Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

551 on P90 elevation issues!

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 24th, 2013, 23:48   #1
Jimsbeanz
 
Jimsbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Montreal
551 on P90 elevation issues!

So i recently got my hands on a KA P90 and mounted my eotech 551 on it but when i tried to adjust the elevation to match where my shots were going i couldn't depress the reticle down far enough!

Tried turning the hop up all the way up yet i still had to aim a fair bit higher than the sights position to hit what i wanted

The rail does sit quite high up from the barrel. Is there a way to get my reticle depressed more or do i just need to get another RDS to be able to zero my shots?
Jimsbeanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 00:36   #2
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
height over bore. it's a p90.. you have to live with it.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 00:44   #3
Zack The Ripper
 
Zack The Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stouffville, ON
Send a message via MSN to Zack The Ripper
Just gotta deal with that aspect man, EOTechs are already raised simply by their base. That added with the rail riser on the P90 and you get your problem. Better off with a standard reflex sight or something similar.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard

NO EGO, ONLY HARD WORK

Primary - Z-Custom VFC ZTW
Secondary - KWA ATP
Zack The Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 03:24   #4
-=ArchAngel=-
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimsbeanz View Post
So i recently got my hands on a KA P90 and mounted my eotech 551 on it but when i tried to adjust the elevation to match where my shots were going i couldn't depress the reticle down far enough!

Tried turning the hop up all the way up yet i still had to aim a fair bit higher than the sights position to hit what i wanted

The rail does sit quite high up from the barrel. Is there a way to get my reticle depressed more or do i just need to get another RDS to be able to zero my shots?
From how far away are you trying to zero your gun?
As lurkingknight said, its a height over bore issue. Its just the nature of the weapon's sights and happens when you are shooting at a target in very close range. The aiming technique often used to adjust to this is called a "hold over". Basically, you aim high to make up for the physical limitations of the sight.

The only other option i see is either new sight that sits lower or an angled rail.

Last edited by -=ArchAngel=-; July 25th, 2013 at 03:26..
-=ArchAngel=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 11:15   #5
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
this is why the tm/ca/e1 tri-rail is nice, the height over bore is not as bad, but it's still about 3-4 inches from any illuminated optic, whereas the KA p90 is built off the red dot receiver with a mounted rail on top of it. I've had my tri-rail p90 for almost 3 years now and sometimes I STILL shoot the cover in front of me.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 11:21   #6
Hectic
Oh we do hate you, just never felt like wasting the time to give you a user title :P
 
Hectic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
You could try putting a lil spacer on the rear of the eotech (ie some tape or a bit of plastic to let the sight sit a lil higher in the back)
It probably wont fix the issue completely with how high the sight sits but it could really reduce your hold over. Even a cpl mm hight in the back will work out to a foot or more at range.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Hectic....FFS start writing in coherent sentences!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDoorn View Post
Thanks Hectic,
While your posts are sometimes a difficult read, you sure are helpfull
Lvl. 3 certified sniper
FinchFieldAirsoft
Hectic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 11:59   #7
Jimsbeanz
 
Jimsbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Montreal
i'm trying to get it zeroed for CQB ranges so around 50-80 feet i guess.

Currently my p90 looks like this, with the 551 sitting very high up



so getting a docter might help reduce the height over bore problems?

Jimsbeanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 12:03   #8
Danke
 
Danke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Danger Zone
An Aimpoint T-1 is pretty good on a P90 but for sure drop that lame rail riser setup and either run the stock optic or a tri-rail upper with a small red dot.
__________________
Airsoft, where nothing is hurt but feelings.
Danke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 12:09   #9
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
that's the way the KA p90 comes.. it has no optic, just the super tall rail.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 12:14   #10
Danke
 
Danke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Danger Zone
Lame!
__________________
Airsoft, where nothing is hurt but feelings.
Danke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 12:32   #11
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
at 50-80ft, just make it shoot 4" above center and get a true zero
Because if you zero it right to the dot, and you go out and try to shoot someone at 120ft you'll be shooting above or in the head.
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 01:28   #12
Jimsbeanz
 
Jimsbeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Montreal
Well on my way home i dropped by a surplus store and picked up a docter mini for $45



The mini rds works great i can zero in np @ 100ft and elevation isn't an issue, only problem is the screws for adjusting windage and elevation air are apparently made of butter!!

I looked at the G&P mini rds http://www.evike.com/product_info.php?products_id=37042 which seems pretty sturdy so I might pick one up from evike or RW since i can't find a canadian store that stocks them. Hopefully the G&P turns out to be more sturdy.
Jimsbeanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 11:18   #13
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderCactus View Post
at 50-80ft, just make it shoot 4" above center and get a true zero
Because if you zero it right to the dot, and you go out and try to shoot someone at 120ft you'll be shooting above or in the head.
someone who actually does realsteel shooting should do a thread on how to sight in pertaining to airsoft... I'd do it but I don't shoot and I don't understand enough about optics and terminology to be 100% accurate... but your comment touches on a subject that many people don't know how to properly work with or around.. .too often I see people trying to hop to their sights rather than sight to their propper hopped setting, whether it involves convergence or hold over issues but not properly sighting in an optic or having an improper convergence can put shots into areas where one might not want to shoot.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 11:49   #14
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
pffff airsoft sighting is easy!
step 1 - adjust your hop where you want it at max range
step 2 - adjust your sight all the way to the left and all the way up lol
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2013, 13:50   #15
Zack The Ripper
 
Zack The Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stouffville, ON
Send a message via MSN to Zack The Ripper
Easiest way to do it if you have a front sight post is to center the reticle horizontally on the front sight post. You then center your reticle vertically once you dial your hop up in like Thunder Cactus has said. I use a pop can at about 80ft that way I have a very audible *ting* to know I am on target.

If you have no front sight post, use a tooth pick. By this I mean find the center of your barrel's bore and place the toothpick vertically at this center and make sure its high enough that it is in your sight picture (doesn't have to be up to where you do is, just high enough to see in the lens). You then adjust the same way horizontally as you would with a front sight post sitting low in the sight picture. Once its centered you proceed to adjust the hop up accordingly. For this process you don't even need to fire the gun, so taping the tooth pick in place over the muzzle is not an issue (an old MacGuyver trick).

If you are still shooting left/right of your target, have a friend stand downrange to spot you and tell you if you are shooting left/right/high/low and make adjustments accordingly. This is what I do every time just for extra assurance. Its not dangerous to do this as these are BBs, not high velocity rounds, so as long as he/she has eye pro on they can stand literally a few feet from your target to get a good sighting on where your rounds are landing.

Sounds complicated, its really not.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard

NO EGO, ONLY HARD WORK

Primary - Z-Custom VFC ZTW
Secondary - KWA ATP

Last edited by Zack The Ripper; July 28th, 2013 at 13:53..
Zack The Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.