Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Frequently Asked Questions
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Airsoft Newbie Buying Guide Guns and Gears

:

Frequently Asked Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 12th, 2013, 02:52   #121
MikeRomeo
 
MikeRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Not entirely sure if this is the right thread to ask in, But I'm looking for a replica/dummy or used AN/PVS Nvg Battery case for my helmet.. Any one know where to get a hold of one, I don't really want to have to buy a set of "GPNVG18s" to get one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wda.jpg (49.6 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg FMA GPNVG18 DUMMY.jpg (45.7 KB, 26 views)
MikeRomeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2013, 14:41   #122
Connor15
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Does anyone in here have experience with the KWA LM4?
Connor15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2013, 11:30   #123
TommyTowers
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I want to lower the ROF on my airsoft gun(Meaning, I want it to shoot 500RPM)
Any suggestions on what to do?
TommyTowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2013, 17:46   #124
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTowers View Post
I want to lower the ROF on my airsoft gun(Meaning, I want it to shoot 500RPM)
Any suggestions on what to do?
What gun? What specs? Stock? Upgrades?

With as little information you provided, to lower you ROF you can:

- install a MOSFET
- use a heavier spring
- use a lower voltage battery
- swap out the motor for a slower one (higher torque vs speed)
- swap gears
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2013, 21:48   #125
gherea
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
higher FPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTowers View Post
I want to lower the ROF on my airsoft gun(Meaning, I want it to shoot 500RPM)
Any suggestions on what to do?
A high grade air soft gun will usually have a higher FPS than a lower quality clone but this doesn't always apply.

FPS also increases and decreases with what weight of BB you use. Examples are as follow:

380 FPS with .12 Gram BBs
350 FPS with .20 Gram BBs
335 FPS with .23 Gram BBs
320 FPS with .25 Gram BBs
315 FPS with .28 Gram BBs
300 FPS with .30 Gram BBs
__________________
I have found the best sniper rifle
gherea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2013, 22:39   #126
Chillyrabbit
 
Chillyrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by gherea View Post
A high grade air soft gun will usually have a higher FPS than a lower quality clone but this doesn't always apply.

FPS also increases and decreases with what weight of BB you use. Examples are as follow:

380 FPS with .12 Gram BBs
350 FPS with .20 Gram BBs
335 FPS with .23 Gram BBs
320 FPS with .25 Gram BBs
315 FPS with .28 Gram BBs
300 FPS with .30 Gram BBs

How does lowering FPS lower ROF?
Chillyrabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2014, 18:32   #127
toshi
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillyrabbit View Post
How does lowering FPS lower ROF?
You can't...Just buy the one that has lower RPM.
__________________
Simply In Love With Airsoft
toshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2014, 13:49   #128
tazkforcealpha
 
tazkforcealpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Is importing a replica from HK still a problem on the border/customs?

Sorry for maybe a stupid question, but i'm not familiar with canadian airsoft laws, and the thread about importing is couple yrs old. Thanks!
__________________
POLSKA WALCZĄCA!

Last edited by tazkforcealpha; April 28th, 2014 at 13:54..
tazkforcealpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2014, 13:56   #129
BioRage
\_(ツ)_/ - Professional Complainer who wants to do nothing to help out. QQer maximus, will QQ for Free. Snowflake exemplified.
 
BioRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Send a message via Skype™ to BioRage
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazkforcealpha View Post
Is importing a replica from HK still a problem on the border/customs?

Sorry for maybe a stupid question, but i'm not familiar with canadian airsoft laws, and the thread about importing is couple yrs old. Thanks!
366-500 FPS = Fine.
BioRage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2014, 12:40   #130
DEATH2000
 
DEATH2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazkforcealpha View Post
Is importing a replica from HK still a problem on the border/customs?

Sorry for maybe a stupid question, but i'm not familiar with canadian airsoft laws, and the thread about importing is couple yrs old. Thanks!
Shopping locally helps small business and the Canadian market. That said, as long as the seller provides documentation that the gun shoots between 366-500FPS it should clear customs fine.
__________________
DEATH2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2014, 14:43   #131
tazkforcealpha
 
tazkforcealpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Thanks to both of you.
__________________
POLSKA WALCZĄCA!
tazkforcealpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2014, 12:30   #132
Aragrev7
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Looking to buy a gear box for my JG g36. Right now it houses a V3. I would like to have separate outdoor (~450fps) & indoor (<350fps; current) gear boxes for when I switch from arena to field.
I am wondering what are some of the issues I should be concerned with when getting a more powerful/efficient gearbox?

1. Stay with V3?
2. Will it fit my G36? (I probably will need one from a g36)
3. Getting the same gear box & upgrading internals (spring, piston, gears etc)
4. Upgrading post-gearbox parts? (Tight bore)
5. Upgrading battery WITH gearbox?
(Stock = 8.4, can I go to 9.6?)

Thanks!
Aragrev7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2014, 13:05   #133
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
g36s only use v3 gearboxes. so yes, you will stay with v3.

A gear box is only as good as its builder. You can spend 160$ for a drop in and it can and will still blow up. A good tech can set it up for you to mitigate the odds it will blow up.

With the cost of the JG g36... just buy a second one and tune it to indoor spec and tune the other to outdoor spec.

There's no point in swapping gearboxes every time you switch play. You're going to strip the screw holes where they mount into the lower.

If you're dead set on getting a 2nd gearbox.

if you get any standard v3 you will need a g36 nozzle, the g36 safety, selector plate and motor cage. 95% of the drop ins are set up for AKs. If you do a 2nd gearbox, it's easier just to put together a whole assembled lower to swap in so there's not as much screwing/unscrewing involved. The motor cages on g36s are shiet.

For the cost of finding those and shipping them, you will be at half the cost of a new jg g36. After building up one or the other gearbox to do field or cqb, you'll be at the same cost of a 2nd gun.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2014, 13:42   #134
Aragrev7
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by lurkingknight View Post
g36s only use v3 gearboxes. so yes, you will stay with v3.

A gear box is only as good as its builder. You can spend 160$ for a drop in and it can and will still blow up. A good tech can set it up for you to mitigate the odds it will blow up.

With the cost of the JG g36... just buy a second one and tune it to indoor spec and tune the other to outdoor spec.

There's no point in swapping gearboxes every time you switch play. You're going to strip the screw holes where they mount into the lower.

If you're dead set on getting a 2nd gearbox.

if you get any standard v3 you will need a g36 nozzle, the g36 safety, selector plate and motor cage. 95% of the drop ins are set up for AKs. If you do a 2nd gearbox, it's easier just to put together a whole assembled lower to swap in so there's not as much screwing/unscrewing involved. The motor cages on g36s are shiet.

For the cost of finding those and shipping them, you will be at half the cost of a new jg g36. After building up one or the other gearbox to do field or cqb, you'll be at the same cost of a 2nd gun.

Very good info. Didn't realize they would be that expensive. While I do have much technical experience, it might be better to save up for a second gun for outdoors.

I just thought of the 2nd gear box as I got confirmation that my group will be able to use an abandoned farm near Oakbank as an airsoft field. Plans to build are coming hopefully our two carpenters and other engineers can come up with something really fun that will last.
Aragrev7 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Frequently Asked Questions

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.