Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

My M15A4 Sportline has kicked the bucket

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2013, 14:33   #1
NS-Airsoft-Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
My M15A4 Sportline has kicked the bucket

Just an hour ago I was having some fun with my stock CA M15A4 Sportline Rifle, shooting a couple targets with rapid semi-auto fire. After going through three 85-round VN mid-caps and one 190-round VN high-cap, my gun quits on me and absolutely doesn't do anything (doesn't make a single sound) when I pull the trigger.

I immediately removed the rear stock and checked the 20A fuse in the wire set to see if that was the issue; it was still completely intact. I then directly connected the mini-Tamiya connector coming right out of the mechbox to a charged-up Ni-MH stick battery from my father's CYMA CM042S AKS AEG; I tried both of his stick batteries one at a time and my gun was still dead.

When my gun failed there was still a BB chambered in the hop-up unit; I had to dislodge it using the supplied cleaning/unjamming rod. I'm concerned that the mechbox spring might still be compressed, so I've included some pictures of the mechbox in the gun so you guys can look and see if that's the case or not:




Also, I was a bit disappointed to see that Classic Army had installed an M4-length 363mm barrel in my gun, instead of a typical M16-length 509mm barrel (I guess I got what I paid for):


Isn't using a short barrel with an unported mechbox cylinder a bad combo, as explained by MadMax in this old thread? http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=18038


Could my stock motor have blown, or is there also something wrong with my stock mechbox as well?
__________________
My airsoft guns:
Classic Army M15A4 Sportline Rifle (SP003P-1)
Umarex Beretta 92FS Walmart Clearsoft Spring Pistol

Last edited by NS-Airsoft-Noob; January 29th, 2013 at 15:10..
NS-Airsoft-Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 14:40   #2
phloudernow
 
phloudernow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto - Ontario, Vancouver - B.C and Hong Kong
Send a message via MSN to phloudernow Send a message via Skype™ to phloudernow
Might be loose motor connectors that is one thing you you can check. take the base plate off your motor grip and check to see if your wires are loose. if they are put them back in and check. if still nothing it might be ur motor as died. no sounds are usually something to do with the motor or your wires.
__________________
Current Lineup:
VFC HK416 Custom
Custom Bowie Tactical x SAI Glock 17 (TM Base),
Custom SAI BLU Glock Build (Timberwolf Base)
Custom Zev Noveske Shooting Team Glock 34
Project Guns
Custom Zev Dragonfly G17 (Project) (In progress)
phloudernow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 14:53   #3
Rusty Lugnuts
Fainting Goat, Dictator of Quinte West
 
Rusty Lugnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cobourg Ontario
That spring is not particularly compressed, if it was you would see piston in the mechbox cut out not spring
Rusty Lugnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 14:53   #4
Jimski
 
Jimski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal
spring doesn't look very compressed, anyway it wouldn't matter much.
As soon as the mechbox opens a bit the spring uncompresses.
__________________
Jimski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 14:57   #5
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
The only way to figure out what's going on is to get it diagnosed or opened up by someone who knows what they're doing. As a gundoc, showing me the outside of a mechbox does nothing to help.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 15:07   #6
NS-Airsoft-Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Thanks to phloudernow's suggestion, my gun works again. After popping off the bottom plate from the pistol grip, I saw that the positive wire was loose; put it back in place and the gun fires normally again.

Sorry everyone for me jumping to conclusions; please forgive me as I'm still new to the whole AEG side of airsoft, having only owned cheap Canadian Tire and Walmart spring clearsoft before being able to afford this M15A4 Sportline with all the Christmas money I got during the holidays.

But I want to now ask, am I right that the cylinder on my mechbox is of the unported type? I have a new Madbull Black Python 509mm-length 6.03mm tightbore barrel on its way to me so I'd like to know, as I've heard ported cylinders don't work with long barrels.
__________________
My airsoft guns:
Classic Army M15A4 Sportline Rifle (SP003P-1)
Umarex Beretta 92FS Walmart Clearsoft Spring Pistol

Last edited by NS-Airsoft-Noob; January 29th, 2013 at 15:12..
NS-Airsoft-Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 15:12   #7
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Yes, your cylinder has no ports in it, therefore it's an unported cylinder. Which is also correct for an M16 (510mm) inner barrel.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 15:19   #8
NS-Airsoft-Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
Yes, your cylinder has no ports in it, therefore it's an unported cylinder. Which is also correct for an M16 (510mm) inner barrel.
Thanks Styrak for confirming that.
__________________
My airsoft guns:
Classic Army M15A4 Sportline Rifle (SP003P-1)
Umarex Beretta 92FS Walmart Clearsoft Spring Pistol

Last edited by NS-Airsoft-Noob; January 29th, 2013 at 15:31..
NS-Airsoft-Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 15:33   #9
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
there's nothing inherently wrong with using an overvolumed cylinder. The side effect of it will be some slightly higher velocity using heavier ammo... so if you clock at 400 with .2s, technically if everything was properly matched, you should see about 327 with say a .3 but it will actually be a little higher.

Your gun will not explode.
__________________
I futz with V2s, V3s and V6s. I could be wrong... but probably, most likely not, as far as I know.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 17:53   #10
Maxxa
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Belleville, ON
Have you tried putting it in auto and pulling the trigger? These V2 gearboxes are known to lock up in semi if the trigger isn't pulled right back quick enough. This has happened to me on at least 2 occasions.
Maxxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 17:58   #11
Wrath144
formerly steyr
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Your cylinder port may also be hidden inside the mechbox.
__________________
BROFORCE
Admin - Winnipeg Airsoft
Wrath144 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.