Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

replacing inner barrel >>> lycaon

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 11th, 2009, 21:52   #1
5udhir
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
replacing inner barrel >>> lycaon

hello, i read on the forums that upgraded inner barrels(tightbores) aren't compatible with the aftermath lycaon. something to do with the hop-up, i believe. is this true? also, would i be able to replace the hopup to a TM one? is there a specific one that i need? i assume/hope that any TM mp5 hop-up would do. then i would be able to put in a better barrel.
PS. i know the lycaon isn't the best. but i read it is a good platform to upgrade. i got it from velocity arms.

Last edited by 5udhir; April 11th, 2009 at 21:53.. Reason: spelling
5udhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 09:19   #2
Troy T. Moore
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
I have a couple of Lycaons which I started with and now use as loaner guns. Putting a bit of care into the mechbox would probably be a better place to start, with metal bushings, a shim job, selective regreasing and a V2 bearing spring guide (and maybe even an new nozzle and tappet plate, Element brand is very decent for the price).

As far as I know the barrel should be interchangeable without any issues. You could change the barrel and put in a new hop-up rubber (I changed one of mine to a G&P rubber http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/upgrade-p...ng-rubber.html
) There is no reason to change the hop up chamber itself unless something breaks...which is unlikely with "normal" use.
Troy T. Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 03:16   #3
5udhir
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
great, thanks for the reply. i want to make my mp5 into an hk94 and use it for outdoor.
5udhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 03:44   #4
zone 69
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KELOWNA , B.C CANADA, PLANET EARTH
Do you know that you need to match your Cylinder to your barrel Length.
http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/?filnavn=...andbarrels.htm
zone 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 02:44   #5
5udhir
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by zone 69 View Post
Do you know that you need to match your Cylinder to your barrel Length.
http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/?filnavn=...andbarrels.htm
yes i do. i need a non ported cylinder(i beleive). i'll be sure to verify that b4 i buy anything. thanks. i actually want to the the external/cosmetic upgrades b4 i do any internal stuff. barrel ext, folding stock, ris mainly. what is the diff between ris and ras??

Last edited by 5udhir; April 15th, 2009 at 02:47..
5udhir is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.