Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

G&g- mp5a4 vs. Umg

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:18   #31
T_A_N_K
 
T_A_N_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderCactus View Post
I wouldn't trust any G&G gun that has a CA, TM or G&P counterpart, but if it's your only choice, like the UMG, then go for it.
IMO, go for the UMG, V3 gearbox is rock solid, sturdy gun, and because it's a V3 it shoots DAMN far and DAMN accurate with minor upgrades (talking from experience here)
It doesn't take a lot of upgrades for any mechbox to shoot far and straight, it takes the right upgrades. I handled G&G's before aren't that bad, infact in many cases you get more value from them than CA or TM.

The Version 3 is far more superior to the Version 2 Mechbox, it is more structurally sound and will defiantly be more durable than a Version 2 mechbox. In terms of parts, everything is available for you to make a solid (or even more solid) mechbox for whatever you want it to do.

Keep in mind that if your looking for second hand UMG items, they are not common, and being so expensive. Also, finding gear to hold your UMG mags are a bitch to find.

Where as the MP5 is probably the next most common aeg in Canada besides the M4 family. Parts are always available used or new.
T_A_N_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:27   #32
-subzero
Used to be zero4a-gze
 
-subzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbcsteve View Post
There are some TM Mp5 somewhere in there hunt it down quicktime they are good stuff

ICS is also good too cause it has the split gearbox capability in which you can pop the top off to change the spring easily without messing with the gears
since when do they have the split gearbox like in there m4s?
-subzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:31   #33
Bowers
 
Bowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Send a message via MSN to Bowers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexst View Post
I don't mind spend the money on a good product, but where can I get a systema? I've checked the AV
maybe a retailer can bring it in for you

be advised though odds are its gonna be bloody expensive
__________________
拳法
The Greyman Doctrine
Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:43   #34
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero4a-gze View Post
since when do they have the split gearbox like in there m4s?
Since ever?
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 02:52   #35
Metternich
 
Metternich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Waterloo
Send a message via MSN to Metternich Send a message via Skype™ to Metternich
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Since ever?
More like never...last I checked, only their Armalites have split mechboxes. My ICS mp5 has a typical v2 mechbox.
__________________
"An idle mind is the Devil's monkey bars."
-Sam & Max

http://www.webtertainment.tv/ruisraunchywebsite/

Last edited by Metternich; December 17th, 2008 at 02:58..
Metternich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 03:32   #36
T_A_N_K
 
T_A_N_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I also have never seen any factory ICS Mp5 with a split mechbox only armalites.
T_A_N_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 03:34   #37
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metternich View Post
More like never...last I checked, only their Armalites have split mechboxes. My ICS mp5 has a typical v2 mechbox.
Oh, I thought his wording was:

Quote:
since when do they have the split gearbox in there m4s?
Of course ICS MP5's don't have split mechboxes!
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 03:48   #38
cbcsteve
Nice Guy
 
cbcsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Markham
Yes they do have Split Gear Boxes for ICS MP5's


Heres a source to increase your knowledge with a simple Google search:
http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/news2/2238

And yes other ICS M4's have split gearbox as well not just Armalites
ICS M4 CQB model has one

I don't just spout random things like those men wearing signs
__________________
- Pistolero Steve -


Last edited by cbcsteve; December 17th, 2008 at 03:59..
cbcsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 04:12   #39
Metternich
 
Metternich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Waterloo
Send a message via MSN to Metternich Send a message via Skype™ to Metternich
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbcsteve View Post
Yes they do have Split Gear Boxes for ICS MP5's


Heres a source to increase your knowledge with a simple Google search:
http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/news2/2238

And yes other ICS M4's have split gearbox as well not just Armalites
ICS M4 CQB model has one

I don't just spout random things like those men wearing signs
Unless I'm mistaken the split mechbox MP5's are still in development.....sooo ICS MP5's currently have regular v2 mechboxes.
__________________
"An idle mind is the Devil's monkey bars."
-Sam & Max

http://www.webtertainment.tv/ruisraunchywebsite/

Last edited by Metternich; December 17th, 2008 at 04:27..
Metternich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 04:26   #40
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbcsteve View Post
And yes other ICS M4's have split gearbox as well not just Armalites
M4's ARE armalites. Lol.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 04:32   #41
cbcsteve
Nice Guy
 
cbcsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Markham
Well now you know that Mp5 split's exist before anymore straying off topic continues, back to the main point

Dexst, like Crunchmeister said, I agree the JG MP5's are not bad either. A great starter price for someone whose just getting into Airsoft, Skfladin wrote a great thread about it here:

http://airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=58784

As well as the Jing Gong is TM compatible so if anything breaks you won't be sold short as you can easily obtain parts from local players here or where I go, Jugglez always has the things you need

www.airsoftparts.ca

Other than that I think you are set but if you want to splurge a TM or CA is a good step but if you are not too sure you really are a MP5 person the the JG or G&G is a good start, but JG is better lets hope Sasksoft gets some
__________________
- Pistolero Steve -

cbcsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 11:29   #42
The Saint
 
The Saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Quebec
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Before this goes way off the rails in a pissing match...
It certainly won't be doing that.

I really don't know why people have such a big problem with G&Gs. Mine's (an AR) been nothing but great, though I did upgrade the inside. Cost less than an equivalent CA would've.
__________________
"The Bird of Hermes is My Name, Eating My Wings to Make Me Tame."
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:01   #43
Dexst
 
Dexst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontairo
Send a message via MSN to Dexst
Ok, I'm most likely going to go with a high end mp5 from TM or CA. I have to shoot off a couple pms.

Does any one know what the fps of the tm mp5 is?
Also is all mp5s on the market v2 gearboxs?

The only thing that's still pulling me to ump is the stock( which an mp5 can have)
Rails, also which mp5 can have.
The look is damn sexy and you don't often see one, which I really like being "one off"
And the v3mech box
__________________
VFC AKS74-UN DX Ver.
Dexst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:03   #44
Cheesevillage
 
Cheesevillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saskatoon
Get a large battery man. Its worth it.

-yes all V2
-TM MP5s all shoot around 280 fps
__________________
-Cheese

Quote:
Originally Posted by femina View Post
Okay, I recently went to art show. One of exhibit had huge panoramic canvas pictures of landscape photos taken with a digital camera. These pictures were nice and huge. The canvas was attached to a wooden stretcher frame for direct hanging on a wall without need for a frame. Do you know any more on this subject? Where can I go for additional information on this subject?
Cheesevillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:04   #45
The Saint
 
The Saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Quebec
MP5Ks use version 3 mechbox, with the motor cage omitted.
__________________
"The Bird of Hermes is My Name, Eating My Wings to Make Me Tame."
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.