Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

New gearbox for JG/Velocity Arms 36C

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:05   #1
Joewa654321
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
New gearbox for JG/Velocity Arms 36C

I busted my old gearbox, so I need a new one, on a Canadian site and fast. Anyone know a good one? I put JG in the title because they're much more well known than Velocity Arms and alot of people have the JG G36C and the two guns are basically the exact same thing. Anyone know a good gearbox on a Canadian site that isnt Toronto airsoft because they never restock? The gearbox must fit the G36c and come with a motor.

Last edited by Joewa654321; July 10th, 2012 at 18:09.. Reason: Clarification
Joewa654321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:10   #2
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
What do you mean "busted" your gearbox? The shell?
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:12   #3
Joewa654321
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Styrak View Post
What do you mean "busted" your gearbox? The shell?
I busted up some gears and other stuff, long story short, I need a whole new gearbox.
Any suggestions?
Joewa654321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:17   #4
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
Airsoft parts has V3 AK gearboxes that should fit the G36. May I suggest the LCT V3 gearbox as being a pretty good one. He also stocks the KA V3 gearbox as well. Only thing you'll need to change is the selector plate but you can take that off your current broken gearbox or buy one for like $10 or whatever.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:21   #5
Joewa654321
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
Airsoft parts has V3 AK gearboxes that should fit the G36. May I suggest the LCT V3 gearbox as being a pretty good one. He also stocks the KA V3 gearbox as well
Hold up, i'm a little confused at your comment. AK gearboxes fit G36C guns?
Joewa654321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:26   #6
RaisinBran
 
RaisinBran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burnaby,BC
They are V3, so yes.
__________________
Armoury:
TM M4A1
ICS M4A1
JG M4A1
RaisinBran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2012, 18:29   #7
Joewa654321
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaisinBran View Post
They are V3, so yes.
That is extremely handy. If I used an AK V3 gearbox on my G36C, would I get higher or lower FPS and different ROF? And wouldnt using a different gearbox not fit the gun because the triggers would be different sizes? I need to be sure on this as I have a game this weekend that I really dont want to miss.
Joewa654321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 02:26   #8
hua96
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brampton, Ontario
I'd also like to know the answer to this. Have you tried it Joewa?
hua96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 02:44   #9
Affliction
a.k.a. Fury a.k.a. VipaMave
 
Affliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Markham-ON
Send a message via AIM to Affliction Send a message via MSN to Affliction
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joewa654321 View Post
That is extremely handy. If I used an AK V3 gearbox on my G36C, would I get higher or lower FPS and different ROF? And wouldnt using a different gearbox not fit the gun because the triggers would be different sizes? I need to be sure on this as I have a game this weekend that I really dont want to miss.
Gearboxes are gearboxes, there is no special AK, M4, G36, or any other gearbox. V2 Gearboxes are standard, V3 Gearboxes are slimmer profile. Your FPS will depend on the spring strength within the gearbox while the ROF will be affected by proper gear shimming and the cycle rate of your motor (provided it is outputting enough torque for your gears).

If you drop in a gearbox with a stronger spring, you will have more FPS. If you don't want to change the FPS, take the spring out of your old gearbox and use that.
Affliction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 11:30   #10
Re1ko
 
Re1ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Red Deer, AB
An AK gearbox will not just drop into a G36. You will have to replace the selector plate as well as the loading nozzle and don't forget the different motor mount as an AK one will not fit in the G36 grip. If you broke some parts of the interals why not just replace the broken parts. Lot cheaper then getting a complete gearbox.
Re1ko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 11:54   #11
lurkingknight
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa
different parts between AK v3 and g36 v3:

selector plate
air seal nozzle
safety mechanism
physical trigger

Not sure on the motor cage though.
lurkingknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 15:20   #12
MaciekA
 
MaciekA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
The motor cage is different between the AK and G36. If you're lucky, you'll be able to re-use the JG/VA one (many V3 gearboxes don't come with a cage included). The thing is, the JG/VA stock motor cage is probably one of the lowest quality components in that entire gun.

There are plenty of G36 motor cages on sale out there, if not continent-side, then at ehobby, KH mountain and elsewhere.
__________________
"Mah check"

Now you know

MaciekA is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
Airsoft Depot

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.