Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

sub c batteries & thompson

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2012, 19:49   #1
Rusty Lugnuts
Fainting Goat, Dictator of Quinte West
 
Rusty Lugnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cobourg Ontario
sub c batteries & thompson

Hi Does anyone know if a 8.4 large battery (sub c size cells) fit in a Thompson and also would the 4400 mah wreck it? thanks
Rusty Lugnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 19:51   #2
Strelok
 
Strelok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon Manitoba
If its a plastic 'wood' stock, you may have to make modifications to have clearance for the battery. The wood stocks i've seen have had enough space for a large 8.4
Strelok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 20:55   #3
Rusty Lugnuts
Fainting Goat, Dictator of Quinte West
 
Rusty Lugnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cobourg Ontario
I found some dimensions online , cut a block of wood and... yup should barely fit, So the remaining question is will 4400 Mah damage the gun?
Rusty Lugnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 21:17   #4
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
No. MaH is the rating of how much power it holds AKA how long it will last.
An 8.4v large is a pretty standard battery that you can use in any gun. Even a 9.6v large.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 21:18   #5
spaceman13
so far out of here, Nasa started tracking
 
spaceman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bathurst NB
The biggest battery i was able to fit in my Thompson was a 8,4v 3800mah.Bigger than that it wont fit lengthwise.I have an intellect 8.4v 4200 mah and it does not fit,the battery door does not close fully,the 3800mah has just enough clearance.
__________________
okey dokey lokey

Last edited by spaceman13; May 3rd, 2012 at 21:24..
spaceman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 21:56   #6
Rusty Lugnuts
Fainting Goat, Dictator of Quinte West
 
Rusty Lugnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cobourg Ontario
Well this kind of a dumb question ( but i am in the right forum for it) I was under the impression that a Sub C was the size ( dimensions) and that it was standard for all Sub C batteries regardless of manufacturer. So Spaceman13 are intellect Subc's bigger than other Subc's or maybe the jump to Subc size cells happens between 3800 and 4200 mah's?
Rusty Lugnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 22:26   #7
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
There will probably be slight differences from manufacturer to manufacturer.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 22:28   #8
spaceman13
so far out of here, Nasa started tracking
 
spaceman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bathurst NB
Probably a different brand other than intellect could fit.The intellect has a bigger plastic cap where the wires come out compared to the other battery i use.
I don't know much when it comes to cell size.
The 3800mah fit like it was made for it without bending the wires too much when the door is closed.
__________________
okey dokey lokey
spaceman13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2012, 22:47   #9
Rusty Lugnuts
Fainting Goat, Dictator of Quinte West
 
Rusty Lugnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cobourg Ontario
Thanks, By the way does anybody use 9.6 batteries in their thompson. I'm not that brave
Rusty Lugnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2012, 10:59   #10
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
The V6 gearbox in the Thompson is pretty robust. I'd have no issues myself using a 9.6V battery in mine. Remember, there's limited space, so you wouldn't be using 9.6V sub-C cell packs, meaning you wouldn't have as high a capacity or discharge rate.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
www.jsairsoft.com

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.