of magazine where you have to wind it, and p90 hicaps jam alot
__________________

Words to live by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid View Post
The apartment I am in right now costs $100 a month.
My average spending on food per day is less than $4.
My airsoft spending in the last month and a half has totaled over $1400.
They're called priorities. Get yourself some.
Thenooblord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 14:48   #7
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
LoL that was such a noobie response. Yes, I have that and thought that could be a problem, but I tested it (by pressing the the release notch which locks the BB's in) and it shoots out fine. Just in case I used the original magazine and still the same result, no BB's firing through the barrel. If you should know, I tried just putting a BB in the barrel just to see if it would eject and sure enough it did. Some how its just not getting from the magazine to the hop-up / barrel (i told you im learning hehe,).
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 15:46   #8
diamond_SEA
 
diamond_SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakbank, MB
Send a message via MSN to diamond_SEA
disassemble it, remove barrel/hopup unit, and hold it up to a light, maybe the hopup rubber is torn or dislodged from its seating.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_knight View Post
your right,when it rains the burger joint across the street does have cats for 4.99$ but that doesnt mean that i can just go get all the grape jelly i want
diamond_SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 15:53   #9
Thenooblord
Can't fix my own guns. Willing to fix yours.
 
Thenooblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sherwood Forest
Send a message via MSN to Thenooblord
if that were the case as BBs fed in others would fall out the barrel, which he doesnt mention
__________________

Words to live by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid View Post
The apartment I am in right now costs $100 a month.
My average spending on food per day is less than $4.
My airsoft spending in the last month and a half has totaled over $1400.
They're called priorities. Get yourself some.
Thenooblord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 16:22   #10
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
I dont think there is a problem with the Hop-up rubber or anything holding the BB's in the barrel. I pulled out the barrel / hop up assembly and could roll a BB through in and out both ends. I went ahead and checked the rubber and it looks ok, no tears or such. I was wondering though, on the Mechbox there is that part that inserts into the hop up when assembled. I believe that is where the air passes through, does that part retract back when the trigger is pulled? Im thinking it should in order for a BB to fall into the Hop Up and then pass through the barrel but Im not sure.

Last edited by WANDERER671; May 23rd, 2009 at 16:31..
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 16:44   #11
CJay
 
CJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Belle River, ON
yeah your right there about the nozzle on the front of the mechbox. however if there was anything wrong there when you drop BB's in manually nothing would happen if it wasn't functioning right.

Are you using Marui mags on the gun? I ask this because the release on the bb stop on the mag needs to be perfectly aligned or no BB's will eject from the mag into the chamber. if the catch isnt depressed enough you wont get any bb's feeding! As i say i dont recon its a problem with your mechbox so don't panic just yet lol. however if the peg on the body of the gun has been chipped or is notched you'll need a new body probs as I've never come accross a way to fix that problem :S
__________________
"Creator of the Zombat Sniper - oh yeah baby"
CJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 17:09   #12
WANDERER671
 
WANDERER671's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Smile

Hey CJay, I have a HiCap but just in case I tested with the original mag for the gun and it still wouldnt fire a BB. BB's load correctly from the Magazine to the gun but it does not pass into the Hopup / Barrel. But with new light to my last question, if what you are saying that the nozzle should retract back it doesnt. I tried inspecting it without the magazine in and could not see it retract (actually if its faster than expected then I probably cant see it retract, eh). what do i do then if its that part?
WANDERER671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 17:18   #13
Muffin
 
Muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manitoba
If you can't see it from the hopup try removing the mechbox(gearbox). Its quite simple, remove the butt plate, remove your battery then remove the visable screws(either 2 or 4) remove the plate inside and slide out the gearbox.
Plug your battery back in and pull the trigger mechanism and see if the nozzle moves. Then let us know what you find out.
Muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 17:19   #14
diamond_SEA
 
diamond_SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakbank, MB
Send a message via MSN to diamond_SEA
ya sounds like your tappet plate is broken. Thats not an uncommon problem either. but it does require you to take apart the mechbox. if your uncomfortable with that, better take it to a guntech
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_knight View Post
your right,when it rains the burger joint across the street does have cats for 4.99$ but that doesnt mean that i can just go get all the grape jelly i want
diamond_SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2009, 17:24   #15
CJay
 
CJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Belle River, ON
it could be that the piece inside the mechbox has snapped - I've only ever seen that happen once and that was on a V2 when the nozzle hadn't ever been lubed but never on a stock box :S

i'd be more inclined to think that the nozzle on the front has been jumped off of the arm that connects in. easy way to check is just to pull the mechbox out the gun and push and pull on the nozzle...if it slides freely then the guide arm has become disengaged from the nozzle. it should resist being pulled away from the mechbox and not budge (nb: Don't force this!) but if pushed should be movable but spring back forward when released. Also if u look down under the cyllinder head there should be an arm attached to the nozzle coming out from below the piston (this is only visible if u open the mechbox I'm afraid :S). if the arm is not attached to the base of the piston then thats the problem for sure...if the arm is attached and the nozzle freely slides back and forth u've snapped the arm inside the gearbox I'd wager (will also be very obvious if you open the gearbox). one of the few plastic moving pieces inside the V6 mechbox and easilly replacable. if it looks good though but just isn't attached u need to open the mechbox and re-engage the groove in the base of the airflow nozzle with the little catching shelf on the arm. when you actually see it it makes these instructions alot easier to follow lol but If you have never taken a mechbox apart I'd really reccomend taking it to an established gunsmith or somebody who at least is familliar with em. I'd be happy to take a look myself for ya if ur anywhere near calgary :S

either way the happy news is that it should be an easy enough and cheap fix if anything has broken - if its just been knocked off the lever/arm then its no new parts needed. if it has been knocked off though i'd suggest lubing the nozzle a bit so it slides smoothly on the airflow tube on the piston. can't hurt to be cautious ;D

ALSO: never use the P90 hicaps - aint worth the money - just use the 68 rnd lowcaps u get and they will never fail you. Either that or use an M4 Mag adaptor if ur really set on having alot of ammo but the P90 hicaps are a total waste IMHO
__________________
"Creator of the Zombat Sniper - oh yeah baby"

Last edited by CJay; May 23rd, 2009 at 17:31..
CJay is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 16:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.