Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

New gearbox and motor

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:20   #1
Wolf13
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
New gearbox and motor

Now that i have covered range, ROF, and accuracy, all i need now is a new gearbox and motor to make my gun complete.

My Echo 1 m16 is pretty much all stock except for the TB barrel and 9.6 3600 mah battery

Can someone please recomend a new gearbox and motor to replace the one i have, and if i added a new gearbox would i need to add anything else or would i just have to get a professional to put it in(i.e. would it come with a spring, and all the pistions and all that stuff?)
Wolf13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:21   #2
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Are you talking about a complete mechbox or just the mechbox shell?

Why do you even want to replace it? What's your end goal?
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:24   #3
Wolf13
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalnaren View Post
Are you talking about a complete mechbox or just the mechbox shell?

Why do you even want to replace it? What's your end goal?
complete mechbox, and my goal is insane ROF, and duribilty
Wolf13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:26   #4
diamond_SEA
 
diamond_SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oakbank, MB
Send a message via MSN to diamond_SEA
depends. If your going with a complete mechbox replacement, you can get whole complete mechboxes. Most people recommend Systema complete gearboxes. Check out airsoftparts.ca for complete mechboxes

If you want to build your own for more control over your parts, build one yourself.

Installing a mechbox is pretty easy, check out mechbox.com for how-to videos, as well as how to assemble/dissassemble your ver.2 mechbox

And just a note, ROF means sacrificing FPS, thus range. And durablity is out of the question if you dont do a high ROF mechbox right, as the law of mechanics states, the more something moves, more likely its going to malfunction. Look for complete mechboxes that are called "high speed".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_knight View Post
your right,when it rains the burger joint across the street does have cats for 4.99$ but that doesnt mean that i can just go get all the grape jelly i want
diamond_SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:44   #5
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
As already mentioned, beware of high speed setups, as your internals WILL wear out quickly. Unless you know what you're going with internals and can easily replace the parts that WILL blow out.

Honestly, the rof you're more than likely getting now with that large battery you have is probably already putting some pretty heavy wear and tear on your mechbox shell and piston. I run a 9.6V 3800 mAh battery in both my M15 and HK 416 with more or less stock internals, and that's giving me 22 BB/s. Already that's a pretty high rof and it blew out the piston in my 416 last week.

And quite honestly, having such a high rof is rather useless. You want a gun, not a BB hose...
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 15:50   #6
Shirley
A-56 aka Mr.Hitman
 
Shirley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Buy a KWA with li-po if you want ROF.
__________________

CANADIAN AIRSOFT PRACTICAL SHOOTING (CAPS)
CAPS DIRECTOR # 0047
Shirley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 16:05   #7
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunchmeister View Post
And quite honestly, having such a high rof is rather useless. You want a gun, not a BB hose...
+1. This is airsoft... not beamsoft...
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 16:12   #8
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalnaren View Post
+1. This is airsoft... not beamsoft...
lol Beamsoft indeed. IMO, if you can have an AEG shooting in the 12-15 / s range, that's good. That helps you develop marksmanship. Trailing a target with a visible stream of BBs with a BB hose till you hit it is pretty lame, really. 15/2 already a pretty unrealistic rof compared to the real steel, but is effective for airsoft. And it will increase the longevity of the internals.

Seriously, you've made it quite clear that you know nothing about AEG internals. You're already pushing the "safe" limits of your gearbox using that large battery. Keep your current gearbox as it is and work on getting your gun shooting accurately instead. That's far more beneficial to you as a shooter and for the "health" of your gun.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 17:24   #9
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunchmeister View Post
lol Beamsoft indeed. IMO, if you can have an AEG shooting in the 12-15 / s range, that's good. That helps you develop marksmanship. Trailing a target with a visible stream of BBs with a BB hose till you hit it is pretty lame, really. 15/2 already a pretty unrealistic rof compared to the real steel, but is effective for airsoft. And it will increase the longevity of the internals.
I agree. My G36 has an ROF of 12.5... the real G36 sits at 12. I like the fact it's pretty similar.
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.