Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

FPS chrony measurement - automatic

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2015, 11:35   #1
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
FPS chrony measurement - automatic

If someone can humour me on why this occurs...

Using the usual cheapy XCORTECH X3200, single shot will measure the FPS just fine. When you switch to auto or burst, it will measure the ROF but the FPS is inaccurate. For example, single shot I'd get 260 FPS, but switch to auto and the FPS reading is 385. Now I understand the FPS is incorrect but why is it so? Just curious to understand where the failing is from a technical/physics(?) standpoint.
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 11:51   #2
EOD Steve
 
EOD Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Your chronograph/gun is broken.
__________________

The Steve has spoken.
EOD Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 12:34   #3
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Steve View Post
Your chronograph/gun is broken.
That would be the simplest answer but I'd push on to be broken how? The chrony itself is accurate when measured against another. The gun does in fact shoot ~260 single shot... I'm just wondering if such a low end chrony cannot accurate measure FPS when measuring ROF (huh?!)

I should check the manual
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 12:37   #4
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
Your gun is not working properly.

Is your hop off? Your BBs may not be locking into the chamber.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF32

VFC H&K 416C
VFC KAC SR16 JL Billet SBR

TM FN Five-seveN
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 12:43   #5
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestobanana View Post
Your gun is not working properly.

Is your hop off? Your BBs may not be locking into the chamber.
I like that answer though the hop is at ~50%. I should really add some context...

The gun is the P90 I have other threads on and is using the stock CYMA spring with just over 1.5 coils cut. Given the stock FPS was ~400, I tend to think that the ~260 FPS on semi is accurate. But if that's the case, how in the heck would it do 385 (readout)? Unless of course the semi shooting is hosed and firing much lower than it should consistently shot to shot.

To rule out the chrony itself I'd have to test with my other AEGs on full auto. I should do that -- will report back.
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 12:50   #6
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
I've never seen any errors on XCORTECH chrono's when shooting full auto, I would say it's most likely your gun.
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 12:57   #7
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderCactus View Post
I've never seen any errors on XCORTECH chrono's when shooting full auto, I would say it's most likely your gun.
Thanks doc, the answer will be more clear when I run the other three AEGs through it as well. Having said that, I'm wondering out it could run at 260 on a cut down spring in semi and 385 on full auto :banghead:
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 13:22   #8
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
The fact that you cut the spring has nothing to do with your FPS inconsistency.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF32

VFC H&K 416C
VFC KAC SR16 JL Billet SBR

TM FN Five-seveN
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 13:44   #9
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestobanana View Post
The fact that you cut the spring has nothing to do with your FPS inconsistency.
My cut spring comment is more for the very improbable 385 FPS. An original spring doing 400 with over 1.5 coils cut (forward end) only dropped 15 FPS? That's from my armchair reading about cutting as little as possible and not to go beyond 2 coils mind you. Your thoughts?
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 14:16   #10
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
Every spring is different, but a coil and a half dropping 15 FPS sounds normal.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF32

VFC H&K 416C
VFC KAC SR16 JL Billet SBR

TM FN Five-seveN
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 14:19   #11
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestobanana View Post
Every spring is different, but a coil and a half dropping 15 FPS sounds normal.
Ok thank you for your check. I have absolutely NO idea how many FPS even a ballpark drop might be. Given people say don't do more than 2 coils (risk of PME?) I thought the drop might be drastic. I'm going to start another thread since I've done a sanity check and the chrony is fine with the other AEGs semi/auto.
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 14:22   #12
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitninja View Post
Ok thank you for your check. I have absolutely NO idea how many FPS even a ballpark drop might be. Given people say don't do more than 2 coils (risk of PME?) I thought the drop might be drastic. I'm going to start another thread since I've done a sanity check and the chrony is fine with the other AEGs semi/auto.
The problem with reading that stuff online is that every moron has something to say. The thread you read might be filled with morons.

It doesn't matter how many coils you cut off as long as the spring is still longer than the distance between the spring guide and front of the piston. As long as it is at least that long you won't get PME caused by the spring.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF32

VFC H&K 416C
VFC KAC SR16 JL Billet SBR

TM FN Five-seveN
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 14:51   #13
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestobanana View Post
The problem with reading that stuff online is that every moron has something to say. The thread you read might be filled with morons.

It doesn't matter how many coils you cut off as long as the spring is still longer than the distance between the spring guide and front of the piston. As long as it is at least that long you won't get PME caused by the spring.
Thank you pestobanana (and others). I've continued the discussion in a more targeted way here (http://airsoftcanada.com/showthread....wpost&t=174648)
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 15:42   #14
BloodSport
Traveling Man
 
BloodSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Wait people are still cutting springs instead of spending $10 on a replacement one that is rated for a fps range?
__________________
Saskatchewan Age Verifier! Contact for more Info.
BloodSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2015, 16:31   #15
8bitninja
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodSport View Post
Wait people are still cutting springs instead of spending $10 on a replacement one that is rated for a fps range?
Only when they are in a time crunch Funny thing, wasn't able to use it anyway so it was a moot point. A proper spring is on the way.
8bitninja is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
007 Licence to Shoot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.