Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

aftermath lycaon to mp5k?

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 29th, 2011, 13:26   #1
5udhir
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
aftermath lycaon to mp5k?

Hi, I couple years ago i bought an aftermath lycaon(mp5j). I was wondering if it would be possible to convert it to an mp5k. The obvious problem would be where to put the battery. Feedback is appreciated, thank you.
5udhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2011, 14:07   #2
fi3re
 
fi3re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tdot scarberia
Send a message via MSN to fi3re
mp5k and mp5 are DIFFERENT guns internally. mp5 has a v2 mechbox and mp5k a v3 mechbox. Though they look very similar, in fact almost none of the parts are cross compatible.
__________________


TM MP5k PDW -ris, stubby grip, DNTC, electro
KWA USP 45

"SNIPER" is NOT a gun. It is a person. Saying "I use a sniper" is like saying "I fly a pilot".
fi3re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2011, 15:10   #3
5udhir
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Thanks for the response. Too bad, it would have been nice to convert it to an mp5k.
5udhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 03:08   #4
Strelok
 
Strelok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon Manitoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatter View Post
This is news to me. IIRC, MP5s have V3 mechboxes and MP5Ks have AEP mechboxes...
Couldn't be any wrong-er. Lol.

MP5's and G3's all run off of the V2 gearbox. The Mp5k runs off of the V3.

I kinda wish all MP/G models would run off of the V3, its my favorite gearbox, but hey... Cant have everything.
Strelok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 03:10   #5
Shatter
 
Shatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: kommiefornia
Send a message via MSN to Shatter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strelok View Post
Couldn't be any wrong-er. Lol.

MP5's and G3's all run off of the V2 gearbox. The Mp5k runs off of the V3.

I kinda wish all MP/G models would run off of the V3, its my favorite gearbox, but hey... Cant have everything.
Damn. Ok... weird thing though, the last MP5 I used had an ambi fire selector...I thought that was impossible/a PITA with V2.
Shatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 03:49   #6
Strelok
 
Strelok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon Manitoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatter View Post
Damn. Ok... weird thing though, the last MP5 I used had an ambi fire selector...I thought that was impossible/a PITA with V2.
I'm no gun-tech but it works, and quite fine with my MP5a4. I think the selector switch runs through the same spot that the receiver pin (right above the trigger) would go on an M4.

Either way.

Strelok is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.