Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Users not able to change thread titles?

:

General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2007, 12:41   #16
BloodSport
Traveling Man
 
BloodSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Yea, I believe it was changed though do to several complaints coming from teh Buy/Sell forums where users would post the gun and price in the title, then once a deal was made edit it out. Couple of them were from scams, so it was changed to a mod/admin edit only to help us identify the threads once moved to the storage area after a sale was made and reported so we could dig it out.
__________________
Saskatchewan Age Verifier! Contact for more Info.
BloodSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 17:58   #17
S.H.I.E.L.D.
Formally RedComrade
 
S.H.I.E.L.D.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S/W Ontario
That's understandable Blood. Still be nice to be able to change it ourselves though There's been several times when I posted something then looked at the title afterwards and was like "Shit, that's the dumbest title ever, it doesn't explain anything!" lol
__________________
"Tu Fui Ego Eris"
S.H.I.E.L.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2007, 04:06   #18
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
The issue is actually software related. It started occurring when we switched to the new version of the forum software - Hojo never got the time to look in to it to see if it's fixable or not.
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2007, 04:11   #19
TrueTGN
 
TrueTGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brantford, ON
Send a message via MSN to TrueTGN
Ive read that you have 1 minute after posting the topic to edit the title. In vBulletin a topic is basically treated as a regular post and the title is seperate from it.

I haven't had a chance to test the 1 minute thing, could someone? (Not that its going to make a difference if you need to change to say "Sold" but it may help for those that make a mistake just as they posted it)
__________________
www.jeepcentral.ca
TrueTGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 00:50   #20
Angry Chef
 
Angry Chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Send a message via MSN to Angry Chef
How long does it take, after pushing the ‘edit’ button before the changes happen? I recently tried to edit a post, to add players names to my list, in my first post (in game thread) and tired to give overview of the game in second post. Both times I made the text changes and clicked the edit button then wait while the black dots go round in circle for 3 mins (not sure of exact time, watching hockey) then I give up and just make a fresh post.
Any advice, help from mod/admin, would be appreciated.

10:28pm
__________________

Last edited by Angry Chef; October 7th, 2007 at 23:26..
Angry Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 03:20   #21
TrueTGN
 
TrueTGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brantford, ON
Send a message via MSN to TrueTGN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angry Chef View Post
How long does it take, after pushing the ‘edit’ button before the changes happen? I recently tried to edit a post, to add players names to my list, in my first post (in game thread) and tired to give overview of the game in second post. Both times I made the text changes and clicked the edit button then wait while the black dots go round in circle for 3 mins (not sure of exact time, watching hockey) then I give up and just make a fresh post.
Any advice, help from mod/admin, would be appreciated.
Basically to start editing you hit the edit button. The box will pop up, you do your edit.. then click save. Don't hit edit again after you've done your edits.. if that makes any sense. Click save.

Is that the problem, or is the edit box even loading after you click it?
__________________
www.jeepcentral.ca
TrueTGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 03:52   #22
Angry Chef
 
Angry Chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Send a message via MSN to Angry Chef
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueTGN View Post
Basically to start editing you hit the edit button. The box will pop up, you do your edit.. then click save. Don't hit edit again after you've done your edits.. if that makes any sense. Click save.

Is that the problem, or is the edit box even loading after you click it?
errr, ya I meant save. sorry tired.
hit edit, change text, hit save and wait (couple mins) till I get frustrated then just make a new post
__________________
Angry Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 03:53   #23
TrueTGN
 
TrueTGN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brantford, ON
Send a message via MSN to TrueTGN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angry Chef View Post
errr, ya I meant save. sorry tired.
hit edit, change text, hit save and wait (couple mins) till I get frustrated then just make a new post
Thats weird, I wouldn't know what to tell ya there. Generally for me its instant after you hit save. ODD!
__________________
www.jeepcentral.ca
TrueTGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 03:58   #24
Mantelope
Scotty aka harleyb
 
Mantelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Send a message via AIM to Mantelope Send a message via MSN to Mantelope
Probably a randomly lost connection... your browser was waiting for a response from the server that never came because data was lost somewhere along the line. Best thing to do is a quick copy of the text before you hit Save just in case. Control-A, control-C... it can save your life! Well, posts at least.
__________________
Mantelope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2007, 20:59   #25
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
I've had that issue several times, where you hit Save after editing a post and it takes forever to never to commit. I've found that in those instances, it'll work if I go to Advanced Mode and save in there.
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2007, 00:06   #26
Angry Chef
 
Angry Chef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Send a message via MSN to Angry Chef
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILLusion View Post
I've had that issue several times, where you hit Save after editing a post and it takes forever to never to commit. I've found that in those instances, it'll work if I go to Advanced Mode and save in there.
It worked, thank's ILLusion.
__________________
Angry Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 00:03   #27
Relja
 
Relja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cooksville, Mississauga, Ontario
Send a message via MSN to Relja
I just got infracted . For posting my sniper rifle questions. *Recurring infraction deleted by moderator.*

How many points are u allowed b4 ur kicked off or w/e???

Im an idiot apologies again!!!!
Edited by Relja

Last edited by Relja; October 22nd, 2007 at 20:57..
Relja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 02:10   #28
ILLusion
GBB Whisperer
 
ILLusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto
5 points for a 7 day temp ban.

I hope you enjoy it and learn something from it during your time away from here.

Last edited by ILLusion; October 15th, 2007 at 02:17..
ILLusion is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.