Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Does this Piston have to be replaced?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2013, 15:16   #1
ZanderFTW
 
ZanderFTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mississauga
Does this Piston have to be replaced?

Hello everybody, I was opening my gearbox for the first time today to install a new nozzle, shims, grease, and a sorbo pad. I noticed some wear on my piston, and I'm not sure if i should replace it or not.

[IMG]991134_278442422301223_1190494236_o.jpg[/IMG]
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 991134_278442422301223_1190494236_o.jpg (1,022.0 KB, 62 views)
ZanderFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2013, 15:34   #2
Renegade)
A Total Bastard
 
Renegade)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tottenham, Ontario
Looks like its being worn out, Id replace it with a better one that can handle your set up. I am guessing thats the stock on, looks like JG or something.

Better to do it when you have the gun apart than when it strips next game.
__________________
W1-5
Renegade) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2013, 15:39   #3
j3ttamaster
 
j3ttamaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cayuga
Echo 1? I'd say replace it, it's already out

Is there a chunk out of the back side of the head too?
__________________
I hate the phrase "Life is short" because life is literally the longest thing any of us will ever experience.

http://www.facebook.com/RaptureTeamAirsoft
Rapture Team Airsoft is proudly sponsored by http://mach1airsoft.com/
j3ttamaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2013, 16:22   #4
666
 
666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Looks like last tooth is completely worn off.
666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2013, 17:24   #5
ZanderFTW
 
ZanderFTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mississauga
It's an echo 1 st6 which is a basic m4 pretty much. I downgraded the spring to a m90 spring but the piston is still stock. The third tooth is worn down because I'm correcting the aoe, here's some more pictures...

[IMG]991212_278481365630662_208163711_o.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]989086_278481238964008_1555170283_o.jpg[/IMG]

Should I just get the echo 1 piston again, or should I get a different one?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 991212_278481365630662_208163711_o.jpg (560.9 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 989086_278481238964008_1555170283_o.jpg (614.7 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by ZanderFTW; June 1st, 2013 at 17:27..
ZanderFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2013, 20:18   #6
Trapper1
 
Trapper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stony mountain, MB
Buy a quality replacement.
Trapper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2013, 04:28   #7
pestobanana
Squid Porn Superstar, I love the tentacles!
 
pestobanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richmond Hill and Waterloo, Ontario
The piston looks worn, but still intact. It will still function, but not for long. Replace your piston head while you're at it, there's a chunk that broke off of it too.
__________________
Guardians of Asgaard - KF32

VFC H&K 416C
VFC KAC SR16 JL Billet SBR

TM FN Five-seveN
pestobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2013, 10:09   #8
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
Especially you're running stock gears, replace the piston.
I've seen piston chunks make the mechbox come to an instant dead stop and break off some gear teeth
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2013, 10:11   #9
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
You can actually see your pickup starting to deform from the sector hitting it. Get a shs 15 tooth steel rack piston and correct the aoe with that. You need to file the tooth down flat. nice thing is you can take the rack right out of the piston to do it. You can also do a half steel rack piston and you won't get that wear pattern by the release tooth. Halfrack is lighter, but you could still run into the same issues with the pickup wearing. On an m90 spring through, piston weight makes a difference.

Still stock motor? what battery?


If your gears are turning too fast, you'll get preengagement or overspin regardless because the 90 spring is too weak to return the piston before the gears come for another cycle. This is why guys use a 120 spring and shortstroke teeth off the sector and piston.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.

Last edited by lurkingknight; June 3rd, 2013 at 10:14..
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.