Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Possible to move rear wiring to front on G&P?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 14th, 2012, 14:41   #1
ao_tenshi
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Possible to move rear wiring to front on G&P?

Hi all,

Would anyone be able to give me some idea on whether if its possible to move a rear wired G&P rifle to the front? I did some research and realize most ppl prefer the rear wiring. However, the buffer tube on G&P's are just SO SMALL to fit a decent capacity battery in it. What I'm hoping to do is run the wire to the front and add a PEQ battery box to put a bigger battery in.

So wanted to get some thoughts on:
1) if this is possible
2) if this is a easy mod (i.e. re-organize or run the wire to the front) or a complicated mod (i.e. new wires, soldering, rebuilding something).

Thanks in advance!
ao_tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 15:03   #2
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
easy... as long as there's room in the receiver to route wires. Though I've never done it on a v2 before... usually all it involves is just running new wire and soldering. Just replace it all 1 for 1 and do it 1 at a time so you don't get lost.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 15:53   #3
horto
 
horto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
why don't you just put in a lipo-sized buffer tube?

e.g. with a king arms lipo buffer tube I can easily fit a 11.1v 1100mah 15C lipo.

alternatively, this lipo fits just about anywhere (even in regular crane stocks) and lasts all day.

In general, I would recommend the 7.4 lipo over the 11.1. ROF and trigger response are as good, but less wear on trigger contacts. Unless you install a mosfet... in which case use whatever you want.
__________________
H-61 "Acta non verba"
They see us rollin, they hatin...

Last edited by horto; September 14th, 2012 at 16:02..
horto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 15:59   #4
ao_tenshi
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by horto View Post
why don't you just put in a lipo buffer tube?

e.g. with a king arms lipo buffer tube I can easily fit a 11.1v 1500mah lipo.

alternatively, this lipo fits just about anywhere and lasts all day.


That's pretty much the same buffer tube that comes with a G&P (LMT TR). The 1100mAh lipo runs low in about 2hrs.... im hopin to be able to run on larger 1800mAh lipos (7.4v).

If there is a way to increase the size of the storage in the stock, I'm all ears to that too.
ao_tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:14   #5
Fuji
 
Fuji's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Markham, Ontario
I have this battery that I run in another aeg. My friend tried it in his G&P buffer tube and fit no problem. It might be worth checking out. The dimensions are listed.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...SOFT_Pack.html
Fuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:31   #6
horto
 
horto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by ao_tenshi View Post
That's pretty much the same buffer tube that comes with a G&P (LMT TR). The 1100mAh lipo runs low in about 2hrs.... im hopin to be able to run on larger 1800mAh lipos (7.4v).

If there is a way to increase the size of the storage in the stock, I'm all ears to that too.
I think what needs increasing is your trigger control.
__________________
H-61 "Acta non verba"
They see us rollin, they hatin...
horto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:33   #7
ShelledPants
 
ShelledPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, On
Quote:
Originally Posted by horto View Post
I think what needs increasing is your trigger control.
Agreed, at around 1200rnds expended over 6 hours, I can confirm that G&P's can run an 11.1 lipo 1200mah without running out.
__________________


r skal rsa, s er annars vill
f ea fjr hafa. Sjaldan liggjandi lfur
lr um getur n sofandi maur sigur.
ShelledPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:41   #8
horto
 
horto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuji View Post
I have this battery that I run in another aeg. My friend tried it in his G&P buffer tube and fit no problem. It might be worth checking out. The dimensions are listed.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...SOFT_Pack.html
I've tried the majority of Hobby King's airsoft packs that fit in buffer tubes... they are quite a bit longer than the other batteries I posted above! They limit your ability to collapse the stock or tuck a mosfet inside as well.

as shown here:


hobby king top left
intellect 7.4v 2nd from top left
g&p/KA 11.1v 3rd and 4th from top left
__________________
H-61 "Acta non verba"
They see us rollin, they hatin...

Last edited by horto; September 14th, 2012 at 17:08..
horto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:41   #9
ao_tenshi
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuji View Post
I have this battery that I run in another aeg. My friend tried it in his G&P buffer tube and fit no problem. It might be worth checking out. The dimensions are listed.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...SOFT_Pack.html

This could likely be the easiet solution. I'll definitely have to verify if this battery will fit. Thanks for the suggestion!!!
ao_tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 16:48   #10
ao_tenshi
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShelledPants View Post
Agreed, at around 1200rnds expended over 6 hours, I can confirm that G&P's can run an 11.1 lipo 1200mah without running out.
hmm... I was running a 1100mah 7.4v lipo, the gun is stock and shoots at only 330fps.... after about 2hrs, shooting ~750rounds in semi, the battery started to lose power (as in semi-auto stops working, and have to switch to full-auto then switch back to semi to be able to fire again).

Im guessing its the condition experienced was a battery issue rather than a gun issue.
ao_tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
MILSIG

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.