Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Plug in MOSFET for ARES?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 31st, 2012, 05:32   #1
GBBR
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto
Send a message via MSN to GBBR Send a message via Skype™ to GBBR
Plug in MOSFET for ARES?

I have an Ares LMG.
Here is whats inside
Guarder Torque up motor
modify piston head
modify cylinder head
modify m90 spring

I just want to know if there is any plug and play mosfets available that would be significantly beneficial to me.

as mainly a gas guy, I'm used to the almost instantaneous trigger response, now I know that there is no way to 100% replicate this. Is there anything an AEG elistist can tell me to improve this thing?

Im a noob with these things :P
GBBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 11:41   #2
MaciekA
 
MaciekA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
As far as I know the Ares LMG uses a proprietary gearbox so you are out of luck if you want to install something like a Raptor or Chimera, so unfortunately the product you're looking for simply doesn't exist.

Your best option is to learn how to disassemble and reassemble the LMG and its gearbox so that you can assess whether you would be able to install a real FET like this one: http://www.airsoftstore.ca/index.php...roducts_id=134 . That's realistically the only way you're going to deliver more power to your motor/gear system.

Also, before anyone tries to confuse you, "plug-in" trigger computer units like the Burst Avocado and Burst Wizard, etc, do not and cannot function as MOSFETs. They physically cannot increase power delivery or trigger response due to being in-line with the battery.
__________________
"Mah check"

Now you know

MaciekA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:24   #3
GBBR
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto
Send a message via MSN to GBBR Send a message via Skype™ to GBBR
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaciekA View Post
As far as I know the Ares LMG uses a proprietary gearbox so you are out of luck if you want to install something like a Raptor or Chimera, so unfortunately the product you're looking for simply doesn't exist.

Your best option is to learn how to disassemble and reassemble the LMG and its gearbox so that you can assess whether you would be able to install a real FET like this one: http://www.airsoftstore.ca/index.php...roducts_id=134 . That's realistically the only way you're going to deliver more power to your motor/gear system.

Also, before anyone tries to confuse you, "plug-in" trigger computer units like the Burst Avocado and Burst Wizard, etc, do not and cannot function as MOSFETs. They physically cannot increase power delivery or trigger response due to being in-line with the battery.
thanks for letting me know. I believe the LMG gearbox is not only used in the LMG. I believe its also used in the M14 as well. when my teammates m14 arrives I will see " also ares" perhaps if it is the m14 gearbox, i can maybe dump a relugar m14 gb inside? i got absolutly no idea. :P

I pretty much knew the BW and the avocado thing is garbage, thanks for confirming it tho

I guess im SOL?
GBBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:26   #4
Stealth
Mr. Silencer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
You should probably read this:

http://extreme-fire.com/Micro-Switch-Bounce.pdf

I think if you got a good switch you can theoretically hook up a MOSFET to it, but the limiting thing is your microswitch at this point. Welcome to ARES.
Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:32   #5
GBBR
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto
Send a message via MSN to GBBR Send a message via Skype™ to GBBR
Like I stated before. Im a mainly gas person. Ive owned aegs before but they where like "ohh this is cool" buy it and play with it a few times and sell it.

Ive never actaully commited my time into an AEG but for some odd reason I love this one.

Thanks for your link

Im really SOL :P
Guess I'll just suck it up
GBBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2012, 12:51   #6
ThunderCactus
Not Eye Safe
 
ThunderCactus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary...now with less oil industry than eco-hipster Vancouver
You can put an external mosfet on any AEG, but you do need to take the mechbox apart to wire them.
As stated, the problem you'll likely encounter is a poor quality microswitch trigger that might not maintain a closed loop trigger signal, making it seem like the mosfet doesn't work, or only works intermittently
__________________
Tamiya connectors suck.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatt13 View Post
i never understood why the oil refinery had a brothel... i never see them at the refineries i work at this is bull!
ThunderCactus is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
https://blackblitzairsoft.myshopify.com/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 16:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.