Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

2 piece hop ups?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2013, 23:18   #1
JDoorn
 
JDoorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WPG
2 piece hop ups?

1st question: can a 2 piece hop up unit be replaced with a 1 piece with out any other modifications?
2nd question: is there a trick to removing the inner barrel and 2 piece hop up from the gun. It seems to be held in by more than just friction... Looks like there are a couple split pins going in through the outer barrel and possibly into the hop up somehow.
I may be way off, I know there is an amazing amount of knowledge in this forum's users heads. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thank you
__________________
I own you bum! I've got money for days!
Korps Commandotroepen
Nunc aut Nunquam
JDoorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2013, 23:26   #2
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
1) No. You must cut away at the other piece of the hopup on the lower receiver.

2) I'm not sure how the 2 piece system works since I don't own any guns that use it but if you take the "C clip" off you should be able to just pull it out like you would with a standard 1 piece. Note the hop up bucking is likely putting friction on the hop up to hold the barrel in place.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2013, 23:41   #3
Hectic
Oh we do hate you, just never felt like wasting the time to give you a user title :P
 
Hectic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
What kind of gun is it an m4?
If so then yes the normal 1 peice hop up will replace the 2 peice. (you will likely have to mod the lowwer reciver to fit the one peice in)
There is a c clip at the front of the hop up that has to come off for the barrel to come out. Also you should at least turn the hop up all the way off or even better remove the screw and the adjustment wheel from the unit so you can tilt the arm out of the unit. Then give the barrel a lil twist back n forth as you pull. I find alot of the china stuff seems as tho its glued in place lol but itll come out with a lil love
http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=134415

There are replacement 2 peices available if you google it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Hectic....FFS start writing in coherent sentences!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDoorn View Post
Thanks Hectic,
While your posts are sometimes a difficult read, you sure are helpfull
Lvl. 3 certified sniper
FinchFieldAirsoft

Last edited by Hectic; April 12th, 2013 at 23:47..
Hectic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2013, 00:12   #4
JDoorn
 
JDoorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WPG
Thank you for the advice.
With a little investagatory work, I discovered that there is an Allen/set screw holding the inner barrel in the outer barrel. Loosen the screw, and the inner barrel slides right out... Go figure.
I can see What, on the lower receiver needs to be cut out. I'm assuming the best tool for that would be a dremmel? When this mod is done is there anything at the bottom of What will be the 1 piece hop up to support it? Or is no "lower support" necessary?
Thanks again
__________________
I own you bum! I've got money for days!
Korps Commandotroepen
Nunc aut Nunquam
JDoorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2013, 00:19   #5
Hectic
Oh we do hate you, just never felt like wasting the time to give you a user title :P
 
Hectic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
No lowwer support. The two tabs that are on the upper portion that hold it level in the upper is what will hold it. But to save you issues id just stick with the 2 peice if you dont do a perfect job on the lowwer you cold habe issues
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by m102404 View Post
Hectic....FFS start writing in coherent sentences!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDoorn View Post
Thanks Hectic,
While your posts are sometimes a difficult read, you sure are helpfull
Lvl. 3 certified sniper
FinchFieldAirsoft
Hectic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2013, 00:23   #6
JDoorn
 
JDoorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WPG
Yes, I'm just reading that thread you linked... Seems I should just leave the unit and change the rubber. It's an AGM 416 BTW. I had bought it used and am just trying to improve performance. Along with a hop up, I bought shims, a nozzle, piston, and piston head, spring and spring guide...
__________________
I own you bum! I've got money for days!
Korps Commandotroepen
Nunc aut Nunquam
JDoorn is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.