Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Mixing BBs

:

Newbie Tank

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 4th, 2010, 03:18   #16
pusangani
Official ASC "Dumb Ass"
 
pusangani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Scarbrah, Ontario
you might want to consider a better hopup rubber as well
__________________
pusangani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 03:41   #17
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Space Bot View Post
Hmm, cause I was looking at getting a different hop up unit altogether. Unless anyone can tell me that a stock TM hop up unit is pretty decent and all that I'll need is that SCS unit
Stock TM hopup units and rubbers are excellent.
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 04:29   #18
Space Bot
a.k.a. Servius
 
Space Bot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Coquitlam
Really? Cause I was looking at it and it really doesn't look like it's all that good
Before I noticed your reply Styrak I was looking at this onehttp://www.airsoftparts.ca/store2/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=66_80&produ cts_id=1582
The reviews I've found have said it's pretty good. One guy said it's on par with a Prometheus hop up unit. Though I find that hard to believe.
Thoughts on it?
__________________
Airsoft is a lot like drinking. It starts off with just a few shots, but before you know it you're lying on the ground yelling for help.
Space Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 04:47   #19
Styrak
 
Styrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Send a message via MSN to Styrak
If there's nothing wrong with your current hopup, why change it?
__________________

Airsoft Sales and Repair/Upgrade Services
Styrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 04:56   #20
Space Bot
a.k.a. Servius
 
Space Bot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Coquitlam
Because the previous owner of this gun didn't take all that good care of it, after my first game with it (you can see the result in more detail in the "Most embarassing thing you have done" thread) a number of the internal parts were broken, main things being the bushing broke into 3 pieces, 1 gear was completely missing half it's teeth and the other had half of it degrading bit by bit. I'm just wondering what's going to break on this gun next so I can shell out another $150 to fix it.
__________________
Airsoft is a lot like drinking. It starts off with just a few shots, but before you know it you're lying on the ground yelling for help.
Space Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 05:03   #21
Strelok
 
Strelok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brandon Manitoba
Sounds like you'd be better off buying a new gun.
Strelok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 05:12   #22
m61a1
 
m61a1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Quote:
back in 2008 when tracer units weren't invented eh? hehehehhe
Hahahaha....because i don't want to buy marui tracer unit for 100$
m61a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 05:18   #23
Space Bot
a.k.a. Servius
 
Space Bot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Coquitlam
Yeah I know, I do enjoy the fact that it's a TM though, I expected to have to dump shit tons of money into it, just not after the first game haha.
I haven't gotten AV'd yet for multiple reasons (I am over 18, so no that's not a reason why) So looking at better guns wasn't all that possible for me.
Still, I don't regret it. Your first airsoft gun always holds that special place in your life, mine more so financially on what little I get paid haha.
But you have to admit, one of the joys of owning an airsoft gun has to be that feeling once you add a specific mod to it, then when you can't wait to game it next to test out how much better it is

Jeeze we've gone way off topic haha.
Last question, as usual my guns front wired, I was looking at this bundle package on airsoftparts that has a crane stock + 9.6v battery that comes with it, but no buffer tube. I want to rear wire it, would I need to get a completely different buffer tube as well? I'm wondering cause I have no clue how rear wiring a crane stock works. And I would prefer to buy the parts my self to give to the doc instead of them just using random parts I don't know about (The doc works at Poco Military)
__________________
Airsoft is a lot like drinking. It starts off with just a few shots, but before you know it you're lying on the ground yelling for help.
Space Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 05:32   #24
Drake
E-01
 
Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Montreal, QC
Holy contrived shit, really?

If it's not opened just sell the bag and get another.

If not just use the .30s. I've used .30s in a AEP (TM MP7 with tightbore) and saw a major increase in range after proper hopup adjustment.

This whole upgrading/modifying the gun for a bag of BBs is complete bullshit.
__________________
Drake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 07:49   #25
Blackthorne
A Total Bastard
 
Blackthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Consecon, Ontario
Send a message via Skype™ to Blackthorne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Space Bot View Post
So plastic soldier airsoft messed up my bb order
PM inbound...
__________________
VINCITE OMNIMODO
Blackthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 13:28   #26
Space Bot
a.k.a. Servius
 
Space Bot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Coquitlam
Blackthorne - Replied

And Drake, the reason I'm upgrading my gun, err at least working on upgrading it is because some of the parts are crappin on me already, and I just want to upgrade it.
The upgrades have nothing to do with the BBs, but after my upgrade I most likely will stick with .30s.
__________________
Airsoft is a lot like drinking. It starts off with just a few shots, but before you know it you're lying on the ground yelling for help.
Space Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 13:55   #27
fantastix
 
fantastix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Windsor, Ont
Upgrades and price differences aside, you'll just have 2 distinct streams of bbs coming from your gun if you mix the ammo types. The lighter stuff will be affected more by the hop and may fly up into the sky if the hop is adjusted for the .3

If you adjust for the .25, your .3s may hit the dirt 30' in front of you.
__________________
Before the internet, the village idiot would stay in his own village.
fantastix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 14:03   #28
cellulose
formerly aBseNtceLL
 
cellulose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Just want to say I don't recommend the MadBull springs, they are very inconsistent. I had the M100 and M110 and they both would jump around in fps.

I went for the Modify S90+ and S100+ and I am very happy with both of them.

Though many other MadBull products I highly recommend!
__________________
Follow me on Tumblr:
http://m-sean.tumblr.com
cellulose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 14:38   #29
Crunchmeister
 
Crunchmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In your bedroom going though your underwear drawer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Holy contrived shit, really?

If it's not opened just sell the bag and get another.

If not just use the .30s. I've used .30s in a AEP (TM MP7 with tightbore) and saw a major increase in range after proper hopup adjustment.

This whole upgrading/modifying the gun for a bag of BBs is complete bullshit.
I agree 100% with Drake. You don't need to do anything with 0.3g BBs other than set a more agressive hopup setting. That's all. They need more backspin than lighter BBs to maintain a level flight path because of their weight.

Of course, they'll travel slower because of the extra weight, but you'll get much better range and accuracy (once the hopup is set) than you would with .25. And for outdoors, the heavier BBs have the extra advantage of having better brush penetration and will be less affected by wind and random air currents, which will result in better accuracy at range. That's why sniper always run .3g as a minimum for their rifles.

Guaranteed, if .3 weren't so damn expensive (on average, 3-4x the price), I'd be running them in all my guns, all the time. I stick with .28 because they're close to .3g in terms of performance and are much more affordable. But my pistols run .3g exclusively since I don't use much ammo there. I can outrange short and mid-length AEGs (shooting .25) with .3 in my pistols, and I'm just as accurate as they are at the far end of my effective range.

So yeah, be happy you got yourself a good deal there. It was a retailer error in your favour.
__________________
Crunchmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 17:46   #30
Space Bot
a.k.a. Servius
 
Space Bot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Coquitlam
Crunchmeister - I was happy, I wasn't complaining one bit. I've been thinking of upgrading to .30s for a lil while now. just didn't have the money to buy em when I made my order.

aBseNtceLL - Thanks for the warning
__________________
Airsoft is a lot like drinking. It starts off with just a few shots, but before you know it you're lying on the ground yelling for help.
Space Bot is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Information Center > Newbie Tank

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
BuyAirsoft

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.