Airsoft Canada
Venture Airsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Digitizing objects



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2011, 22:08   #1
krap101's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roscoe, IL USA
Digitizing objects

Hey guys,

I'm working on a project, and I'm sure some of you are in the field. Over the summer I want to save up the money for a 4 axis (3d+lathe), and I'm hoping to be able to make my own replacement parts. I'm wondering if there is a simple/easy way to digitize parts so I can export them to a CNC? There are a few ways that I'm thinking of.

#1: use a micrometer/calipers and measure EVERYTHING, then model it
#2: make a 3d scanner, and scale them to 1:1
#3: make a 3d scanner that can measure distances
#4: use one of those wands that measure points on an object, and then use some cadding software to create a surface out of the points.

Or, since I will probably have the means to, and since digitizing it might be just as hard, I could just try to design my own parts... lol
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 22:20   #2
J-Man19's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Calgary AB
The only CNC lathes that I've seen that fit your description cost in the area of $250,000 +
Granted those were in an fab shop for oilfield equip. There could be smaller units but I'm sure it's still cheaper to buy replacement parts from a retailer.
J-Man19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 22:37   #3
Conker's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada / Ireland
I hope you have money. A lot.

Also, depends on the part and the tolerances needed. Of these choices. I would tend to say the micrometer/caliper is the best as -no offence inteded, but since you're talking about making a 3D scanner, I don't think you' (or anyone without some serious tool) wll be able to achieve sufficient accuracy for CAD use...

Last edited by Conker; April 18th, 2011 at 22:40..
Conker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 22:47   #4
formerly JPCD002
JEEPEE's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: St-Zotique, Qc
Hope you are aware that you can't simply ask a program to "digitalize" a part. Unless you have a 3d scanner. I know that some company's (PWC, Bombardier, etc..) have 3d scanners made by FARO. If you can't put your hands on that kind of scanners then you will have to draw it by yourself with a 3D program (Inventor, Solid work, Catia, etc...) by using manual mesuring tools. When you have a 3D drawing you can now start your program for your kind of lathe depending on the program that runs it(Mazatrol, Fanuc, Heidenhein, etc...) using a program like Mastercam, Catia, etc...

Also, like said before, a 3D lathe is very expensive...


Fier membre de la Légion!
JEEPEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 00:26   #5
fi3re's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tdot scarberia
Send a message via MSN to fi3re
Measure using a digital caliper and use a simple CAD program, I use Rhino myself. Cant really get any simpler, Rhino is super simple to use.
IMO there are no airsoft parts that require 3d scanners. 3d scanners would be useful for complex shapes such as car bodies and the like where measuring by hand is nearly impossible.

TM MP5k PDW -ris, stubby grip, DNTC, electro

"SNIPER" is NOT a gun. It is a person. Saying "I use a sniper" is like saying "I fly a pilot".
fi3re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 03:33   #6
krap101's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Roscoe, IL USA
I'm looking at a 4 axis hobby cnc for around $5-6k. I am pretty good at cadding (inventor), and have a good amount of experience with a 3 axis cnc. Tolerance is <.015mm and it can mill steel aluminum etc.

For the 3d scanner, I've seen some 3d scanners on youtube, and I assumed they were reasonably accurate. The problem I was seeing was whether they were accurate enough, and whether it were possible to get anything more than relative sizes from the drawing that poops out.

Currently I'm using cut2d/cut3d along with mach3 currently, but I'm going to need a new cam software (assuming I go for the 4th axis)
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 07:39   #7
Jimski's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal
if the part doesn't have complex curves it is probably easier to remodel it completely in the software rather than to scan it.
Plus the resulting scan will need some cleaning, better work straight from a clean model, unless you want to reproduce a sculpture...
Jimski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 17:04   #8
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD USA
The hobby mills that say they can mill aluminum can do shallow parts but nothing like milling out an AR-15 receiver or pistol frame from a block of aluminum. If you are thinking of something like the CNC Masters' Baron, which is just above the price range you listed, that has been used for slides and frames before but it takes a long time and many passes to mill out solid bock.
EagleDriver is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > General > General


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Airsoft Canada
Venture Airsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.