Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

BB weight....

:

General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2008, 02:47   #1
BeAcH
 
BeAcH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fort Saint John BC
BB weight....

Hey everyone,

Okay i've looked through some of the threads pertaining to my question....and sort of found an answer......So one of my m4 aeg's is most likely firing aroung 460'ish, on .20. If i use .30 how far will it drop the fps to, im thinking about 100. What would be perfect is if i could get it down to about 400-415, so if .30 drop it 100 then .28 should drop it in that area....hopefully.

And which piston would you guys say is overall the best;

Modify ultra piston
Deep fire titanium
Promethus hard piston

Thanks
Beach
__________________
Live for nothing, or die for something

They can have my rifle when they can pry it from my dead cold fingers
BeAcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 02:49   #2
skalnok
 
skalnok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: barrie, ontario
isnt 460 on .2 a bit high

usually people make you chronie with .2's
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt491 View Post
...stalker's gonna kill you....and you wont even see it coming! Hell, he'll kill you and god himself will be going, "Where the hell did that come from!?" CDN_Stalker should just be the new god!
skalnok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 02:51   #3
xandrewx
 
xandrewx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario
that weight will drop the fps of the round, but the round will still carry the velocity thats why everyone chronies with .20's so unfortunatly even if you tryed to lower your fps by using heavier bb's your gun would still be firing a little tooooo hot for most games
__________________
MODT - tu fui ego eris
xandrewx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 03:10   #4
Bissa
 
Bissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC
Send a message via MSN to Bissa
try this http://www.cimmerians.org/FPS_Converter.html
__________________
Quote:
Sergeant Gerry Boyle: I don't want to see it. Babies all look the same. The only time a baby doesn't look like every other baby is when it's a really ugly baby. So, unless it's a photo of a really ugly baby, I don't want to see it.
Bissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 04:41   #5
dpvu
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary
Send a message via MSN to dpvu
It's not the FPS that causes harm and is a potential danger. It's the joules (energy) and that's the same no matter what weight of BB you use. The FPS is less but the mass is more and hence you get the same energy. Field limits exist not to limit the FPS but the energy of a BB.
__________________
JG HK416
KWA USP
dpvu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 19:50   #6
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrewx View Post
that weight will drop the fps of the round, but the round will still carry the velocity...
... fps = "feet per second" = a measurement of: velocity.

I think you mean the round will still carry the "energy."
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 20:41   #7
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
That's only an fps/weight to joule converter, he wants to know the fps drop when chronying with 0.30g as opposed to 0.20g (which would be around 60fps drop).

http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthr...hlight=bastard

Last edited by CDN_Stalker; July 19th, 2008 at 20:44..
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 20:55   #8
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
Well, with that setup, the gun isn't gamable regardless what BBs you use. If you want to reduce the velocity for gaming, you'll need to replace the spring or get a TM velocity reducer.

And as already mentioned, when guns are chronied for games, they are usually chronied with .2s. .2 @ 400 -420 fps (depending on the field) is that's allowed.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 21:40   #9
BeAcH
 
BeAcH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fort Saint John BC
Well after reading these posts and doing some "googling" i figure getting a velocity reducer is my best option. Because i dont want to take apart my mechbox cuz its firing flawlessly. Does anybody have any hands on experiance with these 'velocity reducers'. I'll have to talk to jugglez about getting one in....I think with this I have a fix for my gun and i'll still be able to game with it.

Thanks for the input.....
__________________
Live for nothing, or die for something

They can have my rifle when they can pry it from my dead cold fingers
BeAcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 21:43   #10
immortalundead
 
immortalundead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Qc
id suggest swapping the spring, should create less wear and tear on your mechbox.
immortalundead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 21:49   #11
m102404
Tys
 
m102404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
From some bits of info here and there, you should follow up with looking further into the comments that velocity reducers do work for semi-auto shots but fail to work for more than the first couple of shots of full auto.

Something to do with full auto disrupting the 'baffling' enough to negate it's effect...

Sorry, no personal experience to back this up...I prefer to just set my rifle around 380-ish and be done with it.

If your field allows such high (i.e. 460-ish) velocities...then why do you want to lower it? If they don't (i.e. they max out at 400) then why wouldn't you forgo all of this fiddling around and just drop the FPS down permanently? If you're hitting multiple fields with different limits...setup for the lower one and don't sweat it.

You said that you're rifle is "most likely" shooting 460 fps with 0.20g bbs...well, it either is, or it isn't. Measuring it's velocity with a chronograph is the only real way to tell for sure...everything else is just guessing around.

Best of luck!
m102404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 22:32   #12
BeAcH
 
BeAcH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fort Saint John BC
Yeah im just guessing that its shooting that high because of the spring, cylinder head that i installed. Im going to have to buy a chrono to make sure, but going to a game tomorrow and field limit is 450 fps for aeg's. I know for sure that its in the 430-460 range, somebody should have a chrono for tomorrow....i'll let you guys know the result. Maybe i wont have to change anything at all and i'll come in under the wire.....

Again Thanks
__________________
Live for nothing, or die for something

They can have my rifle when they can pry it from my dead cold fingers
BeAcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 00:14   #13
mcguyver
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Alberta
Where do you play? Some of the older FSJ players may or may not have velocity limits. I remember playing against some of them several years ago and their guns were well above 400 fps then.

We don't have specified velocity limits in GP for the most part, but I suspect your gun will not be lasting all that long at 450 fps if it's a version 2 mechbox. The G&Ps we had years ago at that velocity never seemed to last more than 20K rounds at the absolute most anyways.
__________________
Age verifier Northern Alberta

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner.

Freedom is the wolves limping away while the sheep reloads.

Never confuse freedom with democracy.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 02:41   #14
CDN_Stalker
Official ASC Bladesmith
 
CDN_Stalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ont.
Send a message via MSN to CDN_Stalker
Ya, 460fps in a V2 mechbox................ at some point someone might be calling hit because a big chuck of mechbox flew out and hit them.
CDN_Stalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2008, 05:01   #15
dpvu
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary
Send a message via MSN to dpvu
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILLusion View Post
... fps = "feet per second" = a measurement of: velocity.

I think you mean the round will still carry the "energy."
Yeah, I meant the energy the round carries will be equivalent. Thanks.
__________________
JG HK416
KWA USP
dpvu is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.