Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Adjusting hop-up on an AEG

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2009, 20:44   #1
SultanOfShwing
 
SultanOfShwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surrey, BC
Adjusting hop-up on an AEG

I've got a TM SR-16 and I was wondering how I adjust the hop-up? It's probably not necessary but I just want to see the effect of adjusting the hop-up.
__________________
SultanOfShwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 20:57   #2
Defcon_Carl
formerly carl05229
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scarborough / Toronto
m4 variants are all the same, moving the leaver towards the barrel(clockwise) will give it more hop and moving it towards the stock(counter-clockwise) will give it less hop.
Defcon_Carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:06   #3
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by SultanOfShwing View Post
I've got a TM SR-16 and I was wondering how I adjust the hop-up? It's probably not necessary but I just want to see the effect of adjusting the hop-up.
Hop-up is necessary. If you don't use it you'll never achieve the full effectiveness of your gun.
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:13   #4
SultanOfShwing
 
SultanOfShwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surrey, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalnaren View Post
Hop-up is necessary. If you don't use it you'll never achieve the full effectiveness of your gun.
By not necessary, I meant that I probably won't need to change anything because it should already be optimized because it is a used gun.

By the way what does the lever looks like? I opened up the panel where the hop-up is and I see two gears. One large and obvious and one small one. I'm guessing I adjust the bigger one but it is pretty stiff and I don't want to break anything.
__________________
SultanOfShwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:21   #5
Darklen
Administrator
 
Darklen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Red Deer, AB
Send a message via MSN to Darklen
There is no lever on armalite type guns, it's a wheel. Pull back the charging handle and the dust cover will open on the right side of the gun as well as the fake bolt will open. The hopup wheel is inside the fake bolt. It's the large wheel of the three you want to adjust. Clockwise for more hopup, counterclockwise for less. Adjust until your bb's go as flat and as far as possible. Depending on the gun, it should be around 100'-150'. Be sure to make the adjustments when you can safely and legally discharge your gun and where you have enough space to make it effective, as in not indoors (unless you have access to an aircraft hangar.)


Gun removed for clarity.

And BTW, all armalite type hopups go out of whack and need to be readjusted. How often depends on a lot, but when you see your bb's not ranging the way they should, make an adjustment. You'd probably even have to adjust it if you change brands and weights of bb's.
__________________
ASC & RAAT Age Verifier for Red Deer & Area Alberta

Last edited by Darklen; January 16th, 2009 at 21:29..
Darklen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:22   #6
Omemee1
 
Omemee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Peterborough
Quote:
Originally Posted by SultanOfShwing View Post
By not necessary, I meant that I probably won't need to change anything because it should already be optimized because it is a used gun.

By the way what does the lever looks like? I opened up the panel where the hop-up is and I see two gears. One large and obvious and one small one. I'm guessing I adjust the bigger one but it is pretty stiff and I don't want to break anything.
if you can't turn it one way its proly because its on full hopup or the other way around, no hop, you shouldn't have to force it, try turning it the opposite way it won't turn..
Omemee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:24   #7
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by SultanOfShwing View Post
By not necessary, I meant that I probably won't need to change anything because it should already be optimized because it is a used gun.
Hop-up changes. You will probably need to do minor adjustments depending on atmospheric conditions, and when one cleans the barrel it's usually a really good idea to dial it off. M16-style hop-ups are also known to not hold their position.

Hop-up isn't static. Get used to playing with it.
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 21:47   #8
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalnaren View Post
Hop-up changes. You will probably need to do minor adjustments depending on atmospheric conditions, and when one cleans the barrel it's usually a really good idea to dial it off. M16-style hop-ups are also known to not hold their position.

Hop-up isn't static. Get used to playing with it.

Mostly due to inner barrel wobble, and having no solid connections in it's design.

There is a reason any MP5 will outshoot any Armalite for accuracy, MP5 hop up unit and inner barrel is held solid in three places............. all Armalites are held in place by a loose tongue and groove joint between the hop up unit and the breech of the outer barrel, and a small spring. I've never seen one shoot less than 2inches at 30ft distance, so don't get your hopes up about it being a tack driver.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2009, 22:00   #9
SultanOfShwing
 
SultanOfShwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surrey, BC
All right. Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
SultanOfShwing is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.