Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

What hop up?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2009, 00:07   #1
kain128
 
kain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carvel, Alberta
What hop up?

Hey guys,

I have a: http://www.precisionairsoft.net/G-P-...R-p/gpr021.htm and installed a: http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/upgrade-p...47s-455mm.html and was wondering if I should upgrade my hop up? I have heard that the G&P hop up's are ok, but not the best. Which one is the best for G&P?

Thanks for any help.
__________________
Per Mare Per Terram (By Sea By Land)
kain128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 00:16   #2
rustysniper
 
rustysniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canal Flats BC
you know what...hop ups are a bit of a crap shoot as they affect the gun in air seal (fps) as well as trajectory. Also...the hop up bit can also effect trajectory so I would try the G&P hop up and see what gives...lol
If you are getting other items shipped then sure...throw in a hop up bucking as well (they are cheap)

And when you were referring to "hop up" I am assuming you are meening hop up rubber.

Just my thoughts...
G&P makes good stuff so I wouln't be in a rush to change the actual hop up unit itself...
rustysniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 00:50   #3
kain128
 
kain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carvel, Alberta
I noticed that the G&P hop up didnt have a spring??? We ended up using a pen spring. And since i had a new inner barrel i thought that a new, better hop up would make a difference??
__________________
Per Mare Per Terram (By Sea By Land)
kain128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 00:58   #4
Rotting
Roko
 
Rotting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Windsor, Ontario
From my experience, new != better, necessary.

Example being that I replaced my hop-up as well. Went from the standard SiG552 hop-up to a G3 full-metal hop up (Yes it fits before I get a bunch of myth-sayers). Every time I've tried out the G3 hop-up unit against the stock hop-up, the stock hop-up always is superior. The G3 always seems to double feed or jam up at times.

Like I said, this is from my experience. Just keep in mind that new != better. Sometimes sticking with what works is best.

Now if you're talking about the hop-up rubber, well that's a different story. The stock one you have may be a bit stiff and you may need something a bit softer. I hear the Guarder clear hop-up sleeves are miracle workers. But judging by the fact that you said "spring", I'm going to say you're talking about the hop-up. I don't know of any sleeves that have a spring in them.
__________________



Primary: Custom WE M16A3
Secondary: KWA MP9
Side: Custom WE M1911A1
Rotting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 01:04   #5
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by kain128 View Post
Hey guys,

I have a: http://www.precisionairsoft.net/G-P-...R-p/gpr021.htm and installed a: http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/upgrade-p...47s-455mm.html and was wondering if I should upgrade my hop up? I have heard that the G&P hop up's are ok, but not the best. Which one is the best for G&P?

Thanks for any help.
Why? Is there something wrong with your current one? If not, don't change it.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 01:18   #6
kain128
 
kain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carvel, Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Why? Is there something wrong with your current one? If not, don't change it.
Well, when you look down the barrel the hop up is not really showing in the barrel, even with the hop up full on??? Thats why i was thinking about getting a new hop up....
__________________
Per Mare Per Terram (By Sea By Land)
kain128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 01:18   #7
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
If that;s the case you might just need a new rubber or nub.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 01:25   #8
kain128
 
kain128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Carvel, Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
If that;s the case you might just need a new rubber or nub.
Okay, thanks for the help / info.... i will try that first.
__________________
Per Mare Per Terram (By Sea By Land)
kain128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 13:16   #9
Rotting
Roko
 
Rotting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Make sure it's installed the right way. I've installed a barrel upside down before on my own gun. That'd be a perfect way to not see a hop-up adjustment.
__________________



Primary: Custom WE M16A3
Secondary: KWA MP9
Side: Custom WE M1911A1
Rotting is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.