Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

What size is it?

:

General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2008, 19:53   #1
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
What size is it?

Does some one off hand know the stock size of a tm m16a2 barrel?.
Arnies airsoft say it is 6.07 and 510mm long.I am looking at barrels
right now and would like the next size or two down from stock.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 20:00   #2
The Saint
 
The Saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Quebec
What are you trying to do?
__________________
"The Bird of Hermes is My Name, Eating My Wings to Make Me Tame."
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 20:07   #3
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
I would like to tighten my groups up alittle better.
I don't want to go over 390 or 400.I am shooting
372-380.I get nice range but not good hits.
Also I'll ask here so as not to create another thread.
What is the best minimum range to set up your hop-up?.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 02:41   #4
The Saint
 
The Saint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Quebec
I assume when you mean the next size down, you're talking about diameter. I'd recommend a Prometheus 6.03mm or KM 6.04mm tightbore. They'll increase your fps by a little bit, but shouldn't push you over 400fps.

Best minimum range to set your hopup is about 30'. Ideally, you'd set your hopup somewhere where space limitation isn't an issue.
__________________
"The Bird of Hermes is My Name, Eating My Wings to Make Me Tame."
The Saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 02:46   #5
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
Thanks saint,I was looking at the 6.03Prometheus.I was worried it would put me over the 400 mark.Thanks again.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 08:45   #6
demco11
 
demco11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Nah, tightbores dont increase your FPS that much... its a slight increase but from what your shooting it wont jump past 400, I had a discussion about this with serveal players who upgraded to a tighbore and they had a jump of 5-10 fps.
demco11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 09:31   #7
Firewalker
 
Firewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Send a message via ICQ to Firewalker Send a message via AIM to Firewalker Send a message via MSN to Firewalker Send a message via Yahoo to Firewalker
That's what I like about tightbores. Small fps leap, but rather decent accuracy and range increase. It's great. You can stay under a certain fps that way.
__________________
Firewalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 09:55   #8
Disco_Dante
 
Disco_Dante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: GTA
Thats a bit of a personal question isn't it?
Disco_Dante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 12:19   #9
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
I was having a problem with insecurity,then a friend show me
a new product.It's called the metric system.Now I feel on
top of the world again.

Last edited by Double Tapper; April 13th, 2008 at 13:00.. Reason: typo
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 12:57   #10
mcguyver
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Alberta
Depends on the gun. M150 in either my M4 or CQBR PTW would shoot consistantly 455-460 fps with 0.25. As soon as I put the PDI barrel in the M16 (509mm), same cylinder shoots 480-490. Same BBs. All barrels are 6.04mm, but PDI is slightly under and Systema slightly over, maybe to the tune of 0.01mm difference between them.

Extra length does have it's advantages, regardless what she tells you.
__________________
Age verifier Northern Alberta

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep discussing what's for dinner.

Freedom is the wolves limping away while the sheep reloads.

Never confuse freedom with democracy.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 19:26   #11
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
Well I had everything taken apart on my gun to clean check it over
before the big game,looks good,I also took the hop-up apart to replace
the bucking that fell out awhile back,while looking at the barrel,there
are no markings on it to tell you what size is in it.Well I'll enjoy the
new barrel when it shows up.Thanks for the help guys.

PS :I know that without the bucking piece in my shots will be slightly off.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 20:37   #12
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
Stock Marui M16A2 inner barrel is 6.08mm dia @ 509mm long.

Other readily available sizes on the market are 6.04mm, 6.03mm and 6.01mm.

At 509/510mm, you won't see a marked difference in velocity when tightening up the bore. Combine it with larger diameter quality BBs and you should see ~10fps increase.
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 20:53   #13
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
Thanks ILLusion.Are you still getting in those 8mm prowins?.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 21:46   #14
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
I don't plan on it. Talk to me by PM. I may be able to source one for you when I go to Hong Kong.
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 22:45   #15
Double Tapper
 
Double Tapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The land of the over regulated and the banners
Send a message via MSN to Double Tapper
Would you guys figure that a 10 inch group at 56 feet is low end
accuracy?.The hop-up is adjusted to the best I can see.
Double Tapper is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.