Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

TM M4A1 NavySeals *required battery power???*

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2011, 23:27   #1
Kennytaker
 
Kennytaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Question TM M4A1 NavySeals *required battery power???*

This is actually for my buddy, we're both new so... Question is he has a 600mAh 7cell NiCd battery pack. is that enough to power and shoot the
Tokyo Marui M4A1 NavySeals Stock? or should he just buy a new battery?

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Arsenal:
Kennytaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2011, 23:35   #2
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
It should be but it's probably a good idea to get another battery with more amperage so the battery will last longer (generally you can approximate that 1 mAh = 1 shot, 600 mAh = 600 shots more or less which might be OK for an indoor/short game but doesn't cut it for a day long game unless you're easy on the trigger and definitely won't cut it for a milsim).

I would suggest putting a PEQ box up front with a brick battery inside even if you're easy on the trigger. I have a 2800 mAh 9.6V myself and I definitely pick my shots but the extra insurance of the extra amperage is always comforting.

NB: 8.4V (7 Cells at 1.2V) is a pretty standard voltage especially for TM's.
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2011, 23:45   #3
Kennytaker
 
Kennytaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by L473ncy View Post
It should be but it's probably a good idea to get another battery with more amperage so the battery will last longer (generally you can approximate that 1 mAh = 1 shot, 600 mAh = 600 shots more or less which might be OK for an indoor/short game but doesn't cut it for a day long game unless you're easy on the trigger and definitely won't cut it for a milsim).

I would suggest putting a PEQ box up front with a brick battery inside even if you're easy on the trigger. I have a 2800 mAh 9.6V myself and I definitely pick my shots but the extra insurance of the extra amperage is always comforting.

NB: 8.4V (7 Cells at 1.2V) is a pretty standard voltage especially for TM's.
Awesome, thanks man. I'll tell him to just buy a new 8.4v battery. What charger are you using brand wise?
__________________
Arsenal:
Kennytaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2011, 00:04   #4
L473ncy
 
L473ncy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 11-30-24-1W5
Can't complain about the iMax B6:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._GENUINE_.html

Another one I've heard good things about though is the Turnigy Accucel series:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...cessories.html

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...r_Charger.html

TBH I don't know much about chargers but if you read about them on RC forums they'll be the ones to know about which chargers/batteries are the best. But TBH for airsoft purposes pretty much any smart charger will be fine. Even the simple plug and play "smart chargers" with no led display screen (EDIT: It should have voltage cutoff (usually marketed as "Negative Delta V") and also have a light that turns on or off to let you know when it's done). Note however that if you want to charge lipos you will need a charger that has ports for balance leads to make sure you don't damage the pack when charging and that each cell will be at equal voltage.

PS: Chargers I've linked to don't include power supplies. Go to an electronics shop for that or buy off their website (but make sure you get a 100-120v power supply seeing as we are in N. America and we use 110V for our mains supply).
__________________
ಠ_ಠLess QQ more Pew Pew
READY TO >> RACE

Last edited by L473ncy; September 21st, 2011 at 00:13..
L473ncy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2011, 11:32   #5
Kennytaker
 
Kennytaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
That's actually the one I have the iMax B6 works great with my li-po. smooth and easy, and I love it.

But my buddy's Ni-Cd, I set it so it's at 0.1A nicd charge and max current is 0.5A but it always shuts down after a minute. Then the warning "Break Down" pops up and stops.

Manuel just says (The Charger has malfunctioned for some reason, Seek professional advice) Not sure why, but if you re-start it a few times it runs and charges for about 15mins at 0.5Aand then same warning pops up.

Thinking he needs a higher end charger!?
__________________
Arsenal:
Kennytaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2011, 14:41   #6
Ricochet
Can I ask you a serious question? How much sand can you fit in your vagina?
 
Ricochet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Delta, BC (Greater Vancouver)
That gun should run on a 7.4 lipo, without modification. Except you may have to change from small tamiyas to deans connectors.

Last edited by Ricochet; September 21st, 2011 at 14:44..
Ricochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 01:29   #7
bao_pay
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: toronto
Send a message via MSN to bao_pay
thanks for asking for me KenTak... just found this post lol... now i know where you got all the info
bao_pay is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.