Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Lipo charging.

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2012, 17:28   #1
JerryMcGoulBerry
 
JerryMcGoulBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary Alberta
Lipo charging.

I got a bunch of lipos from Hobbyking. however, there is something I'm not sure about
I got this charger
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...40v_Input.html
and I was happy, until I was talking with one of my friends and he said there needs to be something to connect my Tamiya connecter to, but the balance connecter is all this charger has. so do I need to plug the balance connecter into this charger, and then plug it into a smart charger? or is this charger actually charging my batteries?
JerryMcGoulBerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 18:04   #2
R.I.T.Z
Crackers
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Barrie
some balance connectors charge the batteries as well
__________________
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in ruttin' command here."
R.I.T.Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 19:05   #3
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
That's how balance connectors work.... You can push current through individual wires to balance the entire pack (but obviously you can't push too much current otherwise the wires would heat up and catch fire, it's a limitation of the material and thickness, ie. you probably wouldn't want to push 100 Amps through 28AWG wire that's only rated for 20A but the thin balance wires can take like 650mA without heating up too much and catching fire).

More expensive chargers you'll have proper charging wires to push current through (ie. My $50 Turnigy charger setup could probably push like 10Amps if I wanted it to but I'll usually just charge it at like 2.8Amp) the main wires and then when it's about finished will "trickle charge" small amounts of current through the balance connectors to balance them.

Your charger just charges at a low rate (650mA).
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 19:52   #4
JerryMcGoulBerry
 
JerryMcGoulBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Calgary Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
That's how balance connectors work.... You can push current through individual wires to balance the entire pack (but obviously you can't push too much current otherwise the wires would heat up and catch fire, it's a limitation of the material and thickness, ie. you probably wouldn't want to push 100 Amps through 28AWG wire that's only rated for 20A but the thin balance wires can take like 650mA without heating up too much and catching fire).

More expensive chargers you'll have proper charging wires to push current through (ie. My $50 Turnigy charger setup could probably push like 10Amps if I wanted it to but I'll usually just charge it at like 2.8Amp) the main wires and then when it's about finished will "trickle charge" small amounts of current through the balance connectors to balance them.

Your charger just charges at a low rate (650mA).

Mine doesnt have any functions at all. you plug it in, a light shows up, and thats it.
JerryMcGoulBerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 19:55   #5
R.I.T.Z
Crackers
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Barrie
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryMcGoulBerry View Post
Mine doesnt have any functions at all. you plug it in, a light shows up, and thats it.
its a really cheap charger I'd be careful with it.
most people i've noticed run a Imax B6 Universial Charger little more expensive but worth every penny especially when you start running different sized batteries and types.
__________________
"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in ruttin' command here."
R.I.T.Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 20:32   #6
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryMcGoulBerry View Post
Mine doesnt have any functions at all. you plug it in, a light shows up, and thats it.
It's fine. You can't push more current through so you don't need the other wires. It's essentially, a slightly smarter, slow charging lipo wall wart. It detects and balances voltage between each cell as it charges. That's all you need. Just don't charge anything unattended.

My madbull charger is the exact same thing and only uses the balancing plug to charge. But my Imax B6, on the other hand, can push a lot of current into lipo and life batteries to charge them very quickly. But it can also charge NiCad, NiMH, lead etc...
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 10:21   #7
SuperHog
 
SuperHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryMcGoulBerry View Post
I got a bunch of lipos from Hobbyking. however, there is something I'm not sure about
I got this charger
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...40v_Input.html
and I was happy, until I was talking with one of my friends and he said there needs to be something to connect my Tamiya connecter to, but the balance connecter is all this charger has. so do I need to plug the balance connecter into this charger, and then plug it into a smart charger? or is this charger actually charging my batteries?
That charger is junk. For $5 more you should have bought this one, http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Balancer.html

Unless your budget is $11.99 only.

Also with the current that your gun is pulling, change out the Tamiya to either Deans or XT60.

This will save you a lot of headaches and you can focus on other areas of the sport.
SuperHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 11:38   #8
Fuji
 
Fuji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Markham, Ontario
Have to agree. There are far better choices for a charger than the one you chose for 11.99. I don't see if it has a storage mode for your lipos?
Fuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2012, 09:30   #9
kalnaren
 
kalnaren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, Ontario
My LiPo charger costed in the ballpark of $120.

You'll thank yourself for buying a good charger the first time you see a lipo cell ignite from overcharging with a shitty charger.

You'll also thank yourself after you have to replace your 10th lipo because your charger doesn't store the batteries properly, charge them properly, or balance them properly.
__________________

Quote:
"Someone in a Prius tried to race me at a stop sign the other day. I couldn't believe it. I had him for the first 100 feet or so but I can only walk so fast."
kalnaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 13:46   #10
Ayashifx55
 
Ayashifx55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec, Montreal
I have a extra Imax B6AC if anyone wants. 55$ shipped

It basically charges anything. I have to use both balance plug and whatever tamiya or dean plug. On default it pushes 2.2A but i guess that's enough. It has storage mode but i've never used it.
__________________
No guns.
Ayashifx55 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.