Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

A range to configure Hop-Up?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:33   #1
Ryukishen
 
Ryukishen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scarborough
Send a message via AIM to Ryukishen Send a message via MSN to Ryukishen
A range to configure Hop-Up?

EDIT: Yeah, I started this thread to get answers and not get criticized for a page or so... I got my answers needed though, but maybe some people here should play a game at DefCon or look at the video that I posted before commenting.
__________________
If you can't kill then you are always subject to those who can
-Ryukishen-

Revenge is sweet, but it is not nourishing.
-Mason Cooley-

Last edited by Ryukishen; February 24th, 2009 at 19:04..
Ryukishen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:40   #2
phantastik
 
phantastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burlington ON
Um... thats pretty ridiculous (the police conversation)
__________________
Пусть он землю бережет родную, А любовь Катюша сбережет
phantastik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:41   #3
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
I like the phrase what Police told civilian to play their airsoft gun anywhere where they won't get shot.

You won't need much time to set your hop up. just only like a few second and plus after the game, I usually set my hop up back to zero.
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:41   #4
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
All this just to set your hop up? Do it next time you play, take you 10 seconds. Always best to check and tweak it on gameday anyways, air temp and density (including wind) will cause your BBs to change trajectory.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:47   #5
KND
* AV revoked *
 
KND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Downtown Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryukishen View Post
I'd love to but...Well... Unless I get tracers or something I honestly can't tell my trajectories at DefCon and I can't exactly "Lead Into" my shots either. No hop-up is a no no as well so :banghead:
Next time when you go the game, use the flash light to light the area where your BBS go then you can set it.
__________________

KND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:48   #6
The Saint
 
The Saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Quebec
It also helps you have someone who's willing to be the target of a hopup calibration.
__________________
"The Bird of Hermes is My Name, Eating My Wings to Make Me Tame."
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:53   #7
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
Hold (or get someone else to hold it for you) or just tape a flashlight to your gun. Only need it there for a couple mins tops, easy enough. It's not rocket science to get a beam of light downrange for you.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:56   #8
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
I know that this is the Newbie Tank and all that...but you've got to try a little harder to understand what some very experienced people are trying to tell you.

* Set your hopup for whatever field/ranges that you're about to play at.
- if it's Defcon...set it at Defcon. Shoot from one end to the other.
- if it's a larger more open field...reset it for that field (it might not need much, but it's worth checking)

* It only takes a minute or two...once you get the hang of it.
- Some people have the visual acuity to see the bbs as they fly away from them...others don't. Shoot into a dark background with light behind you (i.e. shoot into the treeline at a field with the sun behind your back)...that'll help.
- You don't need to be aiming at something specific to get your hopup set (and for a lot of people it actually helps not to be aiming through their sights when setting their hopup). Just hold the rifle level, aimed in a safe direction. Head up and looking forward...fire off a couple of shots and watch the flight path of the bbs. Adjust your hopup accordingly.
- Once the flight path is set...then adjust your sights to hit where you're aiming.
- If you're really having a problem seeing your shots...have a buddy stand behind and just to the side of you while you are shooting. Same with adjusting your sights after setting the hopup.
- Unless you're a steady off-hand shot...go to at least kneeling position while you're shooting...it'll help.
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:05   #9
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
I am usually adjusting during a game to make full use of the hopup. situations and conditions change. sometimes you need that BB to move a little more, or I just want to hook it around a corner.
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:11   #10
dragwindsor
 
dragwindsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to dragwindsor
I see a bunch of people pulling their hair out right now, screaming at the monitor " TURN THE KBOB UNTIL THE BB'S FLY STRAIGHT! ".

Hopup is very simple, fix on the fly.
__________________
To save the trouble of Ancorp reading it in every post: Inokatsu



dragwindsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:17   #11
dragwindsor
 
dragwindsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to dragwindsor
Sorry man, no one goes through this much for their hopup.

No one uses a flashlight to set their hopup.

What are you going to do once it's set? Are you going to ALWAYS have your light on?
__________________
To save the trouble of Ancorp reading it in every post: Inokatsu



dragwindsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:20   #12
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryukishen View Post
But that's no fun.
Thanks for the help everyone though, I'll be sure to keep this in mind at my next game on....March 8th? If someone's hosting.

Another question, my Flashlight is Blue. Would that cause any problems in a game?
The lense or the body is blue? You won't have that much throw with it unless it's really powerful.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:24   #13
dragwindsor
 
dragwindsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to dragwindsor
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDN_Stalker View Post
The lense or the body is blue? You won't have that much throw with it unless it's really powerful.
I'm guessing the light is blue, which is pretty much a tactical light for stealth uses [ looking around in the dark while trying to remain unseen ]

The same way a light like a Surefire M910 has a main high power light, and two low level LEDs.

BTW: Thats for him Stalker, I'm sure you knew that.
__________________
To save the trouble of Ancorp reading it in every post: Inokatsu



dragwindsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:24   #14
Ryukishen
 
Ryukishen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scarborough
Send a message via AIM to Ryukishen Send a message via MSN to Ryukishen
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragwindsor View Post
Sorry man, no one goes through this much for their hopup.

No one uses a flashlight to set their hopup.

What are you going to do once it's set? Are you going to ALWAYS have your light on?
I can see my target, not my trajectories. Is that such a huge problem?
SWAT vs Terrorist @ DefCon on Dec 28, 2008.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDN_Stalker View Post
The lense or the body is blue? You won't have that much throw with it unless it's really powerful.
That ended up answer itself.
__________________
If you can't kill then you are always subject to those who can
-Ryukishen-

Revenge is sweet, but it is not nourishing.
-Mason Cooley-

Last edited by Ryukishen; February 24th, 2009 at 11:26..
Ryukishen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 11:26   #15
dragwindsor
 
dragwindsor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to dragwindsor
Dude.

Answer me this.

Once the hopup is set, how are you going to aim your gun?

Do you actually think your iron sights will be accurate over 100+ feet?

Most people look at their bb's to aim their guns.
__________________
To save the trouble of Ancorp reading it in every post: Inokatsu



dragwindsor is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
AirsoftParts.ca

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.